Customer Reviews for

Water's Edge

Average Rating 4
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

highly recommended...

It's my first time reading Robert Whitlow and I can say I am not disappointed. Water's Edge is a well-written, well-paced, action-packed mystery with well-rounded characters and strategically placed twists that will definitely keep any enthusiast of the genre turning th...
It's my first time reading Robert Whitlow and I can say I am not disappointed. Water's Edge is a well-written, well-paced, action-packed mystery with well-rounded characters and strategically placed twists that will definitely keep any enthusiast of the genre turning the pages well into the night. Whitlow is indeed the master of legal suspense, and he doesn't fall short of proving that in this novel with a little Christian flair. This book has also reflected some Christian values that felt real and personal, almost tangible through the words. I often found myself reflecting on these valuable thoughts myself, thus helping me relate with the characters more. I highly recommend this to people who are close to losing faith and are in constant search of their purpose in life. You'll gain your much needed insights through all the excitement and drama of the plot-- definitely worth your time, don't you think?

I got an ARC of this book through Booksneeze.

posted by meowth2011 on July 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

too much

how can you justify charging less than $1 more for paperback versus ebooks?????? Us Nook book owners are really being taken advantage of and we have been pushed too far - Kindel is looking better and better.....

posted by heinzel on July 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    highly recommended...

    It's my first time reading Robert Whitlow and I can say I am not disappointed. Water's Edge is a well-written, well-paced, action-packed mystery with well-rounded characters and strategically placed twists that will definitely keep any enthusiast of the genre turning the pages well into the night. Whitlow is indeed the master of legal suspense, and he doesn't fall short of proving that in this novel with a little Christian flair. This book has also reflected some Christian values that felt real and personal, almost tangible through the words. I often found myself reflecting on these valuable thoughts myself, thus helping me relate with the characters more. I highly recommend this to people who are close to losing faith and are in constant search of their purpose in life. You'll gain your much needed insights through all the excitement and drama of the plot-- definitely worth your time, don't you think?

    I got an ARC of this book through Booksneeze.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    too much

    how can you justify charging less than $1 more for paperback versus ebooks?????? Us Nook book owners are really being taken advantage of and we have been pushed too far - Kindel is looking better and better.....

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Rather 'Meh'

    Water's Edge, a lawyer named Tom Crane suffers a recent loss when his lawyer father drowns. This leads him to his hometown of Bethel to close down his father's law practice and he gets caught up in various webs. Of course, I cannot reveal anything to you people because that would just spoil everything.

    The story, in all was sound and there was flow. But unfortunately, it lacked the general energy needed for any piece of fiction to be readable. To me, it was a bit of a disappointment. I can see that Whitlow tried to give his story emotion and he does attempt to make the readers connect with Tom but his attempts were not quite successful. This novel did not really stir up any emotions and the overall feel of the book was a bit of a let down for me.

    The plot was sound but it was a somewhat dull plot. Even though Whitlow tried to spice things up with various twists and turns it didn't really work. Character development was another thing Whitlow should work a bit more on. The characters were all rather boring except for Tom's late father's assistant, Bernice. She was the only one with any real personality. I know most of the characters were supposed to be respectable Christians but they were all too goody-goody and dull. Not many of them had color and the ones that did had some rather dull colors, to be honest. Dialogue was also rather standard but it wasn't up to the standards of being called original. The descriptions Whitlow provided are pretty good. He was rather concise and direct and that's quite a good thing. The scene's were also pretty good and realistic but there was nothing there to set Bethel apart from any other small American town you might read in books. Personally, I though the Painted Rock thing was a bit of a cliche.

    Overall, the message was a good one but it did not inspire me much. It was a path well-worn and that makes it normal and the oomph of it all was just not there. Perhaps someone without any faith at all would find it a bit more inspiring? But one who has been raised faithful would not feel the message's effects. Perhaps a little, at most. In terms of entertainment it was not such a success. It fits a typical law genre and that makes it a bit of a bore. It's a nice story, but that's all it is. It's nice.

    Frankly, I was let down. I expected a bit more from a back cover blurb that made it sound so intense. So yeah, I wouldn't go about recommending it. Someone in need of a law genre piece might like it but this is just not my cup of tea. Not at all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Another great book by Whitlow

    This is the second book by Robert Whitlow that I have read and I was not disappointed. Great story, a few difficulties and plot twists thrown in, and enough intrigue to keep the pages turning.

    I like that the situations in his books are realistic. The characters are so real that you can honestly see the events of these books unfolding. I found myself more than once thinking, "I know someone just like that."

    The book is a great read. If I had any hesitation about it, it would be that most people don't have the eye-opening experiences quite as clearly and openly as the main character is this book does. It usually doesn't come so easily and with such clarity. But in all honestly, from time to time I am sure it does, so although it isn't exactly "normal" to have such momentum in one's faith, it is certainly not impossible.

    A great read that I would certainly recommend. Great for most any age, but certainly best understood by adults. It's an easy read that does not bore and would be great to take on vacation or a flight.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Booksneeze review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2014

    Good Book! I enjoy reading Robert Whitlow books!

    Good Book! I enjoy reading Robert Whitlow books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    A Great Read!

    Water’s Edge by Robert Whitlow was a joy to read! I love legal dramas and this was a great read. It starts with a young attorney, named Tom Crane who returns to his small hometown to finalize plans from his deceased father’s law office and while there uncovers some mysterious events. Even though the main character has lost everything to move back to his hometown, he encounters people and places throughout the book that return him to his faith. He also uncovers things about himself that will last a lifetime. I truly enjoyed, the writing of the author and how he describes the main character in detail and his surroundings throughout the book. I highly recommend this book and was very pleased to review this complimentary copy from Thomas Nelson publishing.
    *The opinions I have expressed are my own and I was not compensated in anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    Excellent reading!

    I have read many of Robert Whitlow's books and Water's Edge ranks right up along with the others. As a Christian I appreciate Mr. Whitlow's commitment to write intense mysteries without bringing in sex and filth. He has a way of keeping your attention so much so that you can't put the book down. His characters have morals and standards that you can agree with. An added bonus is at the same time you are learning some interesting things about the law. I would recommend this book to a wide range of age groups.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    A favorite author!

    Intriguing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    Early Grisham-like.

    While a little plodding and predictable, there were too many ends not too securely tied. The characters are believable enough in their fleshing. Plenty to discuss in a book club.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    Water's Edge by Robert Whitlow

    Hello! I've gotten a new book from booksneeze- "Water's Edge" by Robert Whitlow. Before I get started, though, I need to tell you that I received this book for free from the Thomas nelson publisher through the booksneeze program, and I am under no legal obligation to give this book a good review. Whatever I say about this book is how I really feel. So, now, let's move on with the review. I've never read a Robert Whitlow book (even though the cover says he's a best- selling author.) But I've really enjoyed this one. It was kind of a mystery, a modern day one, with a mysterious death, surprising hunk of change, a beguiling woman and an international fraud operation. Just to name a few things. This book could compare to John Grisham, but more spiritual in nature. I enjoyed it and would probably like to read more of his books in the future. This book is well- written, thoughtful, and exciting. I loved the ending, as well. It finished quite nicely. This book also comes with a reader's guide at the back (which honestly kind of surprised me- I mean, how many adventure books have reader's guides? Lol ?) All in all, I give this book four out of five stars ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Lawyer Suspense

    Water's Edge
    Robert Whitlow
    Published by Thomas Nelson
    Source: Review copy from Book Sneeze
    Tom Crane is an up and coming lawyer in Atlanta. His father is killed in a boating accident and Tom needs to return to Georgia to close up his father's law office. Prior to his leaving for Georgia, Tom is released from his position at the law firm without much explanation and his girlfriend breaks up with him. With no job and no girl to hold him back Tom leaves for Georgia to stay with his great uncle Elias.
    Back in his hometown Tom sees best friend Rick and his wife (Tom's ex-girlfriend) Tiffany, along with Rick's Dad Arthur who owns a large financial company. They all encourage Tom to stay and reopen his father's law practice. Tom gets an offer from a company in Georgia as well and is conflicted in what option he may take.
    While cleaning out his father's office he finds an empty folder and some clues that lead him on a trail to Mr. Addington, the man who was in the boating accident with his father. Rose Addington is settling her father's estate and Tom confides in her the suspicions he has found on an off shore banking account with a large sum of money in it. Suspicions range from Mr. Addington and the Sr Mr. Crane as being conspirators to a fraud operation. Neither Rose nor Tom believes that could be as both of their fathers were Christian men and lived their lives accordingly.
    The trail of deceit runs back and forth between Tom's father and Mr. Addington, to corporate people involved Pelham Financial, to the head owners at Pelham, to Tom and Rose being in on it. The novel weaves a web of twists and turns in conflicts and resolutions, the very best resolution being Tom accepting Christ as his savior and that transforming Tom into a different man.
    Robert Whitlow is one of my favorite authors, having read many of his novels, I did enjoy this suspenseful legal story. It isn't my favorite of his works, but it is still top notch!
    I received a copy of this novel from BookSneeze in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Water's Edge

    It's been quite some time since I read a good legal thriller, and therefore, I was really excited when Water's Edge by Robert Whitlow is up for review in Booksneeze. Water's Edge is a very interesting legal thriller and the writing and plot development reminds me a little bit of John Grisham's work.

    This book is definitely a keeper and I love how the storyline keeps me on my toes and spook me a little bit when I read it in the middle of the night.

    Love the character's dynamic and the unexpected twist and turns in this story. I highly recommends this book to those who love legal thrillers.

    I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars. I received an ARC of this book from Thomas Nelson Publisher. I was not required to write a positive review for this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Christian fiction at it's best!

    Water's Edge by Robert Whitlow is Christian fiction at its best--a good story with plenty of life lessons. Tom, an up and coming attorney, has everything--great job, great girlfriend, and living in the perfect city to get even more; however, all this turns around quickly. His great job in an elite law firm where he thought to become one of the partners is gone. And in the same day he loses his girl, too. Wow, his perfect world disappears. With no job, he heads back to his small hometown to close his dad's law practice since his dad had recently died from a boating accident. What he thought would be an easy and quick task, turns into a major investigation that becomes important for him to find the truth. While going through his dad's papers, he discovers two million dollars in a secret bank account. Plus, his father's accident may not have been an "accident." Even worse, his father may have played a role in an international fraud operation. Tom begins to dig for the truth and along the way meets a beautiful, beguiling lady who is as interested and involved in the case as he is. Robert Whitlow is a great Christian fiction writer. I have read several of his books and have loved them all. He tells a great story while interweaving many valuable lessons. His writing is like John Grisham without the language. Whitlow seems to understand what separates Christian fiction from regular fiction is not just the absence of the rough language and vulgar love scenes but it is the inclusion of God throughout the story! Many of our Christian fiction writers are basically fiction writers with no language, but this book emphasizes what is important while telling you a good story. That is Christian fiction! Don't just entertain me but show me that God is important! Teach me a lesson to live by. I received this book free from the publisher through Booksneeze Publishing Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Christian Fiction Thriller

    Before I picked up this book, I had heard of it being compared to John Grisham's books, and that it was a mystery. Well, I'd call it more of a legal thriller than a mystery, really. A few parts of the book seemed to drone on to me, but then other parts were page turners. I have a feeling this book would appeal much more to men than women. It is also more on the heavier side of Christian Fiction, so if this isn't your usual cup of tea, be warned. Note that I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for sharing my thoughts on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    Suspense With a Hint of Religion

    Tom Crane had a bright future. A great job. Any minute now he is going to be made partner of a high profile firm. A beautiful girlfriend.

    Amidst all this, there is just one small matter of winding up his deceased father's law firm. His father was killed in a boating accident. He needs to go back to his hometown Bethel, to close down the practice before he can get on with his perfect life.

    Then out of the blue, disaster struck. He was fired from his work and his girlfriend broke up with him through letter. At that time he felt real lost and was contemplating of taking his own life. He have nothing else to live for.

    However, God works in a mysterious way. When Tom was in his lowest, Elias was there to advise him. Elias was a religious man.


    Tom took one day at a time. While cleaning his father's stuff he found that there was a large amount of money in an account.

    This roused his curiosity and he starts to dig deeper. It was like opening a can of worms. I won't spoilt your enjoyment of this book putting a spoiler here. It's better for you to read it for yourself.

    At the beginning, I can't help to compared this book with John Grisham's "The Firm" or "The Partner". I guess most people would do this too as John Grisham had set a precedence to it.

    However, I discovered that there is something special about this book. That is a hint of religion in it. Actually, it blends well with the plot and is a very good combination.

    There are many books that are fill with suspense and actions in the market. And so far, this is the only book that I come across that also promote the believe in God without sounding overly pious.

    In my opinion this is a great book for those who love to read suspense and thriller but does not like to be bombarded with those foul words nor ungodly messages. Great for teenagers and adults.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    First Law Read-Very Good

    I generally do not purchase for myself books that are written about law, even though I enjoy watching TV shows about it. However, I was interested in Water's Edge by Robert Whitlow.
    I was quickly brought into the book by the character Tom Crane who had everything going for him. Whitlow did a great job making this character's life seem perfect in every way only to have it quickly torn apart in more ways than one. The book slowed down for a bit after the initial set up was given and once Tom Crane got to his hometown city of Bethel. It was difficult for me to get excited about the book. It seemed to go without any sort of climax. However, the last 100 pages I was very interested in as the book certainly did reach a climax and gave you a definite turn of events. Some of the events in the book were slightly predictable, however, all in all, it was a good read.
    I would be interested to read more books by Robert Whitlow. He did a great job creating his characters and the setting. He made the story understandable for those of us who do not have a background in law. I look forward to reading more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Murder mystery, faith and romance make for a good combo

    Water's Edge by Robert Whitlow is about a young lawyer named Tom Crane who is on his way to becoming a partner at an Atlanta law firm. The untimely and suspicious death of his father leaves him needing to tie up loose ends in the small town of Bethel, GA where he grew up. Before leaving Atlanta, Tom's world does a 360 when he is fired from his job and dumped by his girlfriend. He returns to Bethel in hopes of quickly settling his father's affairs, but in the processhe finds a significant amount of money that is unclaimed. Tom finds out that there are webs and webs of lies that come with this money, and he wonders if his father could have been part of an international money laundering scheme. He meets a young woman along the way who is smart and beautiful and tests his faith.

    This book reminds me of a John Grisham novel with lots of Christian influence. The beginning of the book was a little slow, but once Tom made it to Bethel and started uncovering more and more suspicious things about his father's death and law practice, the plot really began to take off. This book leaves you guessing the outcome of not only Tom's faith in God, but also who he can and cannot trust. This book is inspiring because Tom wasn't exactly close to his father, but he will stop at nothing to make sure the right person is brought to justice, and he finds out that the apple doesn't fall too far from the tree. It has a lot of mystery and packs a lot of talk about God and faith with a little splash of romance. If you love mysteries and romance, then you're sure to enjoy Water's Edge.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze® book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    Sometimes, the things that seem to make the most profound and impossible changes in our lives are the ones needed to move us forward. Tom Crane lives the perfect example of this. He has a great job in an impressive law office, thinks he will make partner, has a father who is also a lawyer, and then there is the beautiful girlfriend. But, as the story begins, disaster strikes taking all of this away from him. Tom returns home to Bethel to not only close his father's law practice, but to also take a few moments for himself. Everything seems fine until he discovers two million dollars in a secret bank account. Where did it come from? Why the interest in some of his father's cases? Was his father's death really an accident? The road Tom takes will help him discover the answers to these questions, find those he can trust, and rediscover his faith.

    I enjoyed this book because the story is well written and the characters seemed real. There are twists and turns, poignant moments, and lessons to learn throughout the story. I recommend this book to anyone who likes suspenseful novels. It might also be fun for book groups to read and discuss. Thank you, Net Galley, for the copy I read on my Nook!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Water's Edge Has an Edge

    You think you have had a bad day well sit down open the book Water's Edge by Robert Whitlow and you will meet Tom Crane. He is the guy they sing country songs about, in one day he lost his job at a huge law firm in Atlanta; he lost his girlfriend and his cat. On top of all this news he must go to his small town childhood home to close his father's law practice. When he gets to his hometown he starts the process of finding other lawyers to take his Dad's clients on. His Uncle Elias starts talking to him about faith. Tom has not had faith since he was a child. Tom finds a large amount of money in a secret bank account when he does this he opens a can of worms. I want to tell you more but I don't want to spoil the book for you. I have to say I really enjoyed Tom. This was my first book by Robert Whitlow and I enjoyed it. He is a very good story tell. This book is actually a book that is in a series I did not know that when I chose this book. I have to say I was able to follow along easily. I will be reading his others in the series. I liked Tom. I felt bad for him at first but I was excited he opened him self to God. Tom is quite a likeable guy. This story is very much a legal on but is suspenseful with twist and turns to keep you turning the page. I will admit that I thought it started off slow however I was hooked a few chapters in. I also have to say the book made me want to visit Georgia as well. I give this four stars. It is definitely a great read. If you like Christian fiction this book is for you. If not you still might enjoy the suspense it is worth a try. Now here is the part of my blog that I have to tell you I was given a complimentary copy of this book from Book Sneeze. This review is totally my own opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    Excellent thriller!

    Water's Edge is an excellent legal thriller! It would be an ideal book for book club discussions.I will continue to read books by Robert Whitlow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2