Customer Reviews for

The Watsons Go to Birmingham - 1963

Average Rating 4.5
( 546 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(349)

4 Star

(99)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

haluroius intense must read!!!!

this book was awesome intenseing too. but good my favorite part is when byron gets his lips stuck on the mirror and everyone is trying to get his lips off by hot watr NATRULE DISASTER LOL!!!! must read

posted by Anonymous on March 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

A Good Book, but Not a Must-Read

The Watsons Go to Birmingham 1963 was an enlightening and quick-paced story. Very inspirational, it shows the love of an African American family during a segregated period of time. It's a very nice book, although it wasn't amazing. The story in general wasn't very speci...
The Watsons Go to Birmingham 1963 was an enlightening and quick-paced story. Very inspirational, it shows the love of an African American family during a segregated period of time. It's a very nice book, although it wasn't amazing. The story in general wasn't very special. Really, I liked it but didn't love it. It just didn't captivate me the way some other books do. The story is based in Flint, Michigan in 1963. The main characters are Kenny, Byron, Joetta, and their parents. The main part of the story tells of adventures in their everyday lives from 10 year old Kenny's point of view. Byron is a bully at school, while Kenny is more of a goody-goody. When the Watsons decide to go to Birmingham, Alabama to visit Grandma, they're in for a wild ride. At this point in the story it really begins to heat up. However, when a tragedy occurs and threatens the well-being of their family, they must leave Alabama. The Watsons must pull together to get past what happened. Overall, this book was ok. It was a bit slow in the beginning, just because it took so long to get into the main plot of the story. It had some high points, very comedic incidents that happened before their trip-like Byron's lips getting stuck on the frosty mirror. In the same sense, it also had low points. Most of these, however, occurred in Birmingham with two horrific events that confused me a bit. In conclusion, I am neutral about this book. I didn't particularly like it, but I didn't dislike it. I wouldn't recommend it, but I wouldn't not recommend it, either. Christopher Paul Curtis did a good job with the character development, but he wasn't as strong with the story line. It was purely just a simple story. It is a quick read which I thoroughly enjoyed. The Watsons go to Birmingham 1963, for the most part, is a really good book.

posted by 4563361 on August 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    wouldnt recommend it

    Book title: "The Watsons go to Birmingham"
    Author: Christopher Paul Curtis
    Title of review: Somewhat a good book
    Number of stars: 2/5
    I am reviewing the book of "The Watsons go to Birmingham". The book wasn't all that great in my opinion. The main characters are Byron and Kenny mostly. Byron has a reputation of beating kids up. At home back in Flint his mama calls him "Daddy Cool". Kenny's real name is Kenneth Watson. They move to Birmingham because of Byron's behavior, they went there during the segregation war.
    Byron is an all-round bully and troublemaker, Kenny on the other hand is a goodie goodie. Kenny has a wondering eye and gets made fun of. One day one kid toke Kenny's glove and so Byron tore that other kid up!
    I personally hated this book because; it doesn't bring you into the book really. It gets kind of boring in the end and they don't even go to Birmingham until more than half the book is over?! Anyways I also didn't like it because it keeps on saying stuff about the kids and all. I wouldn't really at all recommend this book to anyone, unless you like boring and ridiculous books about children being stupid and getting into trouble.
    Well that's my book review about this book. I really don't think you should read it; it will just be a waste of time and energy. If you want to you want even think they will be thinking about traveling to Alabama. It's pretty dumb, who tries to kiss themselves in a car mirror when its freezing cold outside?

    7 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    The toad

    Xgggfhdhyhdefytctdhfjfhfhfhfjfjfutvifhft iegflftbhfkctvljdhfjdjfsyvgtuedfheygkfhggdjgahghhggixhfyfygtdgbcjhdfjhvhahdgjfmm

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Eh

    I read the sample and I couldn't even read the whole thing cuz I lost track of what was going on.
    Confusing!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    It was ok...

    An interesting, yet not quite drawing read. This book is at an easy reading lexile.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    The Watsons go to Birmingham

    The basic characters are Kenny and Byron and Byron is bad and ha has to go to Grandma Sands and stay for the summer because he was bad and bosses Kenny around. The setting was in Flint, Michigan in 1963. The funniest thing was when Byron kissed the car mirror and got his lips stuck to the mirror because it was cold. The boring part of it was when they were talking. I would not recommend this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    The Watsons go to Birmingham Book Review.

    For class, I read the grammatically-illiterate book 'The Watson's go to Birmingham'. Overall, this is a quite boring to book to read, about the daily life of an African American family living in Flint, Michigan.
    The book includes little short stories of the Watson's daily lives in the first person perspective of Kenny, the middle child of the family of three. These short stories often include episodes of Kenny getting bullied or harassed by his older brother, Byron, and Byron getting in trouble, that leads to the climax of the story. Eventually, Byron pushes his limits with his mother and father, and they send him to live with his grandmother for the summer is Alabama.
    The conclusion of this summary is that this book is not worth the read. The improper grammar mistakes make it hard to read and it's almost as if it's trying to hard to be funny, even though it is not meant to be a funny book and is supposed to look at the facts of time during the Civil Rights, which I feel is unaccomplished. I do not think this book is not appropriate for children the age of ten. Things in here are bothering; when the mother tries to burn Byron's fingers, the personification of the 'Wool Pool' or whirlpool, and the bombing of the church and Kenny seeing a dead girl which he thought was his sister among other things.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    Read if you want!

    The author Christopher Paul Curtis is an enthused writer. He grew up with a family of book lovers. At first he didn't realize that he wanted to write but during a summer job he started writing in his free time. He decided to go to college part time but also to write part time. Christopher did not write all the time after college he had a family and could not afford to spend free time writing. In 1993 he had a chance to see what he could do as a writer. He took year and a half writing and was encouraged by his wife, Kaysandra. He took this time to write The Watsons Go to Birmingham- 1963. In the book there are two main characters, Byron and Kenneth. They are brothers and have many conflicts. Byron is the tough guy that everyone is afraid of while Kenneth is the scrawny kid who is alone and gets picked on. They are very different but similar in different ways. Byron's best friend is Buphead. They pretty much do everything together, but when Byron can't stop misbehaving the family is forced to go down south hoping that Byron will straighten up. While there they live with their grandma and have many things to do. Their life is very different in the south. This book may catch some people's eye, but it may bore others. I personally did not enjoy The Watsons Go to Birmingham- 1963.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    The Watsons Go To Birmingham 1963

    This book review is on the story "The Watsons Go to Birmingham 1963". It is a good book in my opinion. It is kinda funny, but can also be serious at the same time. I like the characters in this book. They consist of the main character Kenny, the shy, smart and bullied little brother. Then there's Byron the big bully for a brother and he's also like the king of the school. There's Joey, the angel for a little sister. Then there's the parents Daniel the dad and Lona the mom.
    Turns out that Mom and Dad are going to send Byron to Grandma Sands because he can't behave. Some of my favorite parts of this book are when Byron gets his lips stuck on the car mirror and when there is a giant snow storm. I would suggest this book to who ever like's good books, you want regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2004

    Could have been great--except for the language

    I appreciate the author's intention of teaching young people about an important part of our history. However, the characters, though believable, were nothing less than crude and disrespectful. As a parent of a 6th grader who was required to read this book, I was very disappointed in the blatant use of swear words, terms of diety, and general crudeness. I'm afraid that what stands out more than the good story is the poor behavior of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2004

    David's Review

    I thought the book wasn't that good, not one of the best book's i've ever read. It didn't really intrest me. But my favorite character was Byron beacause he always got into trouble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2002

    Great Class Book

    I really enjoyed this book. I think it had good humor and awesome imagery. I felt that I was with Kenny at Collier's Landing, driving with them in the Brown Bomber, and also with them at the church. It's a MUST read and a page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2001

    The Watson's

    I hated the book.... it dragged on and there was no humor to it AT ALL!!! I was waiting for something to happen that was interesting but, nothing happened!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1