BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Way I See It, Revised and Expanded 2nd Edition: A Personal Look at Autism and Asperger's

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 21, 2009

    A must read

    Being a teacher for 5 autistic children I have found Dr. Grandin's book to be a godsend. Getting a first hand perspective from inside the world of autism has been invaluable!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    Excellent Information - all in one place

    I am a mother with VERY limited time to read. I found this book so helpful in dealing with everyday issues. I like having Dr Grandin's thoughts on a variety of topics, not just one. She is so knowledgeable in her field!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    I am a mother of two mildly autistic children that are recovery unbelievably. I recommend this book for any and all. I am actually purchasing it as an end of the year gift for the teachers that help my children. A must read layman's term tool.

    See heading

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Must read if you have autistic children

    I have a child with high functioning autism and Temple Grandin's book provided his point of view. My husband and I have often said we wish we could spend a day in my son's world to understand how he feels. We feel this book was as close as we will ever get! After reading this book i watched her TedTalk on youtube which was great. TEMPLE IS MY HERO!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    I have autism pdd nos

    Love is the cure

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    100 Stars!!!!!

    THIS IS A GREAT BOOK!!!
    A MUST GET!!

    Locke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Excellent and informative!

    Excellent and informative.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    Must read book about Asperger's

    Has so much insight in this disease for parents, grandparents and even the child. Easy to read and understand even the technical portions of the book. Chapters are titled to make it easy to refer to individual subjects. It gives hope to everyone involved with Autism.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    Great Tips/Insight for Parents of Children with ASD

    As a father of a child with ASD/AS, it would be inevitable that I would find this book useful - and I did. I have read her two most famous books - Thinking in Pictures and Emergence, which I rated high, and which complemented each other, telling us the Temple Grandin story. This book isn't like that - it is essentially a re-edited compilation of articles that she wrote over 8 years for a leading ASD/AS magazine.

    This format slightly takes the publishing sheen off the book - there is some repetition (which would not have been evident in the individual articles), and the organization of the articles are commendable, but not perfect.

    Having said this, there is a LOT of good stuff in the book, of a practical, common sense nature - particularly for parents with young children. This is not a book for adults with ASD/AS (there are only a few pages devoted to college/workforce aged people).

    I certainly would recommend this book to parents with young children in the spectrum.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    This book is a compilation of articles and excerpts written by Temple Grandin about her own experiences with Autism, as well as her insight into helping young children and adults who have Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD). Even though this book contains no new works from Grandin, it is a very well organized summation of her writings, speeches, and interviews throughout the years, categorized into an easy quick reference format.

    Chapter 2 is titled "Teaching and Education" and is full of useful information for teachers who have children in their classroom with ASD. Grandin goes into great detail discussing the importance of developing a child's talent. She says that educators can identify a child's particular talent or ability and connect other academic and social skills with that child's particular interest or talent. Other passages in this book relate to motivating children with ASD, and even how video games and other obsessions can be a tool for learning.

    This book is full of practical information and techniques teachers can use in their classroom and I would recommend this book to not only families with children on the Autism Spectrum, but to all educators from the elementary level up to the collegiate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2014

    Extremely good read

    This is a very informative book and easy to read. As a parent of a child with Autism, I found it very helpful in dealing with a lot of the issues my child experiences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Temple granden

    That book is amasing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Fascinating!

    Am listening to the book & finding it fascinating. I can see why a friend of mine who has heard Temple Grandin speak recommended it so highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Cannot recommend

    I am unable to review this book since I have not received it. After I ordered it to be sent to my home (the physical book), I learned that somehow it was put into a Nook account. I do not have a Nook account since I do not have a Nook. I managed to cancel this order, I think. I spoke with "Em" at BN, who could not speak good English but who I think understood me when I canceled my order, however, it has yet to be credited to my VISA. What a nightmare. I've been with BN for a very long time. This is the first time I have ever experienced this kind of problem. I still would like to have the book, physically, not electronicly, but I'm afraid to ask. Dealing with BN over the phone is something I shall never depend on again. Sorry! Respectfully, Weesie, Membership #5004404383

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Youtube

    I have a youtube vhannel called nintendoguy45 saya hi. I have autism as well. Wanna learn mpre vosit my chanmel

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2