Customer Reviews for

Water Balloon

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

will read it again

I can't wait to reread this book. You know that feeling when you read a book and can't wait to go back and start over? That's Water Balloon!

posted by twelve-in-Delaware on August 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

3 1/2 Stars

3 ½ Stars:

Everything is changing for 13-year-old Marley Baird. Her parents are separated so she has to be shuttled from one house to the other, her two best friends- Jane and Leah- haven't been around lately and they haven't been acting the same. On top of that she ...
3 ½ Stars:

Everything is changing for 13-year-old Marley Baird. Her parents are separated so she has to be shuttled from one house to the other, her two best friends- Jane and Leah- haven't been around lately and they haven't been acting the same. On top of that she has to stay the summer at her father's house while her mother goes and visits friends. At least she has her beloved dog, Rig, with her and she finds her neighbor, Jack, insanely cute and fun to hang out with.

Water Balloon takes the reader on the journey of Marley growing up and figuring out life. It is a journey that most every pre-adolescent and adolescent has gone through at some point. Marley was a great protagonist. She was funny and sweet and relatable. I especially related to her because she was holding so tightly to things, not wanting anything to change; I completely understand that feeling of floundering when things are different. Although most of the characters were well developed, I felt like Jack wasn't fully fleshed out. I didn't really understand him and not a lot is revealed about him either.

All in all, it was a good book, the only problem I had with it was the simplicity of it and how "young" it was. I'm nineteen years old and I'm used to reading pretty complex books, so this wasn't my cup of tea. If you are wondering why I even got it? It's because I was desperate for a book and it was free (lol). But kids the ages of 10-14 will probably really enjoy this book. It has a fantastic message for kids that are growing up and dealing with some of the things Marley is dealing with in the book.

posted by writingirl_15 on August 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    I honestly loved this book

    I loved water balloon! I enjoyed the story of marley's ruff summer. She is having a pretty hard time. Her parents are divorced,her friends are mad at her, marley's dad does not listen to her and she is forced to babysit two bratty twin five year olds. I would recomend this book to any girl between eight and twelve years old. You should read this book!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    will read it again

    I can't wait to reread this book. You know that feeling when you read a book and can't wait to go back and start over? That's Water Balloon!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    3 1/2 Stars

    3 ½ Stars:

    Everything is changing for 13-year-old Marley Baird. Her parents are separated so she has to be shuttled from one house to the other, her two best friends- Jane and Leah- haven't been around lately and they haven't been acting the same. On top of that she has to stay the summer at her father's house while her mother goes and visits friends. At least she has her beloved dog, Rig, with her and she finds her neighbor, Jack, insanely cute and fun to hang out with.

    Water Balloon takes the reader on the journey of Marley growing up and figuring out life. It is a journey that most every pre-adolescent and adolescent has gone through at some point. Marley was a great protagonist. She was funny and sweet and relatable. I especially related to her because she was holding so tightly to things, not wanting anything to change; I completely understand that feeling of floundering when things are different. Although most of the characters were well developed, I felt like Jack wasn't fully fleshed out. I didn't really understand him and not a lot is revealed about him either.

    All in all, it was a good book, the only problem I had with it was the simplicity of it and how "young" it was. I'm nineteen years old and I'm used to reading pretty complex books, so this wasn't my cup of tea. If you are wondering why I even got it? It's because I was desperate for a book and it was free (lol). But kids the ages of 10-14 will probably really enjoy this book. It has a fantastic message for kids that are growing up and dealing with some of the things Marley is dealing with in the book.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Great book. Made me laugh loudly more than once and cry twice. That's pretty good.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Awesome!

    This book was very good. In my literature class, we had an independent reading time in the library. I picked up this book, read it for thirty minutes until class was over, then set it down, thinking i would have no time to read between softball games almost every night and lots of homework. But when i got home that night i decided i would buy it, and im so glad i did! This is my first book with this author, and she did not let me down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Hi

    To the other reviewer, there is 310 pgs

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    Loved this book!

    I love jack at the end thats so sweet! Really good book it does have spelling and grammar errors and some sentences make no sense they need a better proofreader not a cheesy book at all i thought it was going to be at first but its really not. Great book just like real life

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Did not like it

    I read the sample did not like it one page of reading and i sayed no way i am not reading this. It had a bad word in it for a kid book wow....not a book i would read but one of you could like it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    I never though this would be my favorite book. I read all the ti

    I never though this would be my favorite book. I read all the time, and have read hundreds of other great books.  I feel sort of oddly about this book, because its definitely not the BEST book I've ever read, but somehow it is definitely my favorite. I picked it up because of the cover art,.and enjoyed every second of it.  Its just that perfect summertime book.  You'll love it too. Age 12-15

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Loved it!!

    I liked this book because the romance was so how i pictured mine going and the tears and emotion made it perfect!!! I wish there were more books like this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Highlight

    Hey darlen turned off wifi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Melodie

    My sister doesnt do rp.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    My friends said it was good

    So i read it. But it was sorta boring! It definately wuz not my favorite book ever.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Anonoyms

    The book needs to be reconfigured because words are mispelled and sentences don't make sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    WOW!

    Read the sample the sample wwas great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Luv it!!!

    His is such a good book! I didn't lik jack hough. He seems a bir delousional and blue eyed guys arent my thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Amazing

    I was a little uneasy about buying this book. It looked kind of cheesey. Boy was i wrong!!!!! This was the kind of book that i couldn't put down. I'm giving it 5 stars. I would recommend it for 11+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Awsome!

    This book is amazing! I absolutly loved it and I will read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    My friends say its awesome!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Good book.

    For the most part I have enjoyed this book. I feel sorry for Marley with all these changes. I won't say anything to spoil it for you-so I suggest you read it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2