Customer Reviews for

Water Bound (Sea Haven: Sisters of the Heart Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 425 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(220)

4 Star

(97)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

The paranormal is blended inside a mystery, which in turn is inside a powerful romance

In Sea Haven, Rikki Sitmore dives for sea urchins. However, her attention radically changes when she notices a man in trouble in the swirling currents. Rikki rescues severely injured Lev Prakenskii. Besides his physical traumas, Lev suffers from situational amnesia, ...
In Sea Haven, Rikki Sitmore dives for sea urchins. However, her attention radically changes when she notices a man in trouble in the swirling currents. Rikki rescues severely injured Lev Prakenskii. Besides his physical traumas, Lev suffers from situational amnesia, but is well aware he must remain hidden as someone wants him dead.

Reluctantly Rikki takes Lev to the estate she and her five "sisters of the heart" call home. Like Lev, Rikki has issues as she cherishes the water and loathes the fire as a tragedy left its imprint on her. Each has deadly enemies coming for them, but together with two hearts beating as one, they can overcome anything even lethal predators and autism.

Returning to Sea Haven, home of the Drake Sisters, Christine Feehan begins a new saga as once again some paranormal is blended inside a mystery, which in turn is inside a powerful romance. Though somewhat similar in tone to the "parent" Drake Sisters' series, the audience will relish this action-packed tale from the moment Rikki saves Lev from drowning and fans will enjoy this entertaining thriller. Ironically even with a strong love story between two traumatized souls and plenty of suspense, it is the deep look at what haunts the pair especially Rikki and the tragic fire that brings compassion to the tale.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Water boring!!!

**Caution spoilers in this review!!**
This book just didn't do it for me. It wasn't even on the same level as the Drake sisters series! I was so disappointed. The story was repetitious, and the ending was anticlimactic. One of the biggest problems for me was that I tru...
**Caution spoilers in this review!!**
This book just didn't do it for me. It wasn't even on the same level as the Drake sisters series! I was so disappointed. The story was repetitious, and the ending was anticlimactic. One of the biggest problems for me was that I truly thought Ricki was maybe a bit crazy. Her childish antics were sort of annoying, and I didn't understand what the heck was wrong with her until they finally said she was autistic. Then of course everything made a whole bunch more sense. I just wish it was informed a lot sooner in the book. Also her whole fear of fire got to be a bit much. And then the man who wanted to kill her and everyone she loved, all because of a car accident that wasn't even her families fault?? Seriously?? I don't know, maybe I'm being to hard on Christine Feehan. She is a great author, but I just loved the Drake sisters series so much and this one just wasn't up to par. Although I do see the potential she does have lined up with the next books in the series and that is something I look forward to reading.

posted by jessieLsmb on July 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 428 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    SUCKED!!!

    I read all of Feehans books, but I HATED this one. Was long and had none of the excitement I read in other books. Had this been another author I would have thrown it away without finishing it. I think she should rethink this series.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Water boring!!!

    **Caution spoilers in this review!!**
    This book just didn't do it for me. It wasn't even on the same level as the Drake sisters series! I was so disappointed. The story was repetitious, and the ending was anticlimactic. One of the biggest problems for me was that I truly thought Ricki was maybe a bit crazy. Her childish antics were sort of annoying, and I didn't understand what the heck was wrong with her until they finally said she was autistic. Then of course everything made a whole bunch more sense. I just wish it was informed a lot sooner in the book. Also her whole fear of fire got to be a bit much. And then the man who wanted to kill her and everyone she loved, all because of a car accident that wasn't even her families fault?? Seriously?? I don't know, maybe I'm being to hard on Christine Feehan. She is a great author, but I just loved the Drake sisters series so much and this one just wasn't up to par. Although I do see the potential she does have lined up with the next books in the series and that is something I look forward to reading.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    A Lesson in Tedium

    This is an almost 500 page book of repetitious writing, uninteresting characters, and a plot that gets lost in all of the repetitive descriptors. I really enjoyed the first 7 books in this series- light escapism with interesting and strong characters, but this book fell subject to Christine Feehan's new writing style- overly detailed and un-engaging. If the writing were really good I would have said the descriptions added color instead of it boring me to sleep. I will admit that I don't know what happened from about page 300-400- I couldn't make myself read any more so I skipped to the end.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    Enjoyed it and I am looking forward to the next one.

    I enjoyed this book. If you read the one about Lev's brother then you know about his training and it all joins together. What do people expect when they read. To me it is an escape and that is what Christine Feehan does lets me escape. Don't let them stop you from doing this series as I am looking forward to the next one already.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2010

    First Time Disappointment....

    Let me start off by say I LOVE Christine Feehan's work. I have read all but one of her books from all her series and I'm a big fan. Now comes the kicker, this book just wasn't that good. People who loved the Drake series will be sadly disappointed by this book. The story itself wasn't bad but we've already seen the diver theme with Abigail Drake and this story could basically have been the same story with the names changed if it weren't for the oh so exciting issue of mental illness, of which there appears to be a definite lack of research for this book. The young woman in the book only shows signs of her supposed autism when it is convenient to the story line and comes off more as a poster-child for PTSD having lost several loved ones in fires but never getting counseling. I was especially annoyed, having a friend who IS a high functioning autistic, to have her even write in a scene where the main character 'turns on' her autism to fool an agent into believing she's nearly catatonic. Please, if you're going to write about a real issue like mental illness at least do some research.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    Truly one of the dumbest books I've ever read.

    Unless you're into 100 pages of explicit sex, 100 pages of descriptions of autism (which are about as enlightened as Wikipedia) and 100 pages of ho-hum plot, RUN FROM THIS BOOK! I can't believe I finished it.

    The characters are dumb, dumb, dumb. Some combination of reality and fantasy. What the heck is a 'water element'? Ever met one?? A 'fire element'? Well, that's an arsonist.

    Have to hand it to the author....she managed to keep an orgasm going for 20 pages. Not bad.

    Every character is contrived. The local cop is married to an international super model. Good God! How many international super models do you know who live in a po-dunk town and are married to a local cop??? And a sister who makes her living making koleidescopes??? How quaint.

    And to top it all...so realistic...our hero is a life-long assassin who has killed maybe hundreds of people...by his own admission...has now suddenly found redemption and settles down to raise vegetables and go scuba diving. Could I make this up??? Well the author did.

    I recommend you find another book to read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Water Bound is the first in Christine Feehan's new series, a spin off of The Drake Sisters and based in Sea Haven.

    Rikki is a sea urchin diver, she learned to like a solitary life as it beats being ridiculed for being "different", until she goes diving and encounters a half dead man. What should she do with him, especially since he doesn't want in spite of his grave injuries medical help. Lev Prakenskii can't remember anything but his name and the fact that he's a killer and yet Rikki knows she's in no danger from him, that is until her heart is involved and then look out.
    Ms. Feehan gives us a brand new series with some old friends and some new faces in her brand new series in Sea Haven the home town of the beloved Drake Sisters. Her plot is straight forward with just enough woo woo to make it interesting for us her paranormal fans. You'll recognize her dialogue as she rarely strays from her unique style of storytelling and yet it's different enough from her other series that it has it's own flavor. Her characters are as usual over the top with personality and her readers won't be able to help themselves but to love the hero Lev and her heroine RIkki, and we get the added bonus of catching up with our old friends too. The romance is sweet and the audience will be pulling for them every step of the way as you will not meet two characters in more need of a happy ever after. The love scenes are hot, spicy, sensual and leave little to the imagination, but you will know there's love in every encounter.
    So if you finished Elle and Jackson's story and were a little misty eyed, this is your chance to go back to Sea Haven. If you love Christine's other series, you will love this one. If you love a great series that thinks just a little out of the box and adds a little paranormal to the persuasion, you'll love this. It's a great new series and I can't wait for the next volume.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting and Well Done

    Rikki is unlike any other heroine, an autistic girl who suddenly finds herself saddled with an injured Russian hit man. The book was well written with interesting plot twists that were very well liked and unexpected. Her inclusion of the Drake sisters was welcome and well done, not letting the bestselling series overtake this story. Lev was also well written, his dark persona a well done contrast to Rikki. The book was a slight bit unbelievable that Rikki who seems almost unable to do anything for herself except go on her boat can welcome him into her life. Overall, well done and recommended.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very original and delightfully offbeat. Fantastic read!

    A complete surprise from Feehan, in my opinion, and wonderfully so! I was very impressed with her character development and her implementation of the female protagonist's autism. Having a brother with said "handicap", I am very familiar with the traits of autism and felt that Feehan captured it perfectly! The romance was scorching and the vitality of each chapter was palpable. This was a definite can't-put-it-down novel and will be worth your while. I can almost guarantee it will be placed on your "favorites" shelf.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2010

    a little disappointed.

    I liked the characters and their story but did not like the fact that it overlapped with an ugly part of the Drake sisters series. I can't quite resolve that but I hope in future books of this series the author manages it. I like this author a lot and plan to read everything she writes. Also, what's with the sea urchins? I have no idea what they are and why anyone would make a career out of them. Do you eat them?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Liked it.

    Water Bound was my first Christine Feehan novel and I have to say I really liked it. There was just enough suspense to keep me reading and the romance was nice without being over the top. Great read and I think I willl read more of her novels.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Great read!

    Again Christine Feehan writes another great story. I thought Turbulent Seas was my most favorite of the Drake related books but this one quickly took it's place.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    Very good read

    I have enjoyed every book by Christine Feehan and this one is no exception. The characters were well rounded and well researched and the story was a page turner! I definitely recommend this one!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    Water Bound

    Water Bound is a compelling and well written story.

    Rikki is a sea-urchin diver in Sea Haven and has rescued Lev Prakenskii from certain death. He is helpless and injured in the depths of a cold ocean. Although, she is a loner by nature and circumstance she feels compelled to help this stranger.

    Each of these characters has tremendous obstacles to overcome in their trust of each other . However, the author gives us compelling insights and reasons why their relationship might work.

    You are rooting that Rikki is able to overcome her aversion to have anyone in her orbit but "the sisters of her heart." Lev has to accept that he is not only the dark, cold person he believes himself to be.

    Two unlikely people, who find themselves while looking into each other eyes.

    And to think I did not even mention the action that is packed into the book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    This was my first Christine Feehan and I enjoyed it. I like tha

    This was my first Christine Feehan and I enjoyed it. I like that Ricki was a highly functional autistic. I liked bringing some diversity to the main characters instead of using the typecast of pretty with gifts. There is some dark patches in regards to Lev's past so we see what happens in regards to that and to see more of the Lev's brothers in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great new series...especially if you loved the Drake Sisters!

    Great new series...especially if you loved the Drake Sisters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Great book

    This is one book that I read again and again. This book takes place immediately after 'Hidden Currents' and follows what happens to the brother of one of the heros from one of the sea haven series.
    The other books do not have to be read to enjoy this as this is a new series, but it does have some crossover characters. I really enjoyed the conflict and hero, but what keeps me rereading is the heroine of this story who is not the cookie cutter heroine of most stories, but of someone with very real problems who has to live in a world that is different then the one most people live in. Thank you ms. Feehan for the insight on how people live in world that may not be set up for them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Exciting! A must read!

    A wonderful read! I found it spell-binding, no pun intended! I could not put it down. (I have the same "problem" with all of Ms Feehan's books! You will get caught up in the story, the characters and their lives. You really should read it and see what I mean!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    Awesome - Great Start

    Fell in love with all the characters. Wonderful start to a new series. The story pulled me in and before I realized, the book was done. Wonderful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommed

    I could not put it down once i started reading it. Feehan does a great job of keeping you on the edge of your seat wanting to know more. i can hardly wait for the next one to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 428 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22