Customer Reviews for

Water Wars

Average Rating 3.5
( 234 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

Cameron Stracher provides a strong cautionary tale

The Water Wars devastated the United States which split into six nations in conflict with each other and Canada. The eco disaster is so great that Niagara Falls on both sides of the former boundary is bone dry. Children have become commodities to sell on the market as...
The Water Wars devastated the United States which split into six nations in conflict with each other and Canada. The eco disaster is so great that Niagara Falls on both sides of the former boundary is bone dry. Children have become commodities to sell on the market as liquid finding slaves.

In Illinowa, the government Water Board Authority, the most powerful agency, distributes desalinated water to citizens. The chemical cleansed liquid leads to disease as the mother of young Vera and Will seems to be dying from the toxin. The kids meet Kai who seems to have an endless supply of fresh water. He explains he gets his water from his dad who knows the location of an underground river. When someone kidnaps Kai and his father, Vera and Will search for their new friend.

Cameron Stracher provides a strong cautionary tale based on the premise that in the near future the liquid wars will focus on water and not oil. The author's harsh environment in which the polar caps are gone is so vivid, readers will feel constantly thirsty. Violence is prolific as fights on grand and small scales are the norm; think in terms of the range wars of the late nineteenth century, but on a global scale. Although none of the three teens are fully developed as the Stracher world overwhelms the cast, young adult readers will appreciate this engaging thriller.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on November 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother

I was so dissapointed in this book. The writing is mediocre at best. There is almost no character development. I HATE not finishing a book I start so it took every ounce of strengh to finish this book. Then the ending just does nothing..I guess the author is hoping to m...
I was so dissapointed in this book. The writing is mediocre at best. There is almost no character development. I HATE not finishing a book I start so it took every ounce of strengh to finish this book. Then the ending just does nothing..I guess the author is hoping to make this a trilogy or something. I read this right after reading The Hunger Games so perhaps I was expecting to much from this story. I just can't get over how elementary the writing is. The idea of the story had potential..the author just couldn't deliver.

posted by Yaremis on February 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 234 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    Interesting Read

    Imagine an entire world suffering from widespread drought. Water is strictly rationed and the penalties for misuse are severe. Can you even begin to understand how different your life would be? No? Well, then come with me and visit with Vera and Will, two teenagers who have spent their entire lives in just such a world.

    Vera is an average fifteen-year-old girl in a less than average world. Aside from her ailing mother, she and her brother, Will, live an ordinary life for the times they're in. In the beginning, she didn't seem like much and I was more interested in her surroundings than her. However, as soon as she meets Kai, you begin to learn that there is more to this little girl than you'd expected. As the story unfolds, you discover that Vera has reserves that not even she realized were there.

    Kai is the mysterious new guy Vera and Will happen across one afternoon walking home from the bus stop. He's the proper makings of any young teen's first crush - handsome, charming, attentive, and rich. What more could a girl ask for? However, under this mysterious surface, he's an inquisitive and curious kid who hasn't ever had a chance to experience the simple things of life.

    My only issue with this novel was the lack of back story regarding The Great Panic and how the Earth got into the state that it's in. However, aside from that, The Water Wars is a thought-provoking story about the way we handle our precious natural resources and is a great way to get teens to start thinking about these things now, before it's too late. With characters you grow to love, and a world eerily like our own and yet, fundamentally different, you will be pulled in and taken along on the adventure.

    Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Good

    This book was really good. I enjoyed the very real plot of the world running out of fresh water to share. The characters are well devoloped and relatable. Some of the elements are a little copycat like the video hub called YouToo!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    AMAZING!!! Great Read!

    This book makes you think about our wasteful ways. The characters had interesting interactions, but I was hoping for some sort of epilogue. It makes a very strong point about over-population and waste. Overall, I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    doesnt work for nook

    would love to read it, except i cant get it on the nook. come on bn, if you recommend the book to me, at least have it work. so stupid.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Great read.

    This story was a creative view at what may be one day. Kinda reminds me of Tank Girl in a way, only sweeter at points and more thrilling at others. Hoping for a sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    book!!!

    the best!or almost.it was good

    1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Not worth it.

    I used to own this in paperback. The concept is beautiful, but concept alone does not a story make. Poor execution and lack of characters and circumstances that made me care about what I was reading made me regret my purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    FuryStar

    He sat in the clearing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Good book

    Lots of:
    - Action
    - Adventure
    Not a lot of:
    Water

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    To je n'aime pas water wars

    I think you mean et toi. Et, oui, j'aime legend et champion! Je m'appelle Madileine. Comment et tu?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Book sucks

    I hate this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Je n'aime pas water wars.

    Salut! Tu aime water wars? Non? Tu n'aime pas water wars? Je n'aime pas water wars. Je prefere legend, prodigy, et champion. Et trois?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Smh

    No.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Great Book!

    An eye-opening novel full of adventure and heroic risks! This is a captivating and entertaining srory; I recommend it to those searching for something satisfying!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    JAKE WALTON WILL BE POSTING HERE THIS WEEK!

    Its true

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Hdburdjiy

    This is a place to review, not to socialize!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Sophie

    My nook. I live in an orphanage so this is the only electronic I have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Sam

    Hmmm nook or laptop or both!! - Sam

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    SDA

    My iPad is probably my favorite. My current phone is sad, but I am getting an iPhone soon. Oh, just FYI, Sienna's eyes are normally brown, but they can change color because she has Aprodite in her blood line, (as well as Athena. But her dad is Zeus.) so her eyes change to blue-green when she is happy.--- SDA ;-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Gtg

    Gtg:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 234 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12