Customer Reviews for

The Watsons Go to Birmingham - 1963 (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 520 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(330)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

haluroius intense must read!!!!

this book was awesome intenseing too. but good my favorite part is when byron gets his lips stuck on the mirror and everyone is trying to get his lips off by hot watr NATRULE DISASTER LOL!!!! must read

posted by Anonymous on March 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

A Good Book, but Not a Must-Read

The Watsons Go to Birmingham 1963 was an enlightening and quick-paced story. Very inspirational, it shows the love of an African American family during a segregated period of time. It's a very nice book, although it wasn't amazing. The story in general wasn't very speci...
The Watsons Go to Birmingham 1963 was an enlightening and quick-paced story. Very inspirational, it shows the love of an African American family during a segregated period of time. It's a very nice book, although it wasn't amazing. The story in general wasn't very special. Really, I liked it but didn't love it. It just didn't captivate me the way some other books do. The story is based in Flint, Michigan in 1963. The main characters are Kenny, Byron, Joetta, and their parents. The main part of the story tells of adventures in their everyday lives from 10 year old Kenny's point of view. Byron is a bully at school, while Kenny is more of a goody-goody. When the Watsons decide to go to Birmingham, Alabama to visit Grandma, they're in for a wild ride. At this point in the story it really begins to heat up. However, when a tragedy occurs and threatens the well-being of their family, they must leave Alabama. The Watsons must pull together to get past what happened. Overall, this book was ok. It was a bit slow in the beginning, just because it took so long to get into the main plot of the story. It had some high points, very comedic incidents that happened before their trip-like Byron's lips getting stuck on the frosty mirror. In the same sense, it also had low points. Most of these, however, occurred in Birmingham with two horrific events that confused me a bit. In conclusion, I am neutral about this book. I didn't particularly like it, but I didn't dislike it. I wouldn't recommend it, but I wouldn't not recommend it, either. Christopher Paul Curtis did a good job with the character development, but he wasn't as strong with the story line. It was purely just a simple story. It is a quick read which I thoroughly enjoyed. The Watsons go to Birmingham 1963, for the most part, is a really good book.

posted by 4563361 on August 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 523 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    A Good Book, but Not a Must-Read

    The Watsons Go to Birmingham 1963 was an enlightening and quick-paced story. Very inspirational, it shows the love of an African American family during a segregated period of time. It's a very nice book, although it wasn't amazing. The story in general wasn't very special. Really, I liked it but didn't love it. It just didn't captivate me the way some other books do. The story is based in Flint, Michigan in 1963. The main characters are Kenny, Byron, Joetta, and their parents. The main part of the story tells of adventures in their everyday lives from 10 year old Kenny's point of view. Byron is a bully at school, while Kenny is more of a goody-goody. When the Watsons decide to go to Birmingham, Alabama to visit Grandma, they're in for a wild ride. At this point in the story it really begins to heat up. However, when a tragedy occurs and threatens the well-being of their family, they must leave Alabama. The Watsons must pull together to get past what happened. Overall, this book was ok. It was a bit slow in the beginning, just because it took so long to get into the main plot of the story. It had some high points, very comedic incidents that happened before their trip-like Byron's lips getting stuck on the frosty mirror. In the same sense, it also had low points. Most of these, however, occurred in Birmingham with two horrific events that confused me a bit. In conclusion, I am neutral about this book. I didn't particularly like it, but I didn't dislike it. I wouldn't recommend it, but I wouldn't not recommend it, either. Christopher Paul Curtis did a good job with the character development, but he wasn't as strong with the story line. It was purely just a simple story. It is a quick read which I thoroughly enjoyed. The Watsons go to Birmingham 1963, for the most part, is a really good book.

    19 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    haluroius intense must read!!!!

    this book was awesome intenseing too. but good my favorite part is when byron gets his lips stuck on the mirror and everyone is trying to get his lips off by hot watr NATRULE DISASTER LOL!!!! must read

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    So kool

    Ur book is so entertaining,funny and creative!!!!!!!!!

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    The watsons are great

    The Watsons go to Birmingham 1963
    By: Christopher Paul Curtis

    Genre: Fiction

    Age Range: 8 and up

    Awards: New berry Honor Book

    Challenge Level:
    Low Medium High
    ????????????

    Level of Enjoyment:
    Low Medium High Very high
    ???????????????


    What did I like about this book? I recommend this book to middle school students and family readers. This book was set in the 60's but, still resembles today. Bryon is the character that gets in trouble all the time. He also gets in bad situations like getting his tongue stuck to the car mirror. Bryon starts to straighten up after he gets to grandmas. Kenny is being the bad one now; he goes to a place at the river where he shouldn't have been. Then it was confusing when he gets out of the whirl pool to the church bombing. Over all I like this book and give it 5 stars.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    I read this 7 years ago when I was in sixth grade. I didn't appr

    I read this 7 years ago when I was in sixth grade. I didn't appreciate it as much back then, but now I must say this book is exactly what I rated it- exceptional. It touches on things that we merely brush off, such as the bombing of the church that resulted in the death of those 4 little girls. Very good book!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    wouldnt recommend it

    Book title: "The Watsons go to Birmingham"
    Author: Christopher Paul Curtis
    Title of review: Somewhat a good book
    Number of stars: 2/5
    I am reviewing the book of "The Watsons go to Birmingham". The book wasn't all that great in my opinion. The main characters are Byron and Kenny mostly. Byron has a reputation of beating kids up. At home back in Flint his mama calls him "Daddy Cool". Kenny's real name is Kenneth Watson. They move to Birmingham because of Byron's behavior, they went there during the segregation war.
    Byron is an all-round bully and troublemaker, Kenny on the other hand is a goodie goodie. Kenny has a wondering eye and gets made fun of. One day one kid toke Kenny's glove and so Byron tore that other kid up!
    I personally hated this book because; it doesn't bring you into the book really. It gets kind of boring in the end and they don't even go to Birmingham until more than half the book is over?! Anyways I also didn't like it because it keeps on saying stuff about the kids and all. I wouldn't really at all recommend this book to anyone, unless you like boring and ridiculous books about children being stupid and getting into trouble.
    Well that's my book review about this book. I really don't think you should read it; it will just be a waste of time and energy. If you want to you want even think they will be thinking about traveling to Alabama. It's pretty dumb, who tries to kiss themselves in a car mirror when its freezing cold outside?

    6 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Perfect

    Awesome book my fifth grade teacher is reading it and it is a perfect book LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Anonymous

    This book is well-educational for fifth to six grade. it goes back in time and teaches some of the darkest moments in America's history along with having funny plots and charavters on a journey from Flint Michigan to Birmingham Alabama. Very good READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    The watson's go to birmingham 1963

    I love the watson's go to birmingham 1963 because it is a good sized hilarious book if someone wanted me to recomend a book i would recomend this book because it is so hilarious my favorite part is when byron gets his lips frozen to the brown bomber i also like the part about byron deciding to secretly get a do , a conk , a butter , a process.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    A Boy Trying to Find His Way

    This is an inspiring story told by a young boy who is trying to make his way through life during a time of turmoil and discrimination in the United States. Despite everything that African Americans were going through at the time, Kenneth is always full of life and goes on through the everyday just like any nine year old boy. Then, during their family trip to Birmingham the world is awakened by the tragic bombing of a local Baptist church and Kenneth's life is changed forever. While this book does not have a lot of facts in it, it is a great personal testament to how the civil right movement changed the lives of many people, This book is great for young readers because they can relate to the things that Kenneth is going through. If you enjoyed this book you might also enjoy Bud Not Buddy, another book written by Mr. Curtis. You will find that they are written in the same manner which is always comforting for me. I love starting a book knowing that chances are I am going to love it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    Love it

    It is so cool and fascinating

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Read my reveiw

    First of all thank u for readiing this review. I have not finishedthis book yet my class is reading it and we just started this is a really funny read this book u wont regret it!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    The Watsons go to Birmingham ~1963~

    This is a great book it helps children such as my self learn about the civip rights act. It contain some cuse words but they arent to bad. Besides that it is funny, intertianing, helpful, and emotional. We read it in my class and there was some parts were my teacher couldnt read she was laughing so hard and others when it was hard for her to read because she was trying to keep from crying.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Good Childs veiw

    Its nice to see a book with a childs veiw of the world. Especially a kid from when Martin Luther King Jr was around. Kenny is a ten year old with a very naughty brother. Im reading this book in English class and we have only been reading for two weeks and have like ten pages left. Definetly try it out. {:

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Emily's review

    My class is reading it love the part where Byron gets his lips stuck to the mirror because he was kissing his refection. I'm also reading Elijah of buxton. So long but there both really good books

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Great memories of this book

    I read this book 8 years ago when I was in the 5th grade, I loved this book. It was great representation of how the Civil Rights Movement in 1964 and it is put in terms that an elementary schooler could understand easily. I loved this book so much!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    California Boy

    A great book that my 5th grade class has just finished. If you like humor and sadness, then you will definatly love the watsons go to bormingham-1963

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Awesome

    Love this book i like iy when bryon kisses the window and his lips got stoke its a great book my social studies teacher read it to the class it is amazing

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Great book

    A definet buy. Sad at end but still great!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Watsons

    Chuck noris read this and started crying this book is boss

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 523 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27