Customer Reviews for

Water Wars

Average Rating 3.5
( 234 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

Cameron Stracher provides a strong cautionary tale

The Water Wars devastated the United States which split into six nations in conflict with each other and Canada. The eco disaster is so great that Niagara Falls on both sides of the former boundary is bone dry. Children have become commodities to sell on the market as...
The Water Wars devastated the United States which split into six nations in conflict with each other and Canada. The eco disaster is so great that Niagara Falls on both sides of the former boundary is bone dry. Children have become commodities to sell on the market as liquid finding slaves.

In Illinowa, the government Water Board Authority, the most powerful agency, distributes desalinated water to citizens. The chemical cleansed liquid leads to disease as the mother of young Vera and Will seems to be dying from the toxin. The kids meet Kai who seems to have an endless supply of fresh water. He explains he gets his water from his dad who knows the location of an underground river. When someone kidnaps Kai and his father, Vera and Will search for their new friend.

Cameron Stracher provides a strong cautionary tale based on the premise that in the near future the liquid wars will focus on water and not oil. The author's harsh environment in which the polar caps are gone is so vivid, readers will feel constantly thirsty. Violence is prolific as fights on grand and small scales are the norm; think in terms of the range wars of the late nineteenth century, but on a global scale. Although none of the three teens are fully developed as the Stracher world overwhelms the cast, young adult readers will appreciate this engaging thriller.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on November 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother

I was so dissapointed in this book. The writing is mediocre at best. There is almost no character development. I HATE not finishing a book I start so it took every ounce of strengh to finish this book. Then the ending just does nothing..I guess the author is hoping to m...
I was so dissapointed in this book. The writing is mediocre at best. There is almost no character development. I HATE not finishing a book I start so it took every ounce of strengh to finish this book. Then the ending just does nothing..I guess the author is hoping to make this a trilogy or something. I read this right after reading The Hunger Games so perhaps I was expecting to much from this story. I just can't get over how elementary the writing is. The idea of the story had potential..the author just couldn't deliver.

posted by Yaremis on February 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 234 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Cameron Stracher provides a strong cautionary tale

    The Water Wars devastated the United States which split into six nations in conflict with each other and Canada. The eco disaster is so great that Niagara Falls on both sides of the former boundary is bone dry. Children have become commodities to sell on the market as liquid finding slaves.

    In Illinowa, the government Water Board Authority, the most powerful agency, distributes desalinated water to citizens. The chemical cleansed liquid leads to disease as the mother of young Vera and Will seems to be dying from the toxin. The kids meet Kai who seems to have an endless supply of fresh water. He explains he gets his water from his dad who knows the location of an underground river. When someone kidnaps Kai and his father, Vera and Will search for their new friend.

    Cameron Stracher provides a strong cautionary tale based on the premise that in the near future the liquid wars will focus on water and not oil. The author's harsh environment in which the polar caps are gone is so vivid, readers will feel constantly thirsty. Violence is prolific as fights on grand and small scales are the norm; think in terms of the range wars of the late nineteenth century, but on a global scale. Although none of the three teens are fully developed as the Stracher world overwhelms the cast, young adult readers will appreciate this engaging thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    40 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    Don't bother

    I was so dissapointed in this book. The writing is mediocre at best. There is almost no character development. I HATE not finishing a book I start so it took every ounce of strengh to finish this book. Then the ending just does nothing..I guess the author is hoping to make this a trilogy or something. I read this right after reading The Hunger Games so perhaps I was expecting to much from this story. I just can't get over how elementary the writing is. The idea of the story had potential..the author just couldn't deliver.

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    this book is proof that you can judge a book by it's cover...

    i had gotten this book at what i thought was a steal, $0.99--but in reality the book company stole from me. the only thing thats good about this book, is the cover. otherwise the book is rather dull. the entire time it felt like the author was rushing, and it was clear he was writing as fast as he could to make the deadline. i think the book could have really been good, but it was just too sloppy and confusing for my taste.

    13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Boo

    Along comes harriet klausner wirh her cliff note book report. Please...bn, ban this poster....please and delete her plot spoiling posts. She takes pride in ruining every book she supposedly reviews by revealing every detail including the ending many times. Please do something about her.

    11 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Hello

    Dont get this book for nook it cost more than the actual book

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Recommend

    I do think that some of the topics could have been elaborated further. Also, the ending was supper rushed. But, this was a heart breaking story with alot of action and cynical humor

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good quick read!

    A good book with a well rounded story. Follows Vera and Will, a brother and sister, through a discovery that everything is not what it seems and that sometimes even the powers that be can't be trusted.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    If you're in to The Hunger Games and a dystopian society without

    If you're in to The Hunger Games and a dystopian society without, I recommend reading this book. Sure the writing isn't necessarily intellectually oriented or the most complex out there but Stracher's universe is the respectable lovechild of Frank Herbert's Dune and Suzanne Collins' Hunger Games. Although one con I can say hindered the reading for me more than the lesser-developed writing was the fact that no major characters throughout the entire novel died, both adversary or hero. I hate to sound pessimistic here but in my opinion death is an important ingredient in character development at the right (and not always fortunate) time and this story severely lacks its presence. However, amidst minor frustrations, I cannot help to like the book as a whole and am not sorry for reading it.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    It was okay

    I can usually finish a book in a few hours, but this one took almost two weeks. The book was pretty boring, but I forced myself to read it. I gave it three stars because it did have a semi interesting plot. If your interested in this book, borrow it from the library, don't buy it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    A Chilling Account of A Near Possible Future

    I loved this book. I thought that the charecters where strong and that this subject is one that very few venture near. Now i feel compeeled to conserve water. This book really made me think about bigger things thank you cameron Stacher

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Loved it!!!!

    I love the book it had action romance death murder pirates govenment people gifts rescues. It was truly a perfect book:)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    LOVED THIS BOOK SOOOOO MUCH!!!!!!!!!!!

    I loved this book it was really fast pace but i finished in like a day so its fast which is nice and did i mention i loved it

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Concept

    The Water Wars by Cameron Stracher is a dystopian novel set in the not so distant future. Many of the natural resources that we enjoy today have been depleted. The population is left to depend on the government for the means of survival. However some people hold out hope for a better future, some take it at the cost of others, and some are set to destroy it.


    I think the concept of this book is really interesting. We use water everyday for many different things but have you ever stopped to think what you would do if suddenly water wasn't available to us anymore. Things we take for granted such as showers, swimming pools and bubble baths would be but a distant memory. Cameron Stracher does a good job painting this scenario. There is definitely a message of conservation interwoven throughout this novel.


    The Water Wars is told through the eyes of Vera. She's a young teen who lives at home with her older brother, father and mother who is ill. Vera meets Kai one day while waiting for her school bus. Kai is different from anyone she has ever known. She knows from the beginning that there is something different about him. Vera and Kai become instant friends that are inseparable. One day Kai disappears. Vera is fearful of his life and immediately goes in search of him with her brother Will. Together the embark on a journey that leads them to uncover the truth that could change their future.


    Overall I thought this book was good. It definitely makes you think about all the water you consume and about your carbon footprint. The story line was a little slow in the beginning but about half way through it really picks up and it's full of action. I like Vera and Will. They were both really courageous. I also like the fact they were both just normal kids. This book is full of unique characters. I like the pirates in this book. They are an interesting addition to this novel. The Water Wars is a very interesting read that will have you on your toes.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    knew when I accepted this book that it was getting overall mixed reviews. I wanted to read it any because I was really intrigued by the story line. I ended up liking it ok, but add my thoughts to the mixed bag.

    I really liked the idea of the world running out of water. The way everything is run seems very believable to me and not a life I would want. I thought it was interesting how the US has separated and how each area basically takes care of their own. The way the area that Vera's lives in was described really gave me a new appreciation for my cold glass of water and my hot bath.

    But sadly, I really didn't feel anything for the characters. I didn't dislike Vera at all, but I didn't really get her obsession with finding Kai. There friendship didn't feel developed enough to warrant that kind of devotion. Plus, the poor kids never seemed to catch a break. I felt like the constant danger was driving the story forward when it didn't have to be that way.

    In the end, I wasn't surprised that it was one greedy corporation that was causing all the problems and controlling everything. What I didn't understand was if there really was water hiding someplace or not. There seemed to be a piece of the story missing. Also, totally irrelevant to the story, but I found it almost laughable that it was the Canadians that were to blame. They caused all the environmental problems that caused the ice caps to melt and the water to go bad. And then they controlled all the precious little good water. For some reason, I just didn't buy that, so the rest of the story didn't flow right for me.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    Just ok

    I liked the premise for the book but I feel that the characters were shallow.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    NO PLOT SPOILERS

    Please harriet no more spoilers

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Not as bad as everyone is saying

    Opposed to what other comments have said, i enjoyed reading this book. The author had brilliant idea and took it into a full story, something most people cant do. I fell in love with the characters and felt every emotion they felt as the story progressed. An excellent book and i highly recommend it. You will want to expieriance what they went through, no matter how bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Very nice

    I really like this short story. It reminded me alot of The Twilight Zone and other shows. I look forward to reading more works from this author.
    Please keep up the incredible work.
    Thank you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "THE WATER WARS" (GMTA REVIEW)

    Book Title: "The Water Wars"
    Author: Cameron Stracher
    Published By: Sourcebooks
    Age Recommended: 12 +
    Reviewed By: Kitty Bullard
    Raven Rating: 5

    [image]

    Review: Lately dystopian novels have become extremely popular. With the fast rise of such titles as "Hunger Games" by Suzanne Collins there has been an influx of young adult novelists trying their hand at creating post-apocalyptic worlds where the young truly become our future. Cameron Stracher has definitely created on such world and his heroes and heroines are unforgettable.

    This novel deals with a very real possibility that is at once scary and compelling. The structure of the land has changed, there is a stark dryness everywhere you look and water is not just scarce, but doled out in safely guarded increments. People are getting sick, and dying, others are disappearing and no one is safe. This is the world of Vera and her brother Will. When they meet a young man close to their age named Kai, they find his strange and it is hard for them to understand let along believe his flippancy where water is concerned. He seems completely uncaring that the liquid that gives life is hard to find. They share a fleeting friendship with him and when Kai disappears they decide they must find him. Embarking on a wild and dangerous adventure they learn a lot more than they bargained for.

    I loved this book and hope it is destined to become a series. This book reminded me much of "Hunger Games" but of course with its own quality and uniqueness. Stracher is definitely a writer well on his way to greatness, this is yet another dystopian success. I highly recommend "The Water Wars" it will leave you thirsting for more!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    okay

    I thought this was a good book. It's not one of my favorites but it's pretty good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 234 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12