BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Way We Fall (Fallen World Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Live To Read

This book has to be one of the best dystopians of 2012. The author writes in such a way that allows the reader to fully immerse him/herself into the novel. The reader will love the main character, Kaelyn, for her intelligence and willingness to help others. Kaelyn's ...
This book has to be one of the best dystopians of 2012. The author writes in such a way that allows the reader to fully immerse him/herself into the novel. The reader will love the main character, Kaelyn, for her intelligence and willingness to help others. Kaelyn's world is turned upside down in the space of one week. A mysterious virus sweeps through her small island town and begins to pick off the residents one by one. The environment created by the author feels so real that the reader will be able to picture all of the events and characters and really connect with them.

Kaelyn is amazingly resilient. Her characters endures so much loss in the novel, but she still comes up fighting. The other characters the reader meets will intrigue him/her. The author has a way of making the reader miss the characters who don't make it to the end, a rare quality. The love interest, Gav, is brave and a survivalist, the reader will enjoy meeting him and getting to know him through Kaelyn. Kaelyn's family is complex and will feel like the readers' family not long after the reader picks up the book. Her brother and father butt heads over a few issues, Kaelyn's mother loves her children to a fault, and Kaelyn's uncle and cousin are special to them all. If the author did not create such dynamic and likable characters, this story would not be as fantastic as it is.

The book is only about 304 pages long, but the reader will want the book to be far longer. There is an unbelievable amount of action, suspense, and romance packed into these pages. The characters are a delight to read about, the reader will actually care what happens to them in the novel. The author keeps the novel within the realms of realism, the reader will not be rolling his/her eyes over the plot and events in this book. This book is highly recommended to young adult/teen readers.

posted by Icecream18JA on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The story was anti-climatic. I bought the book because it was o

The story was anti-climatic. I bought the book because it was one of those "If you like The Hunger Games, try this..."" First off, this book should not be compared to the Hunger Games AT ALL. The whole story was slow and nothing happened. People got s...
The story was anti-climatic. I bought the book because it was one of those "If you like The Hunger Games, try this..."" First off, this book should not be compared to the Hunger Games AT ALL. The whole story was slow and nothing happened. People got sick, and people started doing what any other society would do in a "Catastrophic" situation. The reason why I kept reading was that I was hoping somethin would happen, but of course nothing did. The story went no where and it was hard to get through because I kept falling asleep while reading. If you like The Hunger Games, don't read this book. If you like nonsense stories, well then, maybe this is for you.

posted by R_Zaksky on April 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Live To Read

    This book has to be one of the best dystopians of 2012. The author writes in such a way that allows the reader to fully immerse him/herself into the novel. The reader will love the main character, Kaelyn, for her intelligence and willingness to help others. Kaelyn's world is turned upside down in the space of one week. A mysterious virus sweeps through her small island town and begins to pick off the residents one by one. The environment created by the author feels so real that the reader will be able to picture all of the events and characters and really connect with them.

    Kaelyn is amazingly resilient. Her characters endures so much loss in the novel, but she still comes up fighting. The other characters the reader meets will intrigue him/her. The author has a way of making the reader miss the characters who don't make it to the end, a rare quality. The love interest, Gav, is brave and a survivalist, the reader will enjoy meeting him and getting to know him through Kaelyn. Kaelyn's family is complex and will feel like the readers' family not long after the reader picks up the book. Her brother and father butt heads over a few issues, Kaelyn's mother loves her children to a fault, and Kaelyn's uncle and cousin are special to them all. If the author did not create such dynamic and likable characters, this story would not be as fantastic as it is.

    The book is only about 304 pages long, but the reader will want the book to be far longer. There is an unbelievable amount of action, suspense, and romance packed into these pages. The characters are a delight to read about, the reader will actually care what happens to them in the novel. The author keeps the novel within the realms of realism, the reader will not be rolling his/her eyes over the plot and events in this book. This book is highly recommended to young adult/teen readers.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    MINDBLOWN. BEST BOOK EVER. OMG HELP ME. Sorry for this lame rev

    MINDBLOWN. BEST BOOK EVER. OMG HELP ME.

    Sorry for this lame review... i haven't reviewed for a couple months. maybe.

    NOTE: Might contain spoilers, read at your own risk.
    I may have not written all of the Good, Okay stuff but i hope this is good enough for a long review.

    The Good:

    The Virus
    There are a lot of fiction ideas of virus, this one is a part of the unique ones. I love how the Virus started to be just a tiny one that it can only make you have a fever. But somehow it evolved and can make you crazy! It's so unique and original!

    The Characters
    I love the characters! Tessa is so mysterious and clever, Kaelyn moves and thinks like a hero, Gav is nice and he's perfect for Kaelyn! Drew needs more info though. I don't know him that much. Once again, very nice characters!

    The Writing
    The writing is kinda confusing at first, but i love how it was written in Journal style. It's like you're actually reading Kaelyn's journal!

    The Mystery
    I like the mysteries because it will keep you wanting and looking for more info about the Virus, on when did Drew go or did he die? Or if he is with Leo on the ferry? and a lot of things! IT KEPT ME WANTING FOR MORE! I NEED THE SECOND BOOK!

    The Gang
    I love how Quentin and the other members left their original group with Gav. It just added more ideas and scenes and SUSPENSE! Like when they try to burn down houses, stealing and etc. More suspense, better book!

    EVERYTHING!

    The Okay:

    Meredith
    Meredith is cute, but sometimes she's very annoying like the part when in the middle of the night she wanted to get her stuffed toy that was left inside of Tessa's house while they moved to Kaelyn's uncle (which is Meredith's dad). I mean i know she's a child but there are more important things than a stuffed toy.. sigh..

    The Bad:
    There are only just little problems and it's not much of a big deal. So i think I'll just leave this part blank except about this excuse.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    The One that Makes You Paranoid but in a Good Way

    The Way We Fall is set in a society much like our own. Kaelyn lives on an island, goes to school, and has friend troubles just like any other sixteen-year-old girl. When she finally feels as if she should take control of her life, her world crumbles around her.
    A deadly virus begins to make its way through the households of her hometown, leaving them stranded and cut off from the rest of the world. People panic. Food runs short. Loved ones die.
    The Way We Fall is told through Kaelyn's journal entries to her friend. Every day is a new entry that is our only lifeline to her island. Kaelyn has to learn how to become the person that will survive. She fights for those she loves and overcomes the obstacles before her. Watching Kaelyn grow is heartbreaking and encouraging at the same time.
    Then we meet Gav. A former foe becomes the closest confidant, blossoming into a love that will bring tears to your eyes. Gav is a strong character that takes a stand and works to help all those in need, even if that means sacrificing himself. Gav and Kaelyn's relationship grows strong despite all odds. I loved watching them together, working, helping, and loving with wisdom beyond their age.
    Megan creates a terrifyingly real world, making you rethink everything you may know. The first book in a dystopian trilogy, Kaelyn's story will grip your heart and leave you begging for book two!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    The story was anti-climatic. I bought the book because it was o

    The story was anti-climatic. I bought the book because it was one of those "If you like The Hunger Games, try this..."" First off, this book should not be compared to the Hunger Games AT ALL. The whole story was slow and nothing happened. People got sick, and people started doing what any other society would do in a "Catastrophic" situation. The reason why I kept reading was that I was hoping somethin would happen, but of course nothing did. The story went no where and it was hard to get through because I kept falling asleep while reading. If you like The Hunger Games, don't read this book. If you like nonsense stories, well then, maybe this is for you.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Reas this

    No one listen to the people who said this book deserves one star. They have no since in books! Best book ever

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Mia baldwin Loser

    Thfddbfgfyj

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Disappointing, anticlimactic, bad cliffhanger

    *No spoilers*
    If youre thinking of getting this, but get frustrated easily when there is a lack of common sense, then this book is not for you. It also has a horrible cliff hanger ending that leaves nothing answered. It was like the author woke up one day and decided she didnt want to finish the story. I am shocked that other people rated this novel so high.

    *Spoiler Alert
    I really wanted to like this book. There where just too many issues I couldnt wrap my head around. #1 why couldn't the mainland send more supplies to the hospital if they were able to send in food? #2 what was the point of the gang hoarding supplies if just about everyone was dead? It never said what they were doing with it. In fact it said there was no way they could consume all the perishables. #3 Before the phone and internet went down, I would think people would have been spreading the news of what was going on. #4 How was the hospital always so busy if the illness was killing everyone so quickly? #5 If people wanted off the island why not use thr boats in the beginning before they got ruined? The list goes on and on. The part that I disliked the most was the character's attempted suicide. Come on! If you were one of the very few lucky immune people I would think you be grateful and honor those you lost and not just throw it all away. I was also uphappy with how her father died. It seemed like it was just thrown in there at the last minute.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Great book. Characters were amazing and the book was very compelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    Must check out

    This was a great book. Really made me think what if this happened to me and my community. Loved the end can't wait for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    As a librarian I get first dibs on new books that come into the

    As a librarian I get first dibs on new books that come into the library. And this was one of them!
    I first interloaned it and I loved it...then the library bought it and my friends all liked it. If you are a lover
    of dystopia books, then this should be on top of your lists to read!!

    Megan Crewe introduces us to Kaelyn a sixteen year old girl who's live is going just fine. Her mother and
    father love each other, her brother lives with her and everyone gets along just fine.

    Until someone coughs.

    Until someone sneezes.

    Until that someone is dead with an unknown virus that has now spread all over Kaelyn's town.
    And how does the government help out this small town with loved ones diying and neighbors killing each other?

    Shuts down the town, and has NO I repeat N-O contact with anybody in town. It's up to Kaelyn to
    help make sure her family doesn't get the virus and stay together.

    That's easier said then done.

    A great book that I would actually like to see as a movie....as long as they go along
    with the book I think I would enjoy seeing it. Can't wait to read the second one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Anwser

    Nm u

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    Loved It!! My Opinion:  I wasn't sure I was going to like this b

    Loved It!!
    My Opinion:  I wasn't sure I was going to like this book when I found out it was told in the form of journal entries, but I was very pleasantly surprised! The girl telling the story is a 16 year old named Kaelyn who is writing to her estranged best friend, Leo, telling him all about the troubles on their island.  People are getting sick and acting crazy as an unidentified virus spreads from person to person, eventually killing most of the townspeople. The islanders turn to the Canadian government for help but instead of salvation they find themselves quarantined. As supplies start to run out, Kaelyn and some of the other young adults who have survived thus far team together to help out in whatever way they can.




    When the story starts, Kaelyn is a very shy girl who is more comfortable burying her head in the sand than confronting problems head on, but she decides that she doesn't want to be this way anymore, and in order to change she needs to put herself out there and risk getting hurt. Talk about character growth! We see Kaelyn evolve from a scared little girl to a more confident young woman over the course of her story.  She even manages to find romance during this awful time, with the scrumptious Gav, and enters into a tenuous friendship with Tessa, who she considers a rival for Leo's affection. 




    I am so in awe of Megan Crewe's writing! Like I mentioned above, I wasn't sure how the story being told just from Kaelyn's POV in letters to Leo would come across, but in Ms. Crewe's capable hands I loved it, and I can't wait to read the next book in the series, The Lives We Lost. I'm giving this book a very enthusiastic 5 stars and recommend it to fans of post-apoc/dystopian, YA, survival stories :D




    I received a copy of this book free of charge from NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I had such high expectations for this book. A zombie-less apocal

    I had such high expectations for this book. A zombie-less apocalyptic YA? I was all over it. And then I found myself completely underwhelmed. It’s just so boring, lacking both likable characters and the kind of brutal action you’d expect from the desperate human race during such a situation. Although I didn’t mind the slow-pace initially, as I expected it to be that way as Crewe showed the island slowly become overcome by the virus, the snail like pace never lets up and I finished the book feeling like I’d just walked a five mile marathon only to find there was nothing waiting for me at the finish line.

    The premise itself is intriguing. A common cold like virus strikes a small island community and quickly decimates the population, leaving the few islanders not affected driven to animalistic like behavior in a desperate bid to survive. As a study of humanity it’s interesting, if predictable. On one end of the spectrum you have citizens like our narrator, who are doing what they can to maintain structure and help others and on the other you’ve got those who would rather kill and terrorize their fellow survivors in an attempt to horde all the remaining supplies for themselves and naturally the government almost immediately writes the entire island off in an attempt to contain the virus. The story is told from the perspective of a sixteen year old girl in a journal written to her ex-best friend who moved off the island just before the virus struck.

    The writing itself is good. The destruction of the virus is well portrayed and although too slow-paced for my liking, the sly and unobtrusive way it spread throughout the island was terrifying. I know I’ll never look at another itchy, sneezing person the same. Most of the characters are likable, and some of them even react in understandable, natural ways.

    What fell flat for me and dropped the novel from a 3 star rating to a 2 star was Kaelyn. I just couldn’t make myself care about her, which then made it hard for me to care about any of the other characters or events. She was almost robotic, showing very little emotion, other than the expected shock and disbelief, as the people closest to her drop like flies. Frankly I found her reaction to the destruction around her to be unrealistic and at some points even unlikable. The only admirable quality she had, and really the only time a bit of personality seemed to shine through, was her desperation to keep her young cousin safe.

    Despite the high quality of the writing, the slow pace and unlikable characters made this a very difficult read for me to finish. I am happy to say though that having just finished the second book in the series, it does get better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Should i get it please answer back with AWNSER as heading

    Was up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    What??

    What is the next book called?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    REaD RIGHT NOW

    The thurd book should be called the world we knew

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

        I wasn't expecting The Way We Fall to be written in letter f

        I wasn't expecting The Way We Fall to be written in letter format, but surprisingly it didn't bother me. I usually am not one for prose, email or anything but narrative, but Kaelyn's voice and way of writing drew me right in, and I almost forgot she was writing to her friend. 
       Megan Crewe created a chilling situation with the virus. It is contagious, it has no known cure and it can kill, all this on an island. I didn't know how this could be fixed or how the main character and others would manage to survive and escape being infected, but I knew that I wanted them to figure it out and was on edge right with them through the scary stages of the illness and watching those they loved and cared about get sick. 
        I pulled for Kaelyn and really connected with her. The love she had for her family, and ultimate respect for her dad and trust that he could come up with an answer. The relationship with her brother and the protective instincts for her little cousin Meredith. As well as the unlikely friendship and connections that she makes while trying to help those on her island and those who are sick. I appreciated her wisdom in figuring out the things that are worth fighting for, and makes life worth living. 
        I liked the story, but there wasn't much of a conclusion. I wanted a few more answers, and I wanted to know more. 
    Bottom Line: A chilling, action packed scenario with a main character I cared for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    The first novel in the Fallen World trilogy is an excellent begi

    The first novel in the Fallen World trilogy is an excellent beginning to the story of a truly frightening possibility faced by our world today. When a small island is infected with a mysterious illness, one of the residents, Kaelyn, begins to fear for the safety of those she loves. Megan Crewe has created a scenario that is scary because it is a completely plausible threat. It is one thing to read about aliens attacking Earth, but quite another to read about a killer virus that could just be a mutant strain of something out in the world right this moment. 




    Megan has written a fantastic story. It is told through a series of journal entries to Kaelyn's friend, Leo, who has moved off the island. The journal entry format was used well to express the deep fears of Kaelyn, which are likely reflected in all of the residents. It also serves to make the story much more personal. With viruses it is so easy for the story to become about symptoms and statistics, but this format makes it about the people stuck in this situation and their families. It really helped me to connect with Kaelyn, as well, because it felt so honest. 




    I thought the characters overall were well fleshed out and mostly likeable. Even the characters that didn't play as big a role, like Kaelyn's dad, were very realistic. His concern and his frustration felt genuine. Megan does really well at using the little things to make her characters come alive. There was a little romance included as well, which added a great element but didn't interfere with the real purpose of the story. I also loved the mystery that surrounded some of the characters, like Kaelyn's brother, Drew. There were many different aspects to the story which were meshed together extremely well. 




    The way the illness was written was gripping and mysterious. I loved how little things were revealed bit by bit. I had so many questions about what was going on and they were answered one by one, keeping me constantly intrigued and in suspense. It was very well thought out! The reaction to the illness was also interesting - not only that of the islanders but also of the people on the mainland and the government. Conflicting views, misunderstandings, knee-jerk reactions... there was so much realism to the scenario which only accentuated how entirely possible this whole idea is. 




    In all, this was a really great novel. Well written, suspenseful, and mysterious. There was great atmosphere and tension, and the feeling of alienation that takes over was great. In the end, I was left with many unanswered questions that I can't wait to see solved in the sequel, The Lives We Lost. 
    4.5 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    First¿.I don't know what to say to describe this book.'Cause I'm

    First….I don't know what to say to describe this book.'Cause I'm speechless!"The way we fall" is just ….AMAZING!!I mean,I knew that Megan is an awesome author,but I didn't expect at this!
    I read this amazing book in just one week,even if it's in English.This is because of Megan's style of writing.It makes you wanna read,and read,and read untill you don't have what to read.Ok,I have to say:at the start,it can be a little boring,but as much as you read and you "discover"(or not-if you'll read it,you'll know what I mean.) you can't stop reading and the book begins to be "unputdownable"
    Do you want to know which is the best part of "The way we fall"?Well,the best part is that it makes you see the life with another eyes.After you'll read it,you'll see how fragile the life is and how easy can we fall.
    I love the way that the story is told:Kaelyn is writing in her journal some letters for her friend,Leo.This is a new style,and I like it!
    I liked the characters.Kaelyn is the perfect main-character.Is strong,ambitious and the perfect friend.I felt a deep conection with her and ,sometimes,I felt what she felt,in a weird way.I don't know how to explain exactly.The point is that I like Kaelyn a lot and I'm still wondering how the story ends.I can't wait for the second book(I found out that "The way we fall" is part of a trilogy,"Fallen World",and I am so happy about this!) because the first book left me with some questions.
    It's interesting how the disease spreads.Also,the quarantine makes the story more believable and a little bit scarry…like a horror movie.Sometimes,I felt like I am part of a horror story and the author is Stephen King,not Megan Crewe.I liked this!
    I have to told the story again?I think everybody knows it!Ok,in large: Kaelyn lives with her family on an Island.The things look a little bit boring ,when a disease strike the island.No one knows what is happening.A lot of people die,and the doctors are desperate.Then,the island is in quarantine,And the rest…is in book!Or,in the synopsis.:))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    This story is amazingly well written. It is written in the form

    This story is amazingly well written. It is written in the form of journal entries, with the main girl, Kaelyn, writing them. Kaelyn is very well written.
    Overall,
    The Way We Fall is an entertaining story and, although it certainly has
    some slow passages, it still manages to be a quick read. I’m looking
    forward to reading the next book in the trilogy, The Lives We Lost, due
    out next February.
     The book is only about 304 pages long, but the reader will want the book to be far longer.
    There is an unbelievable amount of action, suspense, and romance packed into these pages. The characters are a delight to read about, the reader will actually care what happens to them in the novel. The author keeps the novel within the realms of realism, the reader will not be rolling his/her eyes over the plot and events in this book.
    This book is highly recommended to young adult/teen readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3