Customer Reviews for

Watchers

Average Rating 4.5
( 716 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(516)

4 Star

(125)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 718 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 36
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    Unforgettable

    I love stories that pull me in and get me emotionally involved with the characters, and that's just what this one did. 'Fiddle broke' had me in tears. Without going into a long, drawn-out, detailed review, let me just say - Read it! You'll be glad you did.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    Fabulous

    This is a wonderful story. It makes you believe that dogs can actually talk. I knew that all along.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2009

    Fantastic book 5 stars

    I am so happy today, I found this book again. I had lent my copy to someone, and you know how it is, after some time I could not remember the person I had lent it to and all I could remember was the great storry. Well I have found it. This book is on my top 10 most liked books of my life. The story is compelling and you just can't stop reading. I would recommend this book to all. I will defenatly buy another copy and this time make sure to remember if I lend it again. Were do you get your insparations, how do you come up with stories like this. I only wish I had a great mind and a good story teller as you are. Please keep on writing, I just love your books.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2011

    Great Read

    This has to be one of Koontz's best stories ever! Koontz has always mastered stories with people you feel for, but this one is all about the dog. Anyone whom loves a good sci-fi/horror story needs to read this one. Already read? I have read this one at least 3 times myself. Love it!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    One of my favorite books!

    This has always been one of my favorite books. I have a hardback copy and a paperback copy, but when I got my new Nook, I knew I needed it on there too. I usually reread this book several times a year- it's that good! It's the perfect blend of suspense, drama and humor. If you've never read Koontz, it's one of his best! (Lightening by him is also great!)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Can i give it more than five stars?

    The first time i read this book, I was a teenager...I fell in love with it right away...since then, Dean Koontz has been one of my favorite authors. This book is my favorite book of all time. Wonderfully written. (The movie they made based on this book doesn't hold a candle to the book, though. I was highly disappointed watching it...)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Wonderful!

    Rediscovered this book. I originally read it years ago when it first came out. Love it even more in a deeper way emotionally now that i am more mature. A touching, yet a tough, suspenseful, thriller.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Favorite

    I've always been a huge Dean Koontz fan and this book remains my favorite. It scares me every time i read it, which ive lost count of. I once decided camping may not be such a good idea, while planning such a trip and reading Watchers. This is a book you won't be disappointed in!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    Constant page turner, such a touching tale that you can't help but to sympathize with the characters feelings!

    Lets just for starters let me say that this book was quite the tear jerker towards the later chapters of he book, but Koontz is also really good at including his unique sense of humor, so much that even in the midst of that one tear coming on, you cant help but to inappropriately chuckle! This is a great book for animal lovers but more-so a great book for those seeking action and suspense! Ive never felt so personalized with the characters like the way i did in this book. It also makes you think about our modern life style and what it can lead to, both the positive and negative sides. A must read!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    The absolute best Koontz book - ever!

    This has always been my favorite Koontz book - read it when it first came out, recommended it to many, bought copies for friends, donated my copies, bought others. As soon as I got my Nook, this was one of the my first purchases. It remains one of my top books ever read. You cannot be disappointed with this book. Do yourself a favor and read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    Loved this book

    I was a little reluctant to read a book where the central character is a dog, but I'm a fan of Dean Koontz and admire his writing style so thought I'd give it a try. I was not disappointed. A very fast read. Enjoyed the characters and the story line was very good. Think I'll download another Koontz book :o)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    One of the best I've read

    This book was one of the best I've read in years. I read a lot of books that a few months later I forget what they were about. But not this one, I'll remember it forever. This is Dean Koontz best writing. It contains thrills, love, hate, fantasy, drama and a sense of wonder. Totally enjoyable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    A wild ride to read, cannot put it down!

    There are many characters in the story at first, but be vigilant and keep on reading, the story and the characters lives begin to mesh very quickly. The story is scary, thrilling, a must read for those who like scifi or science based mysteries. I read Koonz work awhile ago, and now wonder why I waited this long to read another, it's great, a well written novel which may keep you thinking about it hours after you put it down. (I do not suggest reading it before bed though.)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    A QUICK page turner!

    Dean Koontz gets all of your emotions going with this rapid page turner... there doesn't seem to be a slow spot in the entire book! This book will satisfy a very wide range of readers!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    Awesome!

    Starts slow, but once you get in it's hard to put down! Great read, very in depth and makes you wonder about what really goes on in laboratories!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    Koontz Best

    Koontz has written a bunch of books and I've read most of them. This is his best, no doubt.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    Koontz at his very best

    I've read all of Koontz's books, this one in 1990, and this is my favorite of his and of all the books I have read in the last 45 years! Everyone that I have told to read it, has loved it also. I only have a very few books that I have reread over and over and this is one. I love Einstein and "Fiddle broke" (you'll understand when you read it :)),will make you cry. This book has it all!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    Fun book for ADULTS. NOT FOR MIDDLE SCHOOLERS OR YOUNG HS-ERS.

    Don't let your youngster read this book. It has slow-motion graphic detail of sex, violence, stalking, and live porn. Having said that, I enjoyed it as a quick, exciting read. It's not a literary piece, for sure. It's a Lifetime movie-type plot that would be rated R or NC-17 if filmed exactly as written.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    I haven┬┐t read everything Dean Koontz has written, but over the

    I haven’t read everything Dean Koontz has written, but over the years I’ve read and enjoyed a lot of it. I believe WATCHERS is his best. I've just finished reading it for the second time and will undoubtedly read it again within the next few years. I'm a true animal lover and a true Koontz fan, so I suppose the affection I have for the fictitious Einstein was inevitable. As happens in many of his books, Dean Koontz's love for dogs, particularly golden retrievers, comes shining through.

    Although I read and enjoy books of many genres, I list WATCHERS as a favorite. I even developed sympathy for The Other. If you've read the book, you understand what that means. If you haven't, don't waste another minute. Order it and read it NOW! This book would lend itself well to book club discussions. I would gladly give it more than five stars if I could.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Read it!

    I've read this book five years ago and i still remember it like it was yesterday. From the characters to the plot, everything worked together. I like that the book contains everything a reader needs from drama, mystery, some violence, romance and friendship. Read the book, you'll feel the same way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 718 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 36