Customer Reviews for

The Water Is Wide

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2005

    funny and exciting!

    This is one of the best book i've ever read. Its just full of humor and excitment. I really recomened this book to those who have no interest in reading because i hate reading but i had to read it for school and i just wanted to keep reading right when i read the first paragraph. this book helps people to understand life better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2005

    Funny book, sad story.

    Even though this book is about poverty and lack of education, it is humorous. I felt like I knew Pat Conroy after I read this book. He words things in the most unusual ways because of his attitude about life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2003

    Thoroughly Enjoyable

    Conroy makes his characters real, vibrant, and very likeable. I found myself swept up in the story of his fight to give a group of black children a genuine education. 'The Water is Wide' does an excellent job of telling a rather heartbreaking story in a witty fashion, and I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2002

    Water Is Wide Review

    I found this book very good. It was pure brilliance. I was lost a few times and couldn't really understand it all that well. Also I found a lot of cursing and I didn't all that like it. But it was a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2001

    A Way Of Life To Others

    This book was very inlighting .If you wanted to understand life this would be the book.I think that it would be good for Senior classes to read this book.As I read the book I found out a lot about life.I think that this book will inprove Our thoughts on life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2000

    Warning: Do not waste your money!

    This book is terrible! It is one of the most disappointing books I have ever read. The story itself is good, but the author did a bad job of telling it. I had to read it for school, and the whole class hated it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2000

    A book for pre-service teachers and teachers

    This book portrayed a teacher fighting against the odds. He did everything in his power to give the children an equal opportunity. He taught the children what they needed to know, not just what he was required to teach. Although everyone around the island had labeled the children as lazy and retarded; he ignored them and went into the classroom with open mindedness and many ideas to teach. His teaching and friendship helped the children have more self-esteem about themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2000

    For pre-service teachers: Recommended Reading

    As pre-service teachers, we recommend this book for anyone considering going into teaching. Conroy reveals the meaning of real teaching and the satisfaction that can come from helping students grow and develop. 'Conrack' proves that teaching is much more than learning from textbooks. It also includes developing loving relationships with your students, instilling in them a desire to learn. Pat Conroy experienced the ups and downs of teaching, but finally realized that persistence is good for the soul and the students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4