BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Watchers

Average Rating 4.5
( 719 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(517)

4 Star

(125)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    Fun book for ADULTS. NOT FOR MIDDLE SCHOOLERS OR YOUNG HS-ERS.

    Don't let your youngster read this book. It has slow-motion graphic detail of sex, violence, stalking, and live porn. Having said that, I enjoyed it as a quick, exciting read. It's not a literary piece, for sure. It's a Lifetime movie-type plot that would be rated R or NC-17 if filmed exactly as written.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good read!

    Solid book. Kept me interested from the very beginning. While it ends up like you think it would, there were times I wasn't so sure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    A page turner that has thrills and heartwarming moments

    Watchers is a science thriller with a K9 touch. The plot twists are often unpredictable and while character development is a bit lacking, the characters are interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2008

    Watchers

    I give this book a four because at first it was kinda difficult to figure out what was going on with three different stories going on at once. But once it was explained farther into the book so when it finally started flowing it flowed nicely. The best part of it was the outcome and I can say it did keep you on your toes till the very end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    What I think about "The Watchers"

    Tyler J. dskf<BR/>Strategic Reading<BR/>Ms. Rogal<BR/>17 November 2008<BR/>Title<BR/> The book that I am going to review is known as ¿The Watcher¿ By Deen Koontz. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and I think it has a strong message. Such as, the government shouldn¿t play God. In the book scientist create a genetic monster of savage brutality, and a clever, extremely intelligent K-9 for possible weapons of war. But when both escape, a horrible plague is let loose among innocent civilians as the beast kills more and more in search for the Dog. The book is intense and could be enjoyed by anyone old enough to enjoy books.<BR/> The book itself holds your attention as it switches from one point of view to another; from a man who finds the hybrid dog and the agents searching endlessly for the beast and the mutt. The author did a great job at relating the story to a real setting in northern California and keeps the reader informed about daily important occurrences. I could relate most to the character Travis because he¿s practical, patient, self-reliant, tough and trustworthy. The author makes you feel like I know all the characters personally. Other than showing how wrong it is to make a creature purely for death and destruction is terrible and the effects it has on the natural order of events. Throughout the book I felt tension excitement and sadness. Right up to the end I couldn¿t stop reading. The book was very enjoyable. I would rate this book a 4 because of the reasons I¿ve already mentioned.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    very good

    very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Awsome

    It was one of the best books ive read. The only bad thing about it was the sex part

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    To theneighborhood watcher

    Watch out for lappingdarkness. He is a cat with evil intentions and forcemates she cats. He is bent on destroying thunderclan at jingo all results. He was my former mate. If u can that would be great thnx. ~ Rosethorn of thunderclan

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Watchers

    Really good.. grabs you and keeps you.. One of his better endings

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Redeeming Mr. Koontz

    I tried reading "Hideaway"; "Servants of Twilight." But the writing style didn't gel well with my brain. A friend insisted to give this a go. Amd the third time was the charm. Good stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    Koontz is Top Notch

    I've read several novels now by Dean Koontz, and for the life of me I don't know why he always seems to play second fiddle to Steven King. He writes a good tale and does so consistently. Then again, he probably makes a great living anyway. I always love his stories, even if the good guys and bad guys, as in this novel, are very clearly defined with no middle ground. It does make me wonder, however, what would happen if there ever resulted in an intelligent, but no so wonderful Einstein offspring. It might make an interesting sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    Good read, slightly juvenial premise

    This is about a dog that can communicate with people. Kind of lassie meets mister ed. it was a fun read though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    This is one book you should pick up.

    The book Watchers, by Dean Koontz, was a really good book. The book begins with a man named Travis whose life has been really hard for him because he has lost everyone he has ever loved. He then finds this Golden Retriever that he names Einstein, who we come to find out that is a government experiment that has escaped from a research lab. In this research lab, scientists created Einstein to be an extremely smart dog, but at the same time the lab developed another creature bred for the sole purpose of killing. This creature is bent on finding Einstein and killing him out of jealousy. Many people are on the tail of Travis and this dog because of how incredible this dog is. So Travis¿s whole life is changed because this creature is hunting the dog and it forces him to be on the run. Along the way Travis meets the love of his life Nora. The two of them are married amidst all of this and they begin to run together. In the end the creature finds them and they are faced with a frightening challenge. I really liked this book because it had some great character development. Travis was a lonely and sad guy with nothing to live for. He finds this dog and suddenly his life purpose is renewed. This dog eventually leads Travis to a girl who he comes to care for and eventually loves. This girl, Nora, was the most insecure and shy person anyone could ever meet. Einstein brings these two together and slowly they both begin to change their lives. Nora begins to be a more outgoing person and Travis begins to enjoy life again. It was really fun to sit back and read about how these people¿s lives change for the better. The only problem I saw with this book is that at times it seemed to drag a little bit. I felt that some of the events in it could have been summed up in a shorter amount of time, but all of the action and cool science applications that are contained in it can really make up for it. I would recommend this book to anyone who would really like to read an entertaining and fun book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2005

    Unbelievable but plausible read of scientific discovery gone bad

    Watch out for what is lurking! Good and evil fight it out in this impossible to put down read. 'The Watchers' has it all romance, intrique, suspense, and a moral that is compellingly real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2005

    This Ain't Ole' Yeller Folks

    A man, his dog and roaming the countryside experiencing the wonders of life? Not even close. Kountz is amazing with his ability to provide the reader an escape to the surreal world of DNA restructed 'creatures' and paints a gripping portrait of what could be with a realism that is truly haunting. The emotional roller coaster ride is reminiscent of a new release by P.G. Barnett, The Gifters Ring and the final chapter is a definite joy of closure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2005

    Creature feature

    A story of biological experiments gone awry, 'Watchers' will keep the pages turning. Although it is difficult to suspend one's belief for parts of the novel, including allowing a murderous creature roam the countryside unabated, the Koontz story skillfully illustrates the possibilities of genetic manipulation. A clever dog and a rampaging monster are two of the possibilities that may be produced by the advances of science, according to Koontz. A kind of Jekyll and Hyde story for the modern age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2005

    Very Good book

    The book Watchers is a very good book. I think that all teenagers should read Watchers. The first reason i believe that everyone should read Watchers is because it is a thriller. For example in the book there are alot of scary scenes which makes the book more enjoyable. Another example is since it is a thirller it keeps the reader hook on the book and allow the reader to like it and read more and more each day. The second reason why i think everyone should read Watchers is because it has alot of climaxes. For example since there are so many climaxes, the reader usually don't expect what is coming that why it makes it so intresting. ANother example is since there are so many climaxes it keeps the reader guessing throughout the whole book. The third reason why everyone should read watchers is because although it is long, the reader makes it so all middle school through high school stuents can enjoy it. For example although sometimes the author uses big words he follows it up with smaller more understanble words so the reader knows what is going on. This is why i think that everyone in middle and high school should read Watchers in school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2004

    Creature Terror

    For fans of creature terror this book is a must. I have been reading Koontz for years and this is one I missed until recently. Psychological thrillers are certainly a mainstay in the horror industry, but for a refreshing change, and a good story that will keep the lights on, whether you're reading or not, this is an excellent novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2002

    Amazing book

    No matther "Watchers" isn't my favorite Dean Koontz's book,I enjoyed reading it very much,and that prooves a fact that I read book for one day.I couldn't remove my eyes from that book!Dean Koontz,you're the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2000

    ONE OF MY BEST!!!!!!!!

    I recommend anyone who is the first time reader of DEAN KOONTZ to read this one first because it really gets you into the mood to read his other novels, take my word this was my first book i read from him and i really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7