Customer Reviews for

The Watsons Go to Birmingham - 1963

Average Rating 4.5
( 541 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(345)

4 Star

(98)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

haluroius intense must read!!!!

this book was awesome intenseing too. but good my favorite part is when byron gets his lips stuck on the mirror and everyone is trying to get his lips off by hot watr NATRULE DISASTER LOL!!!! must read

posted by Anonymous on March 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

A Good Book, but Not a Must-Read

The Watsons Go to Birmingham 1963 was an enlightening and quick-paced story. Very inspirational, it shows the love of an African American family during a segregated period of time. It's a very nice book, although it wasn't amazing. The story in general wasn't very speci...
The Watsons Go to Birmingham 1963 was an enlightening and quick-paced story. Very inspirational, it shows the love of an African American family during a segregated period of time. It's a very nice book, although it wasn't amazing. The story in general wasn't very special. Really, I liked it but didn't love it. It just didn't captivate me the way some other books do. The story is based in Flint, Michigan in 1963. The main characters are Kenny, Byron, Joetta, and their parents. The main part of the story tells of adventures in their everyday lives from 10 year old Kenny's point of view. Byron is a bully at school, while Kenny is more of a goody-goody. When the Watsons decide to go to Birmingham, Alabama to visit Grandma, they're in for a wild ride. At this point in the story it really begins to heat up. However, when a tragedy occurs and threatens the well-being of their family, they must leave Alabama. The Watsons must pull together to get past what happened. Overall, this book was ok. It was a bit slow in the beginning, just because it took so long to get into the main plot of the story. It had some high points, very comedic incidents that happened before their trip-like Byron's lips getting stuck on the frosty mirror. In the same sense, it also had low points. Most of these, however, occurred in Birmingham with two horrific events that confused me a bit. In conclusion, I am neutral about this book. I didn't particularly like it, but I didn't dislike it. I wouldn't recommend it, but I wouldn't not recommend it, either. Christopher Paul Curtis did a good job with the character development, but he wasn't as strong with the story line. It was purely just a simple story. It is a quick read which I thoroughly enjoyed. The Watsons go to Birmingham 1963, for the most part, is a really good book.

posted by 4563361 on August 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    A Good Book, but Not a Must-Read

    The Watsons Go to Birmingham 1963 was an enlightening and quick-paced story. Very inspirational, it shows the love of an African American family during a segregated period of time. It's a very nice book, although it wasn't amazing. The story in general wasn't very special. Really, I liked it but didn't love it. It just didn't captivate me the way some other books do. The story is based in Flint, Michigan in 1963. The main characters are Kenny, Byron, Joetta, and their parents. The main part of the story tells of adventures in their everyday lives from 10 year old Kenny's point of view. Byron is a bully at school, while Kenny is more of a goody-goody. When the Watsons decide to go to Birmingham, Alabama to visit Grandma, they're in for a wild ride. At this point in the story it really begins to heat up. However, when a tragedy occurs and threatens the well-being of their family, they must leave Alabama. The Watsons must pull together to get past what happened. Overall, this book was ok. It was a bit slow in the beginning, just because it took so long to get into the main plot of the story. It had some high points, very comedic incidents that happened before their trip-like Byron's lips getting stuck on the frosty mirror. In the same sense, it also had low points. Most of these, however, occurred in Birmingham with two horrific events that confused me a bit. In conclusion, I am neutral about this book. I didn't particularly like it, but I didn't dislike it. I wouldn't recommend it, but I wouldn't not recommend it, either. Christopher Paul Curtis did a good job with the character development, but he wasn't as strong with the story line. It was purely just a simple story. It is a quick read which I thoroughly enjoyed. The Watsons go to Birmingham 1963, for the most part, is a really good book.

    21 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    It is A Good book

    At the begging of the story the Watson's are in Detroit the power was out an they had no heat.
    The main point of the story is the the family goes to Birmingham, Alambama an they have to deal with a lot of racial issues.
    This book can teach a lot of people a lesson on not to be a racial person. I personily thought that it was a very good book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    N

    N

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    The Watsons Go to Birmingham-1963 is a good book by Christopher

    The Watsons Go to Birmingham-1963 is a good book by Christopher Paul Curtis. The story tells about a middle class family in Flint. They go through the up and downs like any other family but they are mainly caused by Byron which leads the family to Birmingham, Alabama. I kind of connected to the book and the characters because of certain events that occurred. The book wasn't challenging but I recommend this book to an elementary student because of the wording that is used. The things I like about the book is that the characters estimated my household which really gets me into the story right away and I like how the settings made the communities seem nice because of the people involved. I also like how the father always tried to see his family happy.
    The things I dislike about this book are that I wish that the author wouldn’t go to one topic and continue on with another. It got confusing during my reading. Other than that the book was good. I find the Weird Watsons to be an interesting family though I didn’t find the family weird at all. I think that the text was really clear to understand. If the Watsons go anywhere else I would be glad to read about it, who knows they might go to New York or even better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2014

    Havent Read Yet

    I havent read the book yet but Im really excited to. I am wondering though of this is a true story or not because I dont believe it is... once I finish the book I will rate it properly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Its Meh

    Gets boring after a while book goes no where talks about individual things not a continuous story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Daeja

    I dont like this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    IT WAS AN OK BOOK BUT SAD BECAUSE CHILDS DIE:]

    IT WAS AN OK BOOK BUT SAD BECAUSE CHILDS DIE:]

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Awesome!

    Awesome!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Amazing book

    I heard of this book at my school

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cute but not all that great

    I read this book as a requirement for a Children's Literature class and it was not my favorite. I mean obviously it's a children's novel, I'm not a part of the target audience, but I think the author underestimates the reading level of his target group. This book is obviously intended for 5th or higher as the content is rather mature, but the reading level is quite low. In the end, I won't be using this book in my classroom to teach about civil rights.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Evocative historical fiction

    Important story about family and the Civil Rights movement

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    the watsons go to Birmingham

    This Book is called the Watsons go to Birmingham. The main character is Kenny. There are also a lot of high points in this book like when Bryon gets a funny hair due and his parents make him cut it off and the hair cut is called a conk. Bryon is the mean one out of the family he always is mean to Kenny and doubts him. Bryon is in the eighth grade and Kenny is in the fourth grade. The two kids always fight and argue. Now on the other hand, Kenny is the nice, smart kid. But Kenny always gets in trouble because his brother Bryon blames everything on him. They also go to the same school together.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    the watsons go to birmingham

    The Watson's go to Birmingham is about a family who make's a trip to Birmingham Alabama. It's about a family who has trouble with the oldest child, Byron. With the other two kids Kenny his little brother and Joey his little sister. When the have had enough of Byron's attitude they decide to make a trip to Birmingham hoping to scare Byron. While in the trip down there they relieve how strong of a family they are. Once there their mother is reunited with her family. While there they find out some unexpected surprise along the way.
    This book is about life lesson on how you should be close with your family. It shows how closeness it very important. Even know this book is fiction it takes place an important time in history during the civil rights movement. I recommend this for anyone of an age.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    The Good and The Bad

    THE GOOD AND BAD!
    Three kids Byron, Joetta, and Kenny got to Birmingham, Alabama to escape the cold and to visit there grandma. The year is 1963 and it is during the segregation period. You will experience a trip of excitement and boredom. Such as a boring part is the beginning. But that is all books for you.
    The main point if the book is to explain a family of African-Americans that live in a horrible time period. Also leaving Michigan their home and their friends. But my main point is that it repeats the same line over and over. But they gave really good description of the characters and the setting plus the events. But most of it was plain.
    The best way to evaluate this book is that it has different likes and dislikes. My likes are how good some parts are. But my dislikes are that the parts at the end stink. To me that is the best way to evaluate this book. Others might do it as a hilarious book or a horrible book. But it's all about your opinion.
    For my conclusion this book could you some work. Such as even though you want to seem like you're sitting with the person and hearing their grammar and the way they talked. Some people like that but I don't. But what I do like is that it gave off good descriptions. This is what I think is the good stuff and bad stuff in my opinion.
    For my finale review I would like to say that this book is what history was like in 1963. So yeah stuff the Watsons did maybe wasn't true but you will be surprised to read a kind of good book. If you want to give it a try go ahead and try it. But good luck and give it a better review then me. That's my finale review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    Read!! :D

    Kenny and Byron are brothers and they don't get along. Byron is the oldest and is always mean to Kenny and Kenny hates it. Kenny is 10 years old. Byron is very bad. One day Byron put chemicals in his head and his mom almost burned his finger but his sister Joetta kept blowing the match out till there was no more. When the dad came home he cut all Byron's hair off and told him that he was going to stay in Birmingham for a whole year. Then they have a little road trip. While up there Byron changes a lot. He gets nicer and more responsible. Then days later Kenny is tired so tired he goes to sleep under tree and hears this big boom. He sees Byron run out of the house with no shoes and only with his pajamas to the church to go get Joey. They thought she was in the church; turns out, she really wasn't. Then, Kenny gets sucked underneath the water by the 'Wool Pooh.' When they met grandma Sands they thought she would be small, ugly, and horrible. Turns out they really do like her. In the end, everything turned out for the better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    The Watson's Go To Birminghm

    I just finished reading The Watson's Go to Birmingham and my teacher wanted the whole class to write a book review on the book. At first I thought that it was going to be a "fun" experience, but it turned out to be a pretty decent book. When you first start reading the story you find yourself at the point of view of a ten year old boy with the name Kenny. Kenny is a smart kid who gets picked on and has some rough times at school. He also as a trouble making brother named Byron and a sweet little angel of a sister named Joey. They all go through some crazy and rough times throughout the story. There are some times when reading the book you may relate to it and it reminded me of some things that have happened to me so I felt that I had a good connection to the book. I think that this book is good and anyone would read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    the watsons go to birmingham

    Title: The Watsons Go To Birmingham
    Author: Christopher Paul Curtis
    Illustrator: Mavournea Hay and Sam Dudgeon
    Genre: historical fiction
    Age Range: For all ages older than 10
    Awards: Newbery Honor
    I give this book 3 stars.

    I thought the book the Watsons go to Birmingham was a good book. I liked the part where Byron got stuck on the mirror. I feel the book had some really funny moments in it. I would recommend it to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    THE WATSONS GO TO BIRMINGHAM: FRESH!

    Rating: 61%

    An interesting summer read, The Watsons Go to Birmingham 1963 is an excellent book that teaches the civil rights movement in a new, exciting way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2009

    It was ok............

    I was required to read this book for school one summer & it was pretty good. It wasn't exactly a fun read , but it wasnt horrible either. It was in the middle. I liked the main character. He seemed real & it was easy to relate to his emotions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3