Customer Reviews for

The Way of Kings (Stormlight Archive Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1275 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1001)

4 Star

(183)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

54 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

Starts out slow, but doesn't disappoint.

I don't read a lot of fantasy but I loved the Mistborn series and Warbreaker. You can tell from the start that this book is the beginning of something epic. The story follows several characters, some so minor, you wonder why they're even mentioned. Each chapter you g...
I don't read a lot of fantasy but I loved the Mistborn series and Warbreaker. You can tell from the start that this book is the beginning of something epic. The story follows several characters, some so minor, you wonder why they're even mentioned. Each chapter you get a snippet of what's happened in the past, what's currently happening, and what is going to happen. Be prepared to get halfway through this 1000 page novel before you really start to see things fall into place and the action to really start happening. By the time I was finished, I didn't want it to end. I had misgivings at the start but by the end, I was sucked in. I HAVE to see what happens next!

posted by Mavis1129 on August 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Instant Favorite!

Love this author! This book grabbed me and didn't let go! I was really impressed with this new, totally original world. And Brandons discriptions made it easy to visualize it all. If the next book doesn't come out soon I am going to sue!! To tell the truth: I bought thi...
Love this author! This book grabbed me and didn't let go! I was really impressed with this new, totally original world. And Brandons discriptions made it easy to visualize it all. If the next book doesn't come out soon I am going to sue!! To tell the truth: I bought this book in hardcover the day it was released, but I think I may actually buy it in Nook form as well. I will definitely re-read it just before the next one's release.

posted by Canis on February 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    Starts out slow, but doesn't disappoint.

    I don't read a lot of fantasy but I loved the Mistborn series and Warbreaker. You can tell from the start that this book is the beginning of something epic. The story follows several characters, some so minor, you wonder why they're even mentioned. Each chapter you get a snippet of what's happened in the past, what's currently happening, and what is going to happen. Be prepared to get halfway through this 1000 page novel before you really start to see things fall into place and the action to really start happening. By the time I was finished, I didn't want it to end. I had misgivings at the start but by the end, I was sucked in. I HAVE to see what happens next!

    54 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2010

    Do not stop reading it gets very good

    Any author who writes an epic fantasy that is supposed to expand 10 books faces the challenge of world building and character developement. In my view that is what boggs down the first half of this book. Thankfully, Brandon Sanderson did not let me down; on page 451 the book picked up speed and the story started comming together. Trust me by the end of the book you will not want to put it down!

    29 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    Normally not a huge sanderson fan - but..

    I have to say that I might be one of the very few who was not blown away by the Mistborn series. I read it, and felt that it was a decent story, but not much more. Here, however, I actually found that this book made me salivate a bit thinking of the next volume to be released. The characters are all well drawn (though i would like to see Kaladin be a little more morally unsure), and the worldbuilding is superb. I will say that this volume gives an extraordindary amount of background material - so much so that the pacing goes from slow crawl to frenetic and back again a bit too much for comfort. However, even with the all the exposition, I found myself confused and going back to re-read sections. Though this sounds like a negative, it actually felt like it was a world so big that only another ten 1000 page books would explain it...is it too early to start complaining about the next release?

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The way of Kings--A must read

    I really enjoyed this book a lot. Found myself staying up late many a night . Didn't want it to end.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Exciting Book!

    Great Read, and Sanderson does a great job of building his characters. I am looking forward to reading his Wheel of Time Books that he is finishing up!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Hold in there

    The prologue really hooked me. But my goodness does this book take a bit to get going. The character development is very in depth which is expected in a 3000+ pg book and beginning of 10 ( I think) book series. But it is a bit hard to read for the first thousand. It is not straight up boring, but nothing happens. When this book picks up it is all worth it. I am very anxiously awaiting the next stormlight archive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Must read

    Once i started the book i couldnt put it down. Takes a little while to start but once it hooks you....you will finish it with remorse and hunger for more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Original World, good story

    The nuances of the world in this story are interesting on their own. The characters are well built. I really enjoyed reading this book. The only issue I really had is how the book jumped around. The illustrations and maps are difficult to see on the nook, but this is something I have found to be the norm for high detail illustrations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    Good book!

    Starts out very, very slow, but hang in there because it gets better, at the end you are looking for the sequel.

    I think that the first 1/2 of the book could have been condensed which is why I gave it a 3. I really like his work & have read almost all of his work. It did pick up at the end so I will be looking forward to the next book. Great characters, solid plot, & a few suprises!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    Outstanding Beginning for New Series!

    I really enjoy Brandon Sanderson's work and this one doesn't disappoint. There is limitless potential for the remaining books in this series. I can't wait for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    Great Book!

    This was my favorite in the series. Great work by Sanderson.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2015

    Yes, it' s a worthy fantasy!

    Very good read indeed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2015

    Wow

    For a 1000 page book that is mainly buildup and history...this was surprisingly an easy and interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2014

    Recommended Realm Fantasty

    Having finished all of the current published GoT books, this was the next 'big book' series on my list to read. I'm happy to say I'm enjoying it immensely, and am looking forward to getting into book two. Sanderson's world in WoK balances just the right amount of realm + fantasy making this a healthy read for fans of both genres. Enjoy!! Hardcover all the way!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Old School Fantasy

    Modern fantasy comes in predictable variations of the same old sub-genres, the Tolkien Clones inhabiting World of Warcraft locations and battles, the Assassin/Thieves guild dramas, and (for me) the tedious Mage War dramas pitting wizards of omnipotent power against demi-gods in all out wars of world's. Into this steps Sanderson. His imaginative Mistborn series was an interesting sketch of a world exploring a magic system based upon metals. With the Stormlight Sagas Sanderson presents a fully realized world populated by characters as unpredictable as they are deep. These are not the typical archetypes. They are flawed, troubled souls who seem to be figuring out who they are and where they are headed along with the reader. His world is filled with plants that receed when about to be stepped on, or come out for a brief time after the High Storms that plague this world with frequency and ferocity. Crustaceans seem to have replaced mammals as the dominant creatures of his world.
    I am reminded more of early 70's SciFi/Fantasy of Robert Silverberg, Piers Anthony, and Robert Heinlein. Where they drop characters into strange worlds to see how they respond, and explore ideas and story.
    There are Lords, Ladies, Knights and battles. Swords and armor, feasts and pageantry, but this is NOT another "medieval Europe" clone world. And this is not another cookie-cutter fantasy series. This is a rich, character driven page turner in a strange world even the characters don't fully understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    Brilliantly Designed

    I know many people who don't like Brandon Sanderson's books because they don't think he's especially gifted with his prose, but whatever he lacks in that regard he more than makes up for with the brilliance of his systems of magic.

    Every Sanderson book I've read has been marvelously thought out and crafted with the utmost care, and it shows phenomenally in this book.

    Very highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Fantastic!

    The world is expertly fleshed out. It may be tedious, as it is over 1000 pages, but the ending is worth it. Read it, it is fantastic. Since The Words of Radiance is finally here, it makes it all the better to pick up this book NOW

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    Difficult to get into, but it was an awesome read.

    Difficult to get into, but it was an awesome read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    Interesting world inhabited by personalities you can connect with.

    Brandon Sanderson demonstrates in this story all the elements of good story telling. Very well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2013

    Brandon Sanderson does a wonderful job telling a story. He also

    Brandon Sanderson does a wonderful job telling a story. He also does a wonderful job of keeping you hanging. *Epic* novels have become quite popular, but I'm not impressed. GRR Martin has taken 20 yrs and hasn't completed Game of Thrones. Sanderson will take just as long to complete War of Kings. I can't wait that long to conclude a story. I can't care about or even remember for half the time. I've read this first novel. I won't be reading anymore until he's completed the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10