Customer Reviews for

Watermelon

Average Rating 4
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sweet, Charming, Fantastic book.

Watermelon was recommended to me by a friend. And it was one of the greatest gifts she could have given. The story of a mother who has to rebuild her inner and outer life post-baby and post-husband leaving her, Watermelon is story about rebirth after personal tragedy an...
Watermelon was recommended to me by a friend. And it was one of the greatest gifts she could have given. The story of a mother who has to rebuild her inner and outer life post-baby and post-husband leaving her, Watermelon is story about rebirth after personal tragedy and how family, whether we want to hug them or kill them, can absolutely save the day in the end. The narrative flows from moments of laugh-out-loud humor, to pure frustrations for the situations (I literally gasped and yelled "WHAT?!" as I read parts), to moments that will touch your heart. The journey that you go through with Claire, the central character in the story, is one that feels so real, and so relatable to anyone that has ever had to pick up the pieces. I feel like Claire and her family are actual people existing in my own life, that is how real and followed-through Marian Keyes' book is. So, please, do yourself a favor and read this book. I have already purchased Keyes' second book in hopes of finding the magic from Watermelon once again.

posted by IamSM on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Character and plot boring

I tried to like this book, but it was really boring. The topic sounded exciting, but the plot just crawls along. The author spends most of the time having the character's thoughts break into every scene. Everytime I thought something was going to happen (even just in...
I tried to like this book, but it was really boring. The topic sounded exciting, but the plot just crawls along. The author spends most of the time having the character's thoughts break into every scene. Everytime I thought something was going to happen (even just interaction between characters) the main character would go off with her thoughts. The main character taking care of her newborn while she was drunk and in bed with depression wasn't very believeable. She would pop up long enough to feed her and then she'ld just lay in her bassinet until the next feeding. Just didn't hit the mark.

posted by 3tzmom on October 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Sweet, Charming, Fantastic book.

    Watermelon was recommended to me by a friend. And it was one of the greatest gifts she could have given. The story of a mother who has to rebuild her inner and outer life post-baby and post-husband leaving her, Watermelon is story about rebirth after personal tragedy and how family, whether we want to hug them or kill them, can absolutely save the day in the end. The narrative flows from moments of laugh-out-loud humor, to pure frustrations for the situations (I literally gasped and yelled "WHAT?!" as I read parts), to moments that will touch your heart. The journey that you go through with Claire, the central character in the story, is one that feels so real, and so relatable to anyone that has ever had to pick up the pieces. I feel like Claire and her family are actual people existing in my own life, that is how real and followed-through Marian Keyes' book is. So, please, do yourself a favor and read this book. I have already purchased Keyes' second book in hopes of finding the magic from Watermelon once again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Just what I needed!

    The story starts in a hospital in London, where Claire Webster is giving birth to her first child. What you'd assume to be a joyful and heart-warming moment makes a vicious turn when James, Claire's husband, walks into the room and tells Claire that he's leaving her for another woman. Claire is naturally heart-broken and doesn't know what to do, so she takes her baby back home to Dublin.<BR/>The story progresses from there, we watch Claire grow and cope with her loss, along with her gain. A short while after moving to Dublin she meets Adam, "long legs. Muscly arms. Blue eyes. Square jaw. Big smile." I'll leave it to you find out what, if anything, happens between them.<BR/>The story's great, very light, no need for deep thinking since it's written in first person. Keyes does a really good job in letting us know just how Claire feels about what is going on around her. There are few little twists here and there, but my favorite part was seeing Claire grow as a person, just the way any other person could logically mature after taking a walk in her shoes.<BR/>I think the only thing that bothered me about this book was that for a few instances Keyes would go off on emphasizing a point a little too far. But it only happened a few times, definitely not enough to make me want to put the book down. Also, her portrayal of her male characters sometimes seemed a bit weird to me, some of the things that came out of Adam's mouth made me question if a guy would really talk like that, but whatever, the point of me reading this wasn't so I could go deep in thought about what was going on. The point was for a little entertainment, and Watermelon definitely delivered!<BR/>Keyes is an Irish writer, so her humor and wit is really refreshing to read since it's different to typical American humor. Claire has four sisters, Maggie, Helen, Anna, and Rachel, and three of which are the protagonists in her books Angles (Maggie being the protagonist in this one), Rachel's Holiday (Rachel), and Anybody Out There? (Anna); Helen's book is coming up. They're not exactly a series, but the idea is cool, this way we get to meet most of the sisters and experience their different personalities and not worry about reading the books out of order.<BR/>For more reviews, please visit: http://musicfilmbookreviews.blogspot.com/

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2005

    Waiting to exhale

    This book was wonderful. I couldn't breathe until I finished this book. Some heartbreaking moments and I couldn't put it down until the main character was doing better. Then I couldn't put it down because I was dying to see what would happen next. I loved the ending and the family was so crazy, funny and sweet. A great read!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2005

    Great writer

    This was the first book I read by Marian Keyes and have now read 3. She is an awesome 'chik literature' writer. Light reading, very funny and very sexy. I love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2002

    Funny and Smart

    Of all the Marian Keyes books, I found this to be her best, although Sushi for Beginners comes a very close second. The humour is well observed and many times you can actually relate to what MK describes - and the way in which she does it. She makes you want to keep turning the pages...and you find yourself cheering the heroine on. Good fun to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2002

    This is the type of book you just CAN'T put down

    Watermelon is the first book that I read by Marian Keyes. At first you expect it to be a complete tear jerker, but midway through it you realize just how hysterical yet sentmimental it is. Claire, the main character, is so vulnerable at times and unbelievably strong and self-sufficient at others. She is the type of character anyone would love to have as a best friend. The other characters in this book also allow for such an enjoyeable and realistic read. It was so hard to put this nearly 450 page book down. Anyway, I recommend this book to anyone!!! I've also read Last Chance Saloon and Lucy Sullivan is Getting Married by Marian Keyes. They were both fantastic as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2002

    One of the BEST I've ever stumbled across!

    Let me just say that I was at the library recently looking for a book (not that I don't have a million sitting on my book shelf waiting to be read collecting dust!) and I stumbled across Watermelon by Marian Keyes and remembered hearing about it from more than one person about how great it was...so I said why not, i'll give it a try....all i have to say is that if I could I would give this book 10 stars! I found that when i was FORCED to put this book down (like around 3:00AM when my eyes felt like they were literally bleeding, I found myself actually thinking about poor Claire..and worrying about her life! What's going to happen w/her and Adam? Are James and her going to get back together? This book is magnificent and I highly recommend it! And I can't say that about too many books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2000

    READ THIS BOOK!

    Watermelon is one of the best books ever! I highly recommend it to 20-30 something women. I laughed so much and I could hardly put the book down. I felt like Claire was one of my close friends. You won't be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2000

    Just What the DR. Ordered

    I read this book while pregnat with my first child, right after my boyfriend of 3 years left us. I was in the dumps and bought this book not knowing what exactly I was in for. It lifted my spirits and was so right on the money with my life! It will definately make you smile!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2000

    worth every penny

    I bought this book at a discount store. I never buy books except at book stores, but this one looked so tempting i couldn't resist. From the first page I knew my choice was right. This was a very funny and easy read. If you are looking for some humor, this is a good choice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2000

    Read this book today!

    I had to give this book five stars, because that is as many as they would let me give it! The dialogue and her little asides to the reader made me laugh out loud! One of the funniest and best books I have read in a while! I can't wait to read her next one, 'Lucy Sullivan's Getting Married.' I hope she writes many more books...she is a terrific author!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2000

    I couldn't put it down

    After reading reviews of this book, I expected it to be funny but I didn't expect it to be as great as it is. I couldn't put it down and I didn't want to put it down. I just loved Claire and wished I could have read more about her. So now I'm telling everyone I know to read this book. You won't be disappointed!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Goldenhearts Grace

    Isnt here. Sorry... I will find it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Yessssss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Deimos

    Very good! You are on the right track if you're here. If you are really in the correct spot, then go to the next result for your next clue. ~&Delta

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Great story

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Fluffypelt

    She is not a loser ur just trying to make urself feel better. Bella...its wrong to spy they cant hurt us if w just pretend they rnt there. -Fluffypelt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Lololo loser

    Really get a life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Loved it!

    My first book by this author, and I was pleasantly surprised. I could easily relate to Claire. I heard that her thoughts were a bit over done and distracting, but I liked it because it was realistic. We were really able to get in her head and understand how she feels. Her family was fun and quirky but loving too. I absolutely loved Adam. I despised James. I don't think I have ever hated a fictional character as much as I hated him. If this book made me feel that strongly, then I know it was written well. The storyline may have been predictable, but I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and I can't wait to read the rest in the series. I definitely recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Dani

    Go to music res. 1.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3