Customer Reviews for

Water Wars

Average Rating 3.5
( 234 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

Cameron Stracher provides a strong cautionary tale

The Water Wars devastated the United States which split into six nations in conflict with each other and Canada. The eco disaster is so great that Niagara Falls on both sides of the former boundary is bone dry. Children have become commodities to sell on the market as...
The Water Wars devastated the United States which split into six nations in conflict with each other and Canada. The eco disaster is so great that Niagara Falls on both sides of the former boundary is bone dry. Children have become commodities to sell on the market as liquid finding slaves.

In Illinowa, the government Water Board Authority, the most powerful agency, distributes desalinated water to citizens. The chemical cleansed liquid leads to disease as the mother of young Vera and Will seems to be dying from the toxin. The kids meet Kai who seems to have an endless supply of fresh water. He explains he gets his water from his dad who knows the location of an underground river. When someone kidnaps Kai and his father, Vera and Will search for their new friend.

Cameron Stracher provides a strong cautionary tale based on the premise that in the near future the liquid wars will focus on water and not oil. The author's harsh environment in which the polar caps are gone is so vivid, readers will feel constantly thirsty. Violence is prolific as fights on grand and small scales are the norm; think in terms of the range wars of the late nineteenth century, but on a global scale. Although none of the three teens are fully developed as the Stracher world overwhelms the cast, young adult readers will appreciate this engaging thriller.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on November 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother

I was so dissapointed in this book. The writing is mediocre at best. There is almost no character development. I HATE not finishing a book I start so it took every ounce of strengh to finish this book. Then the ending just does nothing..I guess the author is hoping to m...
I was so dissapointed in this book. The writing is mediocre at best. There is almost no character development. I HATE not finishing a book I start so it took every ounce of strengh to finish this book. Then the ending just does nothing..I guess the author is hoping to make this a trilogy or something. I read this right after reading The Hunger Games so perhaps I was expecting to much from this story. I just can't get over how elementary the writing is. The idea of the story had potential..the author just couldn't deliver.

posted by Yaremis on February 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good quick read!

    A good book with a well rounded story. Follows Vera and Will, a brother and sister, through a discovery that everything is not what it seems and that sometimes even the powers that be can't be trusted.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    It was okay

    I can usually finish a book in a few hours, but this one took almost two weeks. The book was pretty boring, but I forced myself to read it. I gave it three stars because it did have a semi interesting plot. If your interested in this book, borrow it from the library, don't buy it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Concept

    The Water Wars by Cameron Stracher is a dystopian novel set in the not so distant future. Many of the natural resources that we enjoy today have been depleted. The population is left to depend on the government for the means of survival. However some people hold out hope for a better future, some take it at the cost of others, and some are set to destroy it.


    I think the concept of this book is really interesting. We use water everyday for many different things but have you ever stopped to think what you would do if suddenly water wasn't available to us anymore. Things we take for granted such as showers, swimming pools and bubble baths would be but a distant memory. Cameron Stracher does a good job painting this scenario. There is definitely a message of conservation interwoven throughout this novel.


    The Water Wars is told through the eyes of Vera. She's a young teen who lives at home with her older brother, father and mother who is ill. Vera meets Kai one day while waiting for her school bus. Kai is different from anyone she has ever known. She knows from the beginning that there is something different about him. Vera and Kai become instant friends that are inseparable. One day Kai disappears. Vera is fearful of his life and immediately goes in search of him with her brother Will. Together the embark on a journey that leads them to uncover the truth that could change their future.


    Overall I thought this book was good. It definitely makes you think about all the water you consume and about your carbon footprint. The story line was a little slow in the beginning but about half way through it really picks up and it's full of action. I like Vera and Will. They were both really courageous. I also like the fact they were both just normal kids. This book is full of unique characters. I like the pirates in this book. They are an interesting addition to this novel. The Water Wars is a very interesting read that will have you on your toes.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    knew when I accepted this book that it was getting overall mixed reviews. I wanted to read it any because I was really intrigued by the story line. I ended up liking it ok, but add my thoughts to the mixed bag.

    I really liked the idea of the world running out of water. The way everything is run seems very believable to me and not a life I would want. I thought it was interesting how the US has separated and how each area basically takes care of their own. The way the area that Vera's lives in was described really gave me a new appreciation for my cold glass of water and my hot bath.

    But sadly, I really didn't feel anything for the characters. I didn't dislike Vera at all, but I didn't really get her obsession with finding Kai. There friendship didn't feel developed enough to warrant that kind of devotion. Plus, the poor kids never seemed to catch a break. I felt like the constant danger was driving the story forward when it didn't have to be that way.

    In the end, I wasn't surprised that it was one greedy corporation that was causing all the problems and controlling everything. What I didn't understand was if there really was water hiding someplace or not. There seemed to be a piece of the story missing. Also, totally irrelevant to the story, but I found it almost laughable that it was the Canadians that were to blame. They caused all the environmental problems that caused the ice caps to melt and the water to go bad. And then they controlled all the precious little good water. For some reason, I just didn't buy that, so the rest of the story didn't flow right for me.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    Just ok

    I liked the premise for the book but I feel that the characters were shallow.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    okay

    I thought this was a good book. It's not one of my favorites but it's pretty good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    book!!!

    the best!or almost.it was good

    1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    FuryStar

    He sat in the clearing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Mistystar

    K

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Easy read

    This book was about a futuristic society where water is a limited resource. It wasn't all that good, but it wasn't all that bad either. I think it would be a good choice.for someone that doesn't read very well. The language is simple, no "big words). The two main characters.are teens. Character development is inconsistent. Most o the time, they are rather naive, but yet they are.able to have such amazing adventures (not likely). Although there is no profanity, some of the scenes are a little gruesome. There is definately a strong enviromental warning that runs throughout this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Enjoyed it

    Made me think of the 1986 movie Solar Babies. Could use a little more background and fleshing out, but I still enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Panda :)

    This book was ok, it was kinda boring. The characters weren't really relatable to me. Overall just a little buzz-kill. :P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Sounds like a very interesting book . If only it was from a girl

    Sounds like a very interesting book . If only it was from a girls point of view i'd relate more . Anyway sounds cool .

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    good read

    vera was just a little flat, it seemed like he rushed the story, and sometimes characters were in one place, and then suddenly in a car without even saying how they got there.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    not bad

    reminded me of a mixture of hunger games and scorch trials. i liked it but the ending left me hanging!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Book was Ok.

    Stracher did not spend enough time on character development which can make or break a book in my opinion. The story line was great as far how corrupt mankind can go when fighting for survival or money. It was a pretty short book so even if your skeptical I'd say read it. If you liked lord of the flies you'll probably like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4