Customer Reviews for

Watching the Dark (Inspector Alan Banks Series #20)

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended

    The 20th entry in the wonderful Inspector Banks series by Peter Robinson opens with the shocking killing of one of Banks’ colleagues, a decorated detective inspector, on the grounds of St. Peter’s Police Convalescence and Treatment Center, where he was a patient. The Major Crimes Unit, or Homicide and Major Inquiry Team, as it was now known, operating out of Eastvale, is assigned, the investigative team once again including DS Winsome Jackman (“all six feet something of her”), DC Gerry Masterson, and DI Annie Cabbot, Banks’ close friend, who is just returning from a convalescence after having survived her own brutal wounds and subsequent convalescence in events described in a prior entry in the series.

    Because there had recently been a hint of police corruption, Inspector Joanna Passero, of Professional Standards [the equivalent of the American IAB], is assigned to work with Banks. Their working relationship, perhaps understandably, is an ambivalent one, at least initially. Very shortly, another murder takes place, and there are indications that the two killings may be related. Another angle that comes into play is a six-year-old cold case involving Rachel Hewitt, a 19-year-old English girl who seemingly “disappeared off the face of the earth” in Tallinn, Estonia, a case that had haunted the dead inspector for the intervening years, having been involved in the investigation at its inception in Tallinn.

    The author expertly juxtaposes the lines of investigation, with Annie and her colleagues handling the Eastvale aspect of the case, and Banks the second killing, which appears to involve illegal migrant labor activities, ultimately taking him to Estonia, though he is warned not to get diverted by the Hewitt case. Following his instincts, as always, Banks is determined to do his best to bring closure to the girl’s parents if at all possible. A complex plot, carried off in smooth fashion, in a book that is highly recommended.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    His Usual High Standard

    The latest in the DCI Banks series is certainly up to the high standards set by the previous entries. Robinson presents a fast paced well written puzzle and this book is certainly not a disappointment to his fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Always a good read.

    Interesting story line and always well written by this author. Love his books so much I ordered this one in advance of the release date.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is book 20 in the Inspector Banks series, but it read very

    This is book 20 in the Inspector Banks series, but it read very well as a stand alone.  It did refer to previous events, but if anything, it just made me want to go back and read the earlier books to find out what had really happened. 




    You are given a lot of information in this book, and discover things in the same order as the police.  It seems to move slowly at times, but the whole book takes place in a little over a weeks time.  I enjoyed the way that the author brought together the pieces necessary for DCI Banks to solve his case. 




    I liked the friendship between Banks and Annie and got the sense that there is a romantic history there and that it maybe isn't completely over.  Joanna Passero is also introduced in this book.  She is from Professional Standards (Internal Affairs) and Banks does not really want her around.  His brusque manner with her slowly evolves into a working relationship, but she keeps her personal life close to her vest. I have a feeling we will see more of her in the series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Disappointing

    Rather slow,over long, and drawn out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I've been a fan of the Inspector Banks series for years, having

    I've been a fan of the Inspector Banks series for years, having read every one since the first. But this one was quite weak, as was the previous Banks title (Bad Boy) and the out-of-series one between those two (Before the Poison). Robinson seems to be mailing them in at this point, and I think I'll skip the next ones. Sadly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Alice DiNizo for Readers' Favorite Peter Robinson d

    Reviewed by Alice DiNizo for Readers' Favorite

    Peter Robinson delights readers with the return of his Detective Chief Inspector Alan Banks who shows his love of classical music and the ability to solve even the most difficult of crimes. In "Watching the Dark", Inspector Banks teams up with D.A. Winsome, fellow officer and sometime love Annie Cabot, and his superior Catherine Gervaise as under the watchful eye of Inspector Joanna Passero from Professional Standards, he looks into the crossbow murder of Detective Inspector Bill Quinn while he is a patient at the St. Peter's Police Treatment Center. Bill Quinn has been an excellent police officer but has always been troubled by one of his unsolved cases of some years back. Young, pretty Rachel Hewitt disappeared six years earlier while on a trip with girlfriends to Tallinn, Estonia, and Quinn was never able to solve her disappearance even though he traveled to Estonia in the hope of finding Rachel Hewitt's body. Disturbing photos show up of Bill Quinn with a young woman, decidedly not his wife, and then Mihkel Lepikson, the reporter who covered Rachel's case, is murdered. Can Alan Banks find out what exactly is happening now and what happened to Rachel Hewitt those six years past?

    "Watching the Dark" is Peter Robinson at his very best as all his 'Detective Alan Banks' stories always seem to be. Banks, Annie Cabot, D.A. Winsome, Catherine Gervaise, newcomer Joanna Passero and the characters in this story, which reaches back to when Bill Quinn and Mihkel Lepikson actively followed Rachel Hewitt's disappearance, are all believable and well-created. The dialogue and the plot line with its twists and turns appear to be created by a master writer. Readers will always put Peter Robinson's works on their "must read" lists and now "Watching the Dark" belongs there as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Another fine book by Peter Robinson

    I have been reading this series for many years and eagerly await each new book. The characters are all well drawn, the plotting is smooth, the writing seems as if it was effortless. I love returning to this universe and this book, Watching in the Dark, lived up to my high expectations of this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    Watching the Dark Peter Robinson ISBN: 978-0-06-200480-2 2013 *g

    Watching the Dark
    Peter Robinson
    ISBN: 978-0-06-200480-2
    2013
    *goodreads giveaway*
    When a detective inspector is murdered while at St. Peter’s Police Treatment Center Chief Inspector Alan Banks leads the investigation not knowing how deep the trail will lead. Murder is not the only crime being investigated as Chief Inspector Banks will soon find out when an officer from Professional Standards, investigating allegations of police corruption, intrudes in the case. As he gets close to answers more questions and possible suspects materialize and it’s a struggle to remember his prime objective.
    This one started out really slow for me. The mystery intrigued me right away so I kept reading and by the time I was a little more than halfway through the book it grabbed me. Usually this type of novel will suck me in and keep me turning pages, but this one I thought about giving up on; I am glad I didn’t. This is my first Peter Robinson book so that could explain the problem since there are 19 more Alan Banks novels before this one. I enjoyed the characters, well I should say a few of the minor characters, and that helped it along while getting to the bottom of the murder. There were a few side stories that were as interesting as the original plot and by the end I felt good about the whole thing. I like an author who can juggle multiple side stories within one plot. So overall I ended up liking this one more than I thought I would and will gladly recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1