Customer Reviews for

Watching Baseball Smarter: A Professional Fan's Guide for Beginners, Semi-experts, and Deeply Serious Geeks

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    An Excellent Primer for the Novice or Expert

    I've watched baseball off and on all of my 41 years. I've even been to some games. But I never truly understood the game. I was one of those people who thought it was "slow" and "boring." I decided that for the 2010 season I would really get into it. I looked for a book that would help me understand the nuances and subtleties of the game. "Watching Baseball Smarter" is just that book. Everything I wanted to know about baserunning, rules, stats, scoring, trivia, you name it. Hample is an obvious baseball geek, but he never talks down to his audience and seems to genuinely want to share his love of the game with others without getting bogged down in minutia. This book will be by my side while I watch every game this season.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    Fun For Boys and Girls

    Watching Baseball Smarter is an excellent read for any fan of baseball, from beginner in Little League to that guy who's always quoting stats at work. It gives you a lot of useful info on why plays are called as they are so you won't be screaming at the television all summer. And you will rarely ask blue if he needs glasses again, nor complain about the pitcher's lack of hitting prowess. This is a complicated game, but so much of it is in the mind that it can be hard to see the implications of each play. For anyone who's ever wondered how a person could sit through three hours of this, read the book and you'll find yourself hooked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Recommended

    Hample obviously knows what he's talking about. Depending on the reader's interest and knowledge about the game, some parts will be intriguing and informative, others will be skipped. Good read. I ordered a second copy for my son.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    By mc

    Good reference book and jearning tool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Good book for all Baseball lovers

    This book is very informative, and you are almost guaranteed to learn something from this book. He is a great author, and makes learning baseball fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Border

    Clawpack

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Has increased my enjoyment of the game immensely

    Written in an engaging way, well organized. I keep it next to the tv every season. Even my wife is now reading the sports page with this book by her side!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Best BB Book

    I bought this book as a gift for a friend that is a BB fan. He said this was the best book on baseball he has ever read. I was very pleased.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A good guide for beginners, but not the best ebook

    Hample's guide is a good guide for people who are just beginning to delve farther into baseball watching, but not necessarily great on the nook. The book gives a nice introduction into the nuances and basics of the game without being overly complicated, which is good for beginners or intermediates, but for hardcore experts there are only a few bits of information to mine from the book. The footnote format for being at the end of every chapter makes it difficult to really utilize effectively or pleasurably. The insights and anecdotes which add to the reading experience loses it's effectiveness because of this. It also takes away from the general reading experience reading a succinct narrative explanation only to be hit in the face with unlinked anecdotes. The format also takes away from the section that shows illustrations of certain pitches. This book while interesting, isn't necessarily groundbreaking and going to give you more anecdotes to throw out than an extensive knowledge of baseball. It'd most likely be a better purchase in an actual book that can be left on the coffee table to flip through during games on tv to answer questions you have than a nookbook used to research baseball.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Worth it if you are a baseball fan

    As mentioned, if you find baseball boring you will not like this book. However, if you are a fan you will find quite a few insights into the game and how its played. Hample fully and clearly explains everything about the game from why players adjust their crotch to when its advisable to steal third to how free agency works. There is a lot of information stuffed between the covers of this book but it is all clearly written without getting too technical. I love baseball but I'm not a baseball geek. You don't have to be a geek to enjoy this book. Just have a love for the game.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting look at Baseball's nuances

    Zack Hample's writing helps to bring baseball to life. While reading this wont make baseball more exciting to you if you find it boring already, it will however open your eyes to the things about baseball that fans will enjoy knowing.

    This book answers why infielders will sometimes shift one position to the right when a batter comes up. How to properly fill out a scorecard. Some of the more odd records in baseball. And why being an umpire really is difficult work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Didn't learn anything

    Hample writes with humor, and the book is not hard to read. But I just didn't learn anything about baseball from it. (My 9 yr. old son did.) If you watch baseball a few times a week during the season, you know everything that is in this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    Everything you need to know about America's pastime

    This is a must read if you are a baseball fan. The author does an exceptional job in articulating the basics of the game. For example the strategies from hitting and throwing a baseball to calculating the different player statistics. If you are a rookie fan I highly recommend this book to understand all the concepts of baseball. This book is also a great read for anyone who just loves baseball.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2