BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Wave

Average Rating 3.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

How someone could survive such a tragedy and put it into words i

How someone could survive such a tragedy and put it into words is unimaginable. 

posted by AnneeZ on March 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

The tsunami of 2004 in Asia was something no one was expecting a

The tsunami of 2004 in Asia was something no one was expecting and a disaster no one will forget. I cannot imagine loosing my family
and being the only surviver. This story was not very organized. Deraniyagala thoughts were all over the place. I can see where Deranlyagl...
The tsunami of 2004 in Asia was something no one was expecting and a disaster no one will forget. I cannot imagine loosing my family
and being the only surviver. This story was not very organized. Deraniyagala thoughts were all over the place. I can see where Deranlyagla
was just writing in  journal to express her feelings but before publishing this memoir the editor of the book should have organized the thoughts
a little bit better. 

posted by afton1 on March 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    The tsunami of 2004 in Asia was something no one was expecting a

    The tsunami of 2004 in Asia was something no one was expecting and a disaster no one will forget. I cannot imagine loosing my family
    and being the only surviver. This story was not very organized. Deraniyagala thoughts were all over the place. I can see where Deranlyagla
    was just writing in  journal to express her feelings but before publishing this memoir the editor of the book should have organized the thoughts
    a little bit better. 

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    How someone could survive such a tragedy and put it into words i

    How someone could survive such a tragedy and put it into words is unimaginable. 

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    So disappointing!

    I could not wait to read this book! The free sample had me hooked, however after the tsunami came through in this book, the rest of the writing was lackluster at best. Basically we took the looong journey through her grief with her. The writing was bland and to be honest i was so bored i did not eveb finish the book, stopping instead on page 116.
    I feel for the author having gone through such a devastating event and loss. I hope she is able to heal a little more each and every day. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us, it jyst was not a book that worked for me.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Amazing

    Im honestly schocked about how well shes recounted the events before during and after the tsunami. A very good read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Breathtaking

    I found Sonali's story breathtaking ib its honesty about the difficulty of being left behind. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Devastating

    This is ome of the most devastating and important books I have read in ages. Even prompted me to post a review, my first. The writing is exceptional and transports the reader into the pages. You are there with her as she rushes from the wave, you cringe as she races past her parents door without warning them of the danger ahead, there as she clings for life then desperately wanrs no part of it. It's incredibly sad and incredibly remarkable. The author describes every part of her life after losing her precious family. Her strength is astonishing and no doubt stems from the spirit of her family which she carefully and completely wraps herself in.
    Reminicent if Didion but entirely unique and special and raw.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    This book was somewhat interesting but I did not expect it to be

    This book was somewhat interesting but I did not expect it to be so much a study of the author's grief. I had hoped that it would be more focused on the disaster. And, I agree with the reviewer who said that the author's writing was a bit disorganized. As people traverse tragedy and loss, they are often encouraged to write a journal. Usually those journals are a path to recovery but they remain private. This would have been good therapy but I'm not sure it was a potentially great book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Terrible

    The only reason why i gave this book a star is because of the first 20 pages or so. After the wave hit, it was an endless rant id depression... which literally, not figuratively, put me to sleep. I had to completely force myself to read this.book for it was for a project and i didnt have time to start a new one. Do not reccomend at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Heartbreaking

    Heartbreaking but liked it. Seemed a bit repetitive though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

     Not what you expect but better! Reading the back cover of Wave

     Not what you expect but better!
    Reading the back cover of Wave you can clearly tell what it's about. It's a memoir from a survivor of the 2004 tsunami in Sri Lanka. You would expect it to be just that, a detailed account of what happened that day but as you read it you come to find out that there is so much more depth to her story. Sonali writes almost is a poetic way, explaining her emotions throughout the various situations she is put in. In the book she loses her entire family to the wave; her husband, her two sons, and her parents. You can tell throughout the story that she is going through many different emotions all at the same time. She keeps with a consistent theme of grief and the different stages she experiences. “..I lapse into thinking that nothing has changed, no one has died....The I have to remind myself. That life is over”  Some people would probably say that this seems disorganized and that here thinking was scattered but I think that it was actually written in that way in order to convey her exact thoughts to the audience. Although the book is rich in emotional testimony it is also full of adventure. You almost feel like you are there with her as the tsunami surges toward the hotel her and her family are vacationing at.”I’d never seen him like that before. A sudden look of terror....He saw something behind me that I couldn’t see, I didn't have time to turn around..” Sonali does an amazing job of telling it like is and at the same time not leaving an detail out of her story. I would recommend this book to pretty much anybody. Don’t expect it to be some happy fairy tale like the interpretation of the tsunami in hollywood;  but expect a rollercoaster ride that will take you into the mind of someone who has witnessed the horror of one of the most tragic events in modern history. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Osam gavin Osam gavin

    Cool

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    JASON!!!!

    Fire res 4 is our new cabin!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    This book is a raw and unflinching glimpse into the pain that So

    This book is a raw and unflinching glimpse into the pain that Sonali endured for right after and for many years after the devastation of losing her family.  She is a beautiful and gifted writer.  She made us all look at how we handle grief.  We must not hide from it.  We must face it head on if we are to overcome the pain and remember the good that was once our loved one.  She is truly an inspiration! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    So beautifully sad

    This tale of disaster and a survivor's ensuing grief is a multi layered success. Each word is chosen with care, and the tiny things we all take for granted are magnified with every page. I love the writing style. Once she describes a tiny leaf found on some sporting equipment of her sons with such beauty I was truly moved. If you want a book that walks you through unspeakable emotion, the darkness and the coming of the light, this is wonderful. For those wanting a gratuitous telling of corpses and bodies get another book. And before you judge this woman who was in total shock for months after the wave, think that there are many ways to express grief. This book is a masreful retelling of the rare unspeakable sadness most of us would never be able to endure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    The author had a distaste for humanity to the point of being di

    The author had a distaste for humanity to the point of being disturbing. I had no empathy for her because she was cruel to the others who had also lost in this tragedy. She was about as useful as a hole in a boat to the other victims who were trying to be useful and help anyone until they found their loved ones.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Id like for u to help mistclan

    We r at four winds all res. Go there and talk to midnightfang and co.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Survivor's Story

    Deraniyagala (I so admire the reader of this book, who was able to easily roll that name off her tongue) went through a catastrophe of epic proportions (the tsunami), lost everything, and worked her way back to life and presumably good mental health over the next decade. Rarely do you get a firsthand glimpse into an experience such as this, and it is frightening. Disasters happen on a large scale pretty regularly, and personal losses also occur pretty regularly, but this woman experienced both at the same time. Even having read the book, I can't imagine the scope of her pain. She is a good writer, and brings the reader along with her through it all, with enough detail to make you feel what she felt, albeit to a much lesser degree. There were times that she didn't like herself very much, and I didn't like her very much during those times either. It is a story of one person's experience, it's a memorial to those she lost, and it's bare-naked grieving that most readers never have and hopefully never will go through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Hawkfyre

    Hello.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Leopardstar

    Leopardstar.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2