Customer Reviews for

Watership Down: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 544 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(378)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I've read this once a year since it came out!

I love this story, it is wonderful, a whole world and it's history. It is a story of overcoming obstacles, and makes some powerful statements about community and being part of a team, yet shows the dangers of collectivism & socialism. I wish this hardback version had ...
I love this story, it is wonderful, a whole world and it's history. It is a story of overcoming obstacles, and makes some powerful statements about community and being part of a team, yet shows the dangers of collectivism & socialism. I wish this hardback version had the illustrations and quotes that were in the original paperback... (or is the preview just not showing them?)

posted by CrossWind on June 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A must read classic

you may get turned off in the beginning but just keep reading it is truly an amazing book

posted by 3593906 on October 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 547 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I've read this once a year since it came out!

    I love this story, it is wonderful, a whole world and it's history. It is a story of overcoming obstacles, and makes some powerful statements about community and being part of a team, yet shows the dangers of collectivism & socialism. I wish this hardback version had the illustrations and quotes that were in the original paperback... (or is the preview just not showing them?)

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    Watership Down is one of the best in classic literature. It is a novel about the lives of a small group of rabbits in search of a home after their warren is destroyed by humans. In the book, the leader of the rabbits, called Hazel, and his friend Fiver the mystic both lead their gang across rivers, escaping predators, and humans with their snares and traps. The rabbits finally find a good place to make their new warren, and after doing so are faced with the problem of there not being enough rabbits to keep the warren going. They attempt to solve the problem by trying to steal some pet rabbits from a farm nearby. When that doesn’t work to plan, they decide to find another warren and to convince some of their rabbits to come to the new warren. When they find a new warren, they find it under the tyrannical reign of a huge rabbit named General Woundwort. After they escape from his guards they plan on raiding his warren and taking some of his rabbits that are not as loyal. They succeed by a small margin, and the General pursues them. Soon they find themselves in a war, each side fighting for their lives. During the book they tell each other side stories of a mythical rabbit named El-ahrairah, yet do not realize their adventure is a legend in itself. I think part of the reason Richard Adams wrote this book was because he wanted to show how rabbits live, and how their lives are affected by humans. I liked the originality of this book, and the way it intertwines a view of the world through a rabbits eyes, within a human world. I also liked how the story tells of their journey, and when they finish the journey half way through the book it continues with a new problem. I did not like the way he used weird made up words to describe human things, because it made the story hard to read and awkward. Despite this, this book has earned itself a five star rating, above average. This is a book everyone should read, because it is such a great classic, and shows a new view on life. I would also like to recommend ‘The Dragons Nine Sons’, because after reading that, I vowed to recommend it to everyone I could. It is the best book I have ever read and will probably never be beaten. No one can go without reading it; it is a science fiction masterpiece.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    A great work of literature!!!!!!

    I had to read Watership Down for my 7th grade English class, and started out disliking it immensely. I mean, I don't know a single seventh grader who would actually enjoy reading a 400+ page book about talking rabbits. As I read more and more in the book, though, my opinion of Watership Down changed drastically. I realized that the themes and characters in the book are powerful and more than they appear to be. The characters are vivid and strong, and I especially liked Hazel, the beloved and courageous chief rabbit who proves his worth again and again to his people. The ending in Watership Down was perfect, and it will have a lasting impression on me. My advice to possible readers is this: Watership Down is a great book. Yes, it was sometimes slow and tiresome, but it was also more than a book about talking rabbits. Don't let those rabbits stop you from such a wonderful story. I was pleasantly surprised by this book, and would recommend it to anyone who appreciates quality literature.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the new classics...

    This was the first novel that I stayed up late reading (with a flashlight under the covers so my folks wouldn't know I was up past my bedtime)! Worth reading again and again - an enchanting story.

    P.S. This is also a particularly good story for reading out loud to older children and adults (a chapter or two a night).

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Great book!

    Woth every penny a good read

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I read this book years ago when I found this and plegue dogs at

    I read this book years ago when I found this and plegue dogs at my school's old and very limited library. I cannot see how individuals can rate this story under 3 stars; this is a classic like Wind in the Willows. Highly recommend this book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    revisiting an old friend

    it was every bit as good as I remember it being. In a few years I'm going to share it to my grand daughter.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    To thw clans.

    I love the Warriors series alot. But its riddicous to be posting stuff aboit it on a whole different books page. This book Wateship Down is an amazzing bok that deserves to get reviews on iys page about the book. So stop bein ridiculous and go write on some horrible books reviews, but please dont do it on and amazing book like this. Thank you

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    A book for my permanent Nook Library

    I have read this book at least every ten years; each time I read it, I visit old friends, and discover the new. I am now age 77, keeping the book in my Nook Library.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    BET BOOK EVER WRITTEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The perfect book for any age group!you will fall in love with this book.it is adventurous,action,heart warming and many more.must read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Very good

    Adams is a literary genius! This one isn't as good as The Plague Dogs, but still a fantastic read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    A must read classic

    you may get turned off in the beginning but just keep reading it is truly an amazing book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    This book is so good!

    Read this when i was nine and i still love it . awsome book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Read this:) :)

    This book is great. It is about rabbits that have to move away. It is really long, but it is worth it. The main characters are hazel and fiver, two rabbits. Read it, its worth the money!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Genius

    Richard Adams weaves beautiful diction with a story about a deep society from creatues you would't expect

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    One of the best

    I first read this book when i was nine and have re read it more than a few times in the last twenty years. It is still a good read and even after thirty years since itss original publishing it is still one of the most beloved books in american literature.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Richard Adams is a genius

    It does not take long to get atatched to this book. Adams brings the reader on an adventure starting early on in the book. Once Hazel and Fiver, start their journey, the book becomes extremely addictive. I am a consatnt reader, and this book is easily one of my top three novels I have ever read. As the characters were being introduced I found a strong connection to the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. This is a true adventure book, but I would also recommend this book to any peron that loves to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    This book kept me reading late into the hours of the night.

    This is an excellent novel. I am a seventh grader so it may be surprising that I enjoyed and even understood this book,but I truly did. I found it to be a beautifully illustrated tale of adventure, courage,and teamwork. The descriptions were vivid and the characters well developed. It may be difficult to get into, but if you stick with it, it will become spellbinding. It is a taut tale of suspense, hot pursuit,and derring-do. I highly encourage reading this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Great book, great edition

    I have loved this book ever since I read it in the 6th grade. I decided my old and worn copy was due to be replaced. I really like this edition.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Watership Down

    I am in sixth grade right now and I am reading this book.
    I first got Watership Down in third grade, when I finished an American Girl 450 page book in a matter of days. It was my mom's, and she says this is her favorite book. I didn't want to read this book. It looked boring; my copy is from 1775. Instead I read Tales From Watership Down, and it did not all make sense, but I remember one part was about some one wanting someone else to tell them a story that did not usually tell stories. I think this was Fiver, and he told a really unlikely story and every step of the way Bigwig (I think) was doubting Fiver. I look back now and laugh because it all makes sense.
    Now I am reading the actual story and I love it. Its amazing, but really hard to read. I am a really quick reader; I usually finish books really quickly. This book I have been reading for a week already. I think it is taking me so long because it is really hard to read.
    Not that I don't love it, of course. This is one of the best books ever. Its such a shame that its not very popular anymore... but I have a feeling that some day I'll have to read this for school. Its just that kind of book.
    All my friends, at first glance, think its really boring. But then again, that's just judging a book by it cover. It is the kind of book that will bore some people, though. The begining is very slow. Not everyone will like this book. I can see both points of views.
    Most people, I think, will like it, though. I love it. Why not try it? You'll never know until you read it.......

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 547 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28