Customer Reviews for

The Wave

Average Rating 4.5
( 140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Be an individual!!

A fictionalized account of real life events.

A high school teacher dismayed by his students laid back, disinterest to his lesson about Hitler and the Holocaust decides to try an experiment.

What if, a society could be invented, stressing group conformity vs. indi...
A fictionalized account of real life events.

A high school teacher dismayed by his students laid back, disinterest to his lesson about Hitler and the Holocaust decides to try an experiment.

What if, a society could be invented, stressing group conformity vs. individual thought; social equality for all members; and rigid adherence to discipline? And so began the Wave.

At first all seemed well. More attentive students, more material covered, increased group and individual pride and most of all a sense of belonging. Sounds good, huh? But at what cost?

If in fact I did not know that this in fact DID happen (Ron Jones 1967), with disastrous results I would not have believed it still possible. However, such groups offer some gains, but can also invite mindless conformity, violence and even mob rule.

Hopefully this book helps teach a very important lesson to us all. Be yourself, whatever that may be. And even more importantly, think for yourself. We'll all be better off if you do!

posted by iluvvideo on August 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ewwww!!!

I had to read this book for school beacuse it was part of an assignment. At first I thought it would be a fun book to read and it sounded interesting. Then when I finished the book i was so dissapointed. It was a total waste of time. The Wave was a dumb experiment that ...
I had to read this book for school beacuse it was part of an assignment. At first I thought it would be a fun book to read and it sounded interesting. Then when I finished the book i was so dissapointed. It was a total waste of time. The Wave was a dumb experiment that these immature students took way too seriously. I understand that this is based on a true story but it seems so unrealistic. The characters seem so gullible an codependent. It was as if the needed the Wave to survive and they couldnt think or do anything for themselves. Over all, I think that the author could have done a better job. THIS BOOK SUCKED!!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on February 23, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Be an individual!!

    A fictionalized account of real life events.

    A high school teacher dismayed by his students laid back, disinterest to his lesson about Hitler and the Holocaust decides to try an experiment.

    What if, a society could be invented, stressing group conformity vs. individual thought; social equality for all members; and rigid adherence to discipline? And so began the Wave.

    At first all seemed well. More attentive students, more material covered, increased group and individual pride and most of all a sense of belonging. Sounds good, huh? But at what cost?

    If in fact I did not know that this in fact DID happen (Ron Jones 1967), with disastrous results I would not have believed it still possible. However, such groups offer some gains, but can also invite mindless conformity, violence and even mob rule.

    Hopefully this book helps teach a very important lesson to us all. Be yourself, whatever that may be. And even more importantly, think for yourself. We'll all be better off if you do!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enlightening for grown-ups too

    This book was assigned to my daughter for 7th Grade English and I was intrigued by its concept, so decided to read it. I have no regrets.
    It is undoubtedly young reader fare, but that just makes it a quick read for grown-ups. It does not in any devalue the story contained therein.

    This is a lesson that adults should read as well, particularly those who blindly follow a person or an ideology without considering whether he/it is right for them or supports their values.

    Sometimes the simplest parable is the most powerful lesson of all.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    Good read, short but fun.

    I liked this novel. It caught my interest early and if you like a book that requires a familiarity with history, this is a good book. I'd recommend this book for any of my friends.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    The book "The Wave" is an intriguing book to read at a

    The book "The Wave" is an intriguing book to read at all ages. Mr. Ross is the senior's class history teacher trying to teach a lesson about the Holocaust and Germany. The students are uninterested in the class but Mr. Ross comes up with a solution. He creates a experiment called The Wave. He puts them through what the young Nazi's training. Soon after the start of the experiment the whole school hears about it and it gathers momentum. Only few students see how The Wave is turning out to be like Germany. Can they stop it in time?


    All in all I really enjoyed the book. It kept me wondering through out the book. It shows an important message about being yourself and think for yourself. - AshleyAE15

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2014

    My thoughts on The Wave: I thought The Wave was a good book but

    My thoughts on The Wave: I thought The Wave was a good book but the beginning was confusing you just have to keep reading. After a few chapters it gets easer to understand. This book has a great description on the characters and the setting. There was only on bad part in this book, it was how much action there is, I didn’t think there was enough action in this book because there wasn’t any major fights or disruptions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Very good story!

    I give the story and message a 5! The book was good, but it could have been written better. The language seemed like a fifth grade reading level, and i read this book for a tenth grade history class. Also, it was kinda predictable, especily towards the end. The book as a whole was good because of the strong storyline, message, and charactors; it just could have been written better. I would recommend this to someone as a good read, not just for school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    R

    R

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    a must read for all teenagers.

    have you ever wondered how your school would be if it turned its thinking the way adolf hilter did to the jews. well mr ross taught the students the hilter way of thinking. this lead to the effect that adolf hilter had on all of his soldiers. giving the student body the knowledge of how he really got his regime to follow him and his ways. middle school students and up will enjoy this book if you like history about WW2 and the rise and fall of the nazis and the jews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2007

    A 8th graders piont of view

    This book is good book witch i read in a Social studies class it was inpored my class on the holicost. It was a new learning experiance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    I read this book last year after I saw the movie two years ago. When I was younger I didn't understand the holocaust. I knew millions of my people were killed due to a single man. But I didn't understand - how could one man be responsible for millions of deaths? This book taught me how...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2006

    Really cheesy but still good.

    Even though this book was really short I learned a lot because I knew nothing about the Wave before I read this. I didn't understand what time period it was supposed to be in though. Present day or 1969? It seemed more like 1969 the way the characters talked and acted. The book was really cheesy but by the fifth chapter when I got into it I didn't notice it as much. The book would have been better if the back didn't tell you about David being against the Wave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    Great!

    I thought that the book was really good. I had to read it for a summer reading program. I knew all about the hollicaust and everything since i was younger. It is interesting to find out new things in this book. I had no idea that the book was based on a true story. I really enjoyed reading it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2005

    The ............................... read this and you will know ......................

    i like the wave book so far even tho i am only on Chapter 9 so if you get a chance you should read this book it is really goood you'll like it trust me some one lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2004

    The Wave

    This was an amazing book. I thought it was well written and very interesting. It was so hard to picture that all this really happened to a school in California or any where! It is about a teacher who wants to try an experiment with his class after watching a movie on Hitler and World WarII. This experiment turns into a whole school thing and gets out of control. Some way the teacher has to stop what he started. But is it to late? I recomend this book to many people who like a good book and enjoy reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2004

    Important book

    It makes you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2004

    very good

    this experiment explains how people during the holocoust never tried to stop the nazis. the book is very good and if it very supensful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2004

    To Good To Be True

    This book was great. I can't belive it based on a true story. I'm shocked. We read it in 8 grade English. We had a great time reading it. You could also find a short play on it. We did that. It really helped us actually experience what the charcters went through. The ending could have been a little better though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2004

    Awesome Bro!!!

    This book is absolutely one of the best I have ever read. The story is perfect, and very addicting. The ending in this story is a little lame, but overall it's a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2004

    Addicting

    The Wave is a very good, very addicting book. It was assigned to my 8th grade English class and I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2003

    Awesome and different

    This book is great for kids in middleschool or highschool. It is alot different than most books I have ever read. And the fact that its a true story really made it more entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3