Customer Reviews for

Watcher of the Dead (Sword of Shadow Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Has the ebook been fixed? -- Please let me know by publishing a response -- 06/03/2011

Missing ebook chapters.

posted by 2406106 on June 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

ebook version problems

I want to make it clear that I am only reviewing the ebook product of Watcher of the Dead and not the story itself (which I enjoyed). After I downloaded the ebook, I noticed that several chapters ended in mid-sentence (roughly a quarter of the chapters). I contacted B...
I want to make it clear that I am only reviewing the ebook product of Watcher of the Dead and not the story itself (which I enjoyed). After I downloaded the ebook, I noticed that several chapters ended in mid-sentence (roughly a quarter of the chapters). I contacted B&N customer service, and they had me delete the file and download the book again. Unfortunately, this only fixed one chapter (I had been missing half a page!), but did nothing for the other chapters. I was then told that it was a problem with the ebook itself and they would have to contact the publisher. However, I've yet to hear anything back. I don't know if anyone else has had similar problems, but I just wanted anyone considering the ebook to be aware that it is a possibility.

posted by 2355050 on May 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    ebook version problems

    I want to make it clear that I am only reviewing the ebook product of Watcher of the Dead and not the story itself (which I enjoyed). After I downloaded the ebook, I noticed that several chapters ended in mid-sentence (roughly a quarter of the chapters). I contacted B&N customer service, and they had me delete the file and download the book again. Unfortunately, this only fixed one chapter (I had been missing half a page!), but did nothing for the other chapters. I was then told that it was a problem with the ebook itself and they would have to contact the publisher. However, I've yet to hear anything back. I don't know if anyone else has had similar problems, but I just wanted anyone considering the ebook to be aware that it is a possibility.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    Intense reading - intricate and fascinating

    I can never say enough about the descriptive powers of J.V. Jones. She puts you there in each scene with each character and intertwines their ongoing adventures. With at least seven major characters, and many more believable sub characters and villains, that is difficult to do. I am lucky that I did not discover this author until the first four in this series had been written so I got to read them consecutively. I can hardly wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    Has the ebook been fixed? -- Please let me know by publishing a response -- 06/03/2011

    Missing ebook chapters.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    has the problem been corrected.

    nothing worse than having the buck passed, no missing pages when hou buy the book in paper.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What happened to the Ice in the title?

    I didn't realise the book was in the same series as the last three books until I read the back cover. The author's name should have told me, or the name Watcher of the Dead that was used in the other books. If it had "Ice" in the title it would have jumped out at me. I am sure there are more titles that could have been used - Sea of Blue Ice, Tree of Green Ice, Pool of Yellow Ice ... I think "Watcher of the Dead" should have been the series title. Sword of Shadows is not unique enough and could be any fantasy series of the last 30 years. Also didn't care for the cover - a little corny, probably aimed at female readers. The book itself is as good as the first three - meaning great. It continues the stories of the principal characters, Raif, the clans, Ash, the Maimed Men and the Sull. There are enough story arcs for a few more books, but I hope Jones wraps it up in the next book. Although the book is as good as the others, there is not much new - just continuation. One more book (2 max)and then the next series.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Only awesome, not incredibly awesome

    I was hoping for some closure. All my favorites have made significant progress towards their individual goals. The bad guys are still wreaking havoc in the background, aand it is possible not all bad guys are truely bad.. Will continue to search for the next in the series. I really enjoy JV Jones writing immensively.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Good

    I had no problems with missing pages. If you have liked the series thus far you will enjoy the read. I was slightly disappointed in the length of this book. I felt it was missing some of the depth of the previous novels. Cant wait for the next one to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    great book

    cannot wait for the next in the series to come out. I have read the complete series and enjoyed all 4 of the books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Another Great Book in a Wonderful Series

    This book has all the emotion and thrilling writing that i have been missing in recent book releases, I am so happy to see Ms. Jones still writing. It has all of the realistic emotion, that so many authors avoid, the dark emotions, of greed, fear, hate, and rage that rule our daily lives but have not been well dipicted in books recently. Glad to see the book out, it definitly made my week as soon as it came in the door.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2