BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Water Wars

Average Rating 3.5
( 234 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

Cameron Stracher provides a strong cautionary tale

The Water Wars devastated the United States which split into six nations in conflict with each other and Canada. The eco disaster is so great that Niagara Falls on both sides of the former boundary is bone dry. Children have become commodities to sell on the market as...
The Water Wars devastated the United States which split into six nations in conflict with each other and Canada. The eco disaster is so great that Niagara Falls on both sides of the former boundary is bone dry. Children have become commodities to sell on the market as liquid finding slaves.

In Illinowa, the government Water Board Authority, the most powerful agency, distributes desalinated water to citizens. The chemical cleansed liquid leads to disease as the mother of young Vera and Will seems to be dying from the toxin. The kids meet Kai who seems to have an endless supply of fresh water. He explains he gets his water from his dad who knows the location of an underground river. When someone kidnaps Kai and his father, Vera and Will search for their new friend.

Cameron Stracher provides a strong cautionary tale based on the premise that in the near future the liquid wars will focus on water and not oil. The author's harsh environment in which the polar caps are gone is so vivid, readers will feel constantly thirsty. Violence is prolific as fights on grand and small scales are the norm; think in terms of the range wars of the late nineteenth century, but on a global scale. Although none of the three teens are fully developed as the Stracher world overwhelms the cast, young adult readers will appreciate this engaging thriller.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on November 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother

I was so dissapointed in this book. The writing is mediocre at best. There is almost no character development. I HATE not finishing a book I start so it took every ounce of strengh to finish this book. Then the ending just does nothing..I guess the author is hoping to m...
I was so dissapointed in this book. The writing is mediocre at best. There is almost no character development. I HATE not finishing a book I start so it took every ounce of strengh to finish this book. Then the ending just does nothing..I guess the author is hoping to make this a trilogy or something. I read this right after reading The Hunger Games so perhaps I was expecting to much from this story. I just can't get over how elementary the writing is. The idea of the story had potential..the author just couldn't deliver.

posted by Yaremis on February 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    this book is proof that you can judge a book by it's cover...

    i had gotten this book at what i thought was a steal, $0.99--but in reality the book company stole from me. the only thing thats good about this book, is the cover. otherwise the book is rather dull. the entire time it felt like the author was rushing, and it was clear he was writing as fast as he could to make the deadline. i think the book could have really been good, but it was just too sloppy and confusing for my taste.

    13 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Recommend

    I do think that some of the topics could have been elaborated further. Also, the ending was supper rushed. But, this was a heart breaking story with alot of action and cynical humor

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    If you're in to The Hunger Games and a dystopian society without

    If you're in to The Hunger Games and a dystopian society without, I recommend reading this book. Sure the writing isn't necessarily intellectually oriented or the most complex out there but Stracher's universe is the respectable lovechild of Frank Herbert's Dune and Suzanne Collins' Hunger Games. Although one con I can say hindered the reading for me more than the lesser-developed writing was the fact that no major characters throughout the entire novel died, both adversary or hero. I hate to sound pessimistic here but in my opinion death is an important ingredient in character development at the right (and not always fortunate) time and this story severely lacks its presence. However, amidst minor frustrations, I cannot help to like the book as a whole and am not sorry for reading it.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Not as bad as everyone is saying

    Opposed to what other comments have said, i enjoyed reading this book. The author had brilliant idea and took it into a full story, something most people cant do. I fell in love with the characters and felt every emotion they felt as the story progressed. An excellent book and i highly recommend it. You will want to expieriance what they went through, no matter how bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Very nice

    I really like this short story. It reminded me alot of The Twilight Zone and other shows. I look forward to reading more works from this author.
    Please keep up the incredible work.
    Thank you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    Interesting Read

    Imagine an entire world suffering from widespread drought. Water is strictly rationed and the penalties for misuse are severe. Can you even begin to understand how different your life would be? No? Well, then come with me and visit with Vera and Will, two teenagers who have spent their entire lives in just such a world.

    Vera is an average fifteen-year-old girl in a less than average world. Aside from her ailing mother, she and her brother, Will, live an ordinary life for the times they're in. In the beginning, she didn't seem like much and I was more interested in her surroundings than her. However, as soon as she meets Kai, you begin to learn that there is more to this little girl than you'd expected. As the story unfolds, you discover that Vera has reserves that not even she realized were there.

    Kai is the mysterious new guy Vera and Will happen across one afternoon walking home from the bus stop. He's the proper makings of any young teen's first crush - handsome, charming, attentive, and rich. What more could a girl ask for? However, under this mysterious surface, he's an inquisitive and curious kid who hasn't ever had a chance to experience the simple things of life.

    My only issue with this novel was the lack of back story regarding The Great Panic and how the Earth got into the state that it's in. However, aside from that, The Water Wars is a thought-provoking story about the way we handle our precious natural resources and is a great way to get teens to start thinking about these things now, before it's too late. With characters you grow to love, and a world eerily like our own and yet, fundamentally different, you will be pulled in and taken along on the adventure.

    Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    To je n'aime pas water wars

    I think you mean et toi. Et, oui, j'aime legend et champion! Je m'appelle Madileine. Comment et tu?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    How many pages it this book

    How many? Please reply back

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Amazing

    I loved this book so much! When i finished the hunger games series i didnt know what to do with my life. Then i started reading The Water Wars and i couldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Read what i wrote her its important

    ppl it is not helpful when u sy random stuff on the reviews like "hello". If u want to write a review at least read the sample part of the book. And i know i am just writing random stuff, but serously u dont need to b writing random stuff.!!!!

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    Water Wars

    from Murphy's Library

    Vera lives in a world where there's no drinkable water enough for everyone, and people eat synthetic food. Her father works as much as he can, but he doesn't have money enough to provide lots of water to his family. Her mom is sick-something on the water, she believes, it has to be-and her brother soon will be gone, next year he has to go to the army. In Vera's world, everyone spend a year in the military, then five years afterward on active reserve.

    One day, waiting for the bus to go to school, she mets Kai, a mysterious boy. He has diabetes, and it seems he's rich, because he has lots of water. They soon become friends, and Vera and Will, her older brother, hang out whenever they can. But Kai's reality is completely different from Vera's and Will's. He's out of school and even his skin is different from them-one day Vera can smell real the scent of real soap in his hair. Kai tells them he knows a river, but when they ask him where's the river, he says he can't tell them. He said his father told him about the river, and Vera and Will become more and more curious about it, they're obsessed with the river, collecting clues from all he says.

    When Kai disappears, after showing Vera where he'd found some water-and right after they kissed-, she's deadly worried. She knows someone has come after him, and she knows he's in trouble. But what can she do? She has to go after him, and Will joins her. They pack for one day and stick to their plain to find the river, where they believe they're going to find Kai-they should come back by the end of the day, their dad won't even notice they were gone. But nothing works as their plain, and they end up as captives of water pirates, who are looking for Kai as well.

    Water pirates were the worst kind of vigilantes. They traveled like nomads, stealing water wherever they could find it and selling it to the highest bidder. They owed allegiance to no government and killed all who crossed them. But Vera and Will soon find out the pirates are not the last of their worries. There's a worse group, the PELA-People's Environmental Liberation Army-and guess what? They're also after Kai, it seems everyone wants whatever he knows.

    The Water Wars is a roller coaster. It's scary to read it and think it's something that can be our future. Vera is a great character-we cheer with her, we suffer with her, and we laugh with her. She's a tough girl who doesn't let people tell her what to do, but at the same time she's just a scared girl trying to find her friend-her first love-and ends up discovering life isn't exactly as she's being told. Stracher's narrative gets you someway you can't put the book down until you're done reading it-but you need to take a break at some points, because it's just so, so real...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    The Water Wars

    This book really had every aspect the Hunger Games Series had with lots of action, romance and tragedy. Start reading this epic adventure and meet Will, Vera, and Kai. You'll fall in love with that Hunger Games feel all over again!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    omg

    omg this would be such a scary place. reading water wars is making me thirsty nd mking me aapreciate the water i have. i hope r world nvr comes to this!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3