Customer Reviews for

The Way of Kings (Stormlight Archive Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1238 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(971)

4 Star

(177)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

53 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

Starts out slow, but doesn't disappoint.

I don't read a lot of fantasy but I loved the Mistborn series and Warbreaker. You can tell from the start that this book is the beginning of something epic. The story follows several characters, some so minor, you wonder why they're even mentioned. Each chapter you g...
I don't read a lot of fantasy but I loved the Mistborn series and Warbreaker. You can tell from the start that this book is the beginning of something epic. The story follows several characters, some so minor, you wonder why they're even mentioned. Each chapter you get a snippet of what's happened in the past, what's currently happening, and what is going to happen. Be prepared to get halfway through this 1000 page novel before you really start to see things fall into place and the action to really start happening. By the time I was finished, I didn't want it to end. I had misgivings at the start but by the end, I was sucked in. I HAVE to see what happens next!

posted by Mavis1129 on August 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Instant Favorite!

Love this author! This book grabbed me and didn't let go! I was really impressed with this new, totally original world. And Brandons discriptions made it easy to visualize it all. If the next book doesn't come out soon I am going to sue!! To tell the truth: I bought thi...
Love this author! This book grabbed me and didn't let go! I was really impressed with this new, totally original world. And Brandons discriptions made it easy to visualize it all. If the next book doesn't come out soon I am going to sue!! To tell the truth: I bought this book in hardcover the day it was released, but I think I may actually buy it in Nook form as well. I will definitely re-read it just before the next one's release.

posted by Canis on February 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1247 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 63
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    Starts out slow, but doesn't disappoint.

    I don't read a lot of fantasy but I loved the Mistborn series and Warbreaker. You can tell from the start that this book is the beginning of something epic. The story follows several characters, some so minor, you wonder why they're even mentioned. Each chapter you get a snippet of what's happened in the past, what's currently happening, and what is going to happen. Be prepared to get halfway through this 1000 page novel before you really start to see things fall into place and the action to really start happening. By the time I was finished, I didn't want it to end. I had misgivings at the start but by the end, I was sucked in. I HAVE to see what happens next!

    53 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    Next amazing and epic fantasy series is here!

    This book (and series) has the makings of one of the all time great fantasy series. I felt the same way reading this as when I sat reading "The Wheel of Time" or "Game of Thrones" for the first time. There are plenty of good fantasy stories out there, enough variety for anyone; but this is high fantasy done at it's best.

    It took me a little time to get started on this. I was sick the last week and nyquil and late reading don't seem to mix well. As this cold is fading I've been able to dig in and finish it the last couple days. Partly because of the addicting nature of the story as well.

    As someone who loves characters first and foremost, every character in this book is well done. Kaladin was the character I got into quickest, others took a bit longer for me to form that eagerness for; but eventually they all came to the same level.

    His world feels nearly alien in it's uniqueness. Not something I require of my fantasy, but knowing this is going to be a ten book series it's nice to see. He does such a good job with fleshing out the world that by the end, it really doesn't feel alien anymore. In fact at one point a good way through they come to an area that seems fairly "earthlike" and the characters there find it odd and I was right along with them.

    The plot is exactly what it should be for something that will last ten books and probably over a decade of writing. Epic. The single novel itself reads well enough and wraps up well enough, but you still feel like you read the first chapter and want more. Not so much because of major cliffhangers, but because you are involved in the world and the characters and want to stay there. Sanderson does an outstanding job of weaving the plots together as it moves forward.

    The magic is unique, well done and well explained. Still more left on the table to learn; but I feel like the reader got plenty to understand what was happening and how. Most of all it fits the world's unique feel.

    Outside of the overall review, I have to say a couple things I normally don't like in fantasies: Odd quotes that don't make sense under chapter titles and prophecies and guidance by godlike figures that are more riddles than anything else. Both of these were in the book and handled beautifully. The prophecy thing when it finally crested most I nearly started to get frustrated, when the explanation came and it all made sense (more sense than any other time I've seen it tried). and, Once you are into the story you understand the purpose of the quotes and they just become additional artwork.

    Speaking of artwork, I loved all the extras in this book. Of course it had the map many fantasy stories have, but it also had drawings throughout the story of cities, creatures and other sketches (work that looked like you were peaking into sketchbooks of that world, not just standard art). It also had nice headers to every chapter.

    I can't recommend this story enough if you are a true fantasy fan. Especially if you like series like the Wheel of Time (fitting he is finishing that for Jordan) and a Song of Fire and Ice.

    38 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2010

    Do not stop reading it gets very good

    Any author who writes an epic fantasy that is supposed to expand 10 books faces the challenge of world building and character developement. In my view that is what boggs down the first half of this book. Thankfully, Brandon Sanderson did not let me down; on page 451 the book picked up speed and the story started comming together. Trust me by the end of the book you will not want to put it down!

    29 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    this is a fascinating grand beginning to what looks like an epic worthy of the late Robert Jordan

    The storms of Roshar are legendary for their fierceness as natural selection has led to flora and fauna adapting to the intensity. Failure to do so means extinction. Humans understand the basic premise for survival of the fittest as they have built great cities only in places where shelter from the torrents can be found. Centuries ago the Knights Radiant laid down their arms having disestablished their units. Now four thousand five hundred plus years since they dispersed, they have become myths while their shardblade weapons and shardplate armor have become the most valuable commodity on Roshar.

    Shallan the scholar has uncovered an inconvenient truth as she serves as an apprentice to the sister of the King. Unlike his aristocratic peers, visionary warrior Dalinar Kholin, the current king's uncle looks to the past to forge an honorable just future. Finally acrimonious Kaladin went from aristocratic surgeon to slave to save the life of his brother, but it cost him his honor and caring of others.

    The opening act of the Stormlight Machine an epic fantasy which a monster sized book in which Brandon Sanderson establishes his world in minute detail (some might say overly detailed) and the flaws of his three prime players. The story line contains several subplots with Shallan, Kholin and Kaladin serving as the main three in the intertwining saga. Especially intriguing, besides the encyclopedic fascinating depth of Roshar, is the gripping sagas of Kaladin and Shallan; while the arc of Kholin feels forced as if a fantasy element was needed to spice up the saga. Still this is a fascinating grand beginning to what looks like an epic worthy of the late Robert Jordan.

    Harriet Klausner

    15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    Normally not a huge sanderson fan - but..

    I have to say that I might be one of the very few who was not blown away by the Mistborn series. I read it, and felt that it was a decent story, but not much more. Here, however, I actually found that this book made me salivate a bit thinking of the next volume to be released. The characters are all well drawn (though i would like to see Kaladin be a little more morally unsure), and the worldbuilding is superb. I will say that this volume gives an extraordindary amount of background material - so much so that the pacing goes from slow crawl to frenetic and back again a bit too much for comfort. However, even with the all the exposition, I found myself confused and going back to re-read sections. Though this sounds like a negative, it actually felt like it was a world so big that only another ten 1000 page books would explain it...is it too early to start complaining about the next release?

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    Brandon Sanderson does it again!

    The Way of Kings, Brandon Sanderson's debut novel of The Stormlight Archive, starts the unique story of a world torn apart by ferocious storms. Like all of his original novels before this, a very unique and very original magic system gives extraordinary powers to those able to use them. The main characters also have great depth, and genuine likability, while I truly wish ill to the antagonists. At a little over 1000 pages, this story will definitely keep the reader occupied. Sanderson always brings his own flavor of fantasy to his works, and I couldn't be happier with this debut of his new series. (Well, I wish that the rest of the series was already published!) I recommend this to any and all fans of the fantasy genre.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The way of Kings--A must read

    I really enjoyed this book a lot. Found myself staying up late many a night . Didn't want it to end.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Amazing book, could not stop reading. The only bad thing is wai

    Amazing book, could not stop reading. The only bad thing is waiting for the next book. This is the best book I've read so far. Its right up there with "The Way of Shadows" by Brent Weeks.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Brandon Sanderson is a great story teller. His book kept me facinated to the end.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    !

    My new favorite book. I was blown away.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Amazing!

    The creation of an entire world, complete with multiple beings, religions, races, politics and much more is only the beginning of the alure of this epic series. With an incredible history unfolding with every turn of the page, the characters and they're lives jump out at you.

    I found myself wanting to read further just to learn how and why the characters arrived at their current situations, only to turn the page yet again to find out where they are going from this point on.

    I anxiously await the next installment of what is bound to be one of the greatest epic worlds of modern fantasy. Thank you for sharing this amazing work of art with us.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Best book ever!!!!!

    This book is great!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Just a slice of what Sanderson is capable of!

    You can tell by reading The Way of Kings that Sanderson has indeed dedicated a large portion of his life to this series. As deeply enthralling and layered as this story already is, the ball has merely begun to roll. Brandon has a way of capturing your attention like Robert Jordan, and building worlds as deeply complex as Tolkien's, but without impeding the progress of the story. I suggest you block out a day or two to sit down and read it, because otherwise the story will silently nag you to come back and finish it throughout your day! Enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Way good

    I couldn't put this one down. A superb plot, breadth, depth, character development, it's all good. Geared a bit more towards guys, probably.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Exciting Book!

    Great Read, and Sanderson does a great job of building his characters. I am looking forward to reading his Wheel of Time Books that he is finishing up!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Great book

    Everyone in my family has read this book and loved it. I enjoyed it so much i read it three times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Wow

    This is just too insanely cool to define.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Amazing

    Innovative world with great characters and a new and intriguing "magic". Many twists and turns to keep you on your toes. I can't wait for the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Didnt want it to end

    At over 1000 pages you would think by the end you'd be ready for it to end. Not even close to true. Sanderson is so adept at giving his world and characters such depth and truth that i nearly felt bereft at turning the last page. I am in absolute agony waiting for the story to continue!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    When is the next book!!!!!!!!

    Like some of the other reviews i've read the first half of this book is kind of slow and a lot of charactor building. But look out and hold on tight when he finally cuts loose. I could not put this book down. 3 sometimes 4 am I'd finally put it down to sleep so I could function at work. Give me the next book PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1247 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 63