Customer Reviews for

Watcher in the Woods (Dreamhouse Kings Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 12, 2011

    MUST READ!!!!!!!

    Watcher in the woods
    By: Robert Liparulo

    Number of stars (5):
    If you like scary creepy books or even mysteries, then this is a great book for you! It is about a house full of portals of different places in the past. But when the mom gets taken then the family has to take action so that they can get her back. But when a guy comes to the door then things get weird. Will they get her back in time, or even ever? Read to find out about it. Since this is an awesome book!
    The dad moves his family into his old house. He lived there as a kid. Then things get weird as a guy comes out of a door in the house and takes the mom. The family starts to work out a plan to get her back. So they pick a room out a use it as their meeting place. They get it all decked out in war stuff. As they are looking for her they notice that they don¿t know which room she is in. They realize that this is going to be harder than they thought.
    This book is amazing. It will keep you guessing till you just want to die to find out what will happen next. This book is just great. I fell in love with it after reading the first page.
    I hope that this book review has made you want to pick a copy up and read it, so that you can enjoy it to. It¿s pretty cool. I have never read a book like this one. It totally deserves 5 stars which is what I gave this amazing book.
    This is an amazingly awesome book. I give it 5 stars. It is amazing. You need to pick up a copy of this book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Love it

    I lovvveeeeee it, it gives me chills

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Watcher in the Woods - Robert Liparulo

    This was book 2 in the Dreamhouse King series, and it kept me as riveted as book 1 did (House of Dark Shadows). I was able to devour this book in one day. It melded seamlessly with book 1, and as I have already started book 3 (look for my review tomorrow!) I can tell you that it was the same with it also. <BR/>Book 2 picks up with the King children and their father wondering how to go about searching for their mother - and if they find her - how to get her back. Now their mother has not just been kidnapped - she has been taken through one of the portals of the house into another world - the doorways to these worlds change, seemingly without rhyme or reason and in all worlds but one, danger is around every tree, bush, or building! <BR/><BR/>Since Edward and Gee (parents) have known each other, they have doodled a cartoon figure they called 'Bob'. Edward comes up with the plan that they would leave pictures of 'Bob' in all the worlds they visit, to let Gee know that they are looking for her. They leave the first picture in the one world that is peaceful - Edward carves it in a tree.<BR/><BR/>But lets not forget that the King family must also maintain an outward appearance of normalcy - this means going to work/school and making everyone believe their mom just went back to Pasadena to close up the sale of their old house. Add to that - David falling out of a "tree" and breaking his arm, being chased by bullies at school and a mysterious stranger trying to get them evicted from their house!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Can't Wait!!!!!!

    I already ready the first one and it was amazing! It leaves you on the edge of your seat! I can't wait to read this one. I recommend this whole series to eveyone who wants a good book to read that's not boring. Even though I haven't read the other ones I know it's going to be a great book!!! Robert Liparulo is a great author!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Amazing!!! Cliffhanger!

    It was a amazing!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Great coudnt put it down!!

    Love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    I love the series :)

    Amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This is the 2nd book. If you liked the 1st one then keep going with the series. The author does a great job of getting more into the characters and the worlds as the story goes on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Just couldn't stop

    After I read the first book, I had to continue with the second. It is that kind of series. This is a great book series for yhoung and old alike.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Auesome

    I am loving this series! I just wish the books were a little longer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    AMAZING!!!

    Couldnt put the book down!!! I was always on the egde of my seat and yelled at the book (and yes i really did) with the clifhangers at the end and hacing to wait for the next one to come out....woukd recomend it to EVERYONE!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful!

    "Watcher in the Woods," by Robert Liparulo is the second installment in the acclaimed Dream House Kings series. Like its companion, "House of Dark Shadows," this book was entertaining and fun. The climax was once again executed wonderfully, and it will leave you begging for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Book No One Will Want to Put Down

    "Watcher in the Woods," by Robert Liparulo is the second installment in the action-packed young adult "Dreamhouse Kings" series. Full of many surprises which give interesting twists and turns to the story, this novel contains many heart-thumping moments and a great deal of suspense! A book no one will want to put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    A great Book to read

    I loved this book. I stumbled onto Ted Dekker a few months ago, and when I heard that Ted Dekker is working with Robert Liparulo, I had to read it. And what a great story. A lot of suspense, and I couldn't put the book down. Definitely a Recommend for every body to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    Outstanding

    'Watcher in the Woods' by Robert Liparulo is the second book of the Dreamhouse Kings Young Adult series. I won't summarize the book here, but I will tell you that 'Watcher' is packed full of action, excitement and creepiness as the first book in the series, 'House of Dark Shadows'. Watcher is a book that will pull emotions out of you. Most notably you will be angry with the bull dog politics that put the King's in a corner. Anyone who's ever lived in a small town will understand their plight, and the ending will leave you pumped for the third book, 'Gatekeepers' due to release in January of 2009. As with all of Liparulo's writing, this book is written well, and you will not find yourself bored with the prose. Even though it is labeled as a Young Adult book, anyone can pick it up and enjoy it. I highly recommend you do. If you haven't experianced Liparulo's other works: Comes a Horseman, Germ and Deadfall picking them up while waiting on Gatekeepers will leave you wanting more by this talented author. Parents can rest assured that teens reading the full novels will not be assaulted with foulness, as Liparulo takes a clean, albeit vivid, approach to writing Thrillers. I highly recommend this book and am sure you will enjoy it. Robert Liparulo once again makes it very easy to say: 'Five Stars.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    Don't Let The Marketing Fool You!

    Xander and David King can't believe this is happening. Their family has recently moved into a creepy old house with secrets around every corner. Sounds are never what they seem in the house. The hall linen closet is a portal to a locker at their school. And who could forget the strange clearing in the woods out back where you can actually float on air? All of that seems normal compared to the secret rooms that act as portals to other worlds. Now a member of the family has been kidnapped by someone from these other worlds and the King's must work together to bring them back. If things weren't bad enough, a stranger shows up who tries to run the family out of the house. He seems intent on destroying the family's reputation and soon has the local authorities on his side. Now the King's must deal with a new school and unfair perceptions as they secretly band together to find a way to bring back their missing loved one. The more they search the more they begin to understand just how dangerous this house is. Robert Liparulo opens this second installment right where the first left off. Immediately we are sucked back into the tension and mystery that made House of Dark Shadows so enjoyable. Round two is just as exciting as we are taken on another whirlwind thrill ride that never lets up. David King gets most of the spotlight here and it's a blast getting to know this character more. We are treated to more alternate world adventures that are chocked full of action and suspense. Even more secrets are revealed and more questions created, adding to the clever plotlines that Liparulo masterfully weaves. Never is it obvious where the story is going and that's what makes it so addicting. As with the first book, the themes of love and family are beautifully explored bringing a welcome dose of heart to the story. Some readers may be turned off by the 'juvenile fiction' tag on the back of the book. Don't let the marketing fool you! This is a quality series that readers of all ages will enjoy. There are enough thrills, chills, mysteries, and action to keep all ages coming back for more. Liparulo's die hard fans will love this series and new readers will be charging to the nearest book store to discover his other works. This is top-notch storytelling on every level!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3