Customer Reviews for

The Way of the Superior Man

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    New Age Dimentia for the New Millennia

    Way of the Superior Man is a tour de force of meaningless fluff, sentimental drivel, rhetorical devices and logical fallacies. My primary criticism with Deida concerns his qualifications. Lacking a formal degree from an accredited university, Deida routinely fails to cite his sources in his work, makes counterintuitive/metaphysical claims without a basis in scientific research, and in text directly resorts to various ad hominem attacks in defense of his suppositions. Instead of depending on the logical merit of his own dialectic, Deida relies on his close relationship with Ken Wilber for validation. For these reasons, rather than garter consideration as an academically rigorous, formally respected philosopher or self-help professional, Deida, like L. Ron Hubbard and Claude Vorilhon, deserves recognition more so as an occultist or New Age writer. However, for undergraduate students interested in reading a chronicle of the internal workings of a narcissistic personality complex afflicted with overtones of a dissociative disorder, Way of the Superior Man does manage to find some relevance.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    this book is amust read for every man who is in relationship or

    this book is amust read for every man who is in relationship or married.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Must read for men and women

    This is a book that I highly recommend to my female friends who are having difficulties with their mates. David empowers men with this book and he has an incredible in depth understanding of male and female psychology and what men really need to grow in order to throw off their mother complex and be the kind of men they were meant to be. He also explains to men where they should draw the line when with women who have failed to mature themselves into a deeply loving relationship that has room for both male and female ways of relating to the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2009

    A different kids of guide on how to relate to women

    Inspiring book for a man to learn how to take control of his life, get in touch with his mission in life, and take charge of his relationship with his woman. Very readable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    Very Good Book, not Great but Good

    I purchased the book after watching the David D. Angelo program "On How to be a Man". David D. makes references to this book. The book talks about how woman will normally test a man during a relationship, to see whether a man is quite capable of passing the tests or whether he will fail. If a man fail the tests that a woman put him through, then both respect and attraction are lost. I wish that the author would of used more examples in his writing. Overall it is a good book, not a great one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    I have read the book several times

    David Deida prepared not a scientific essay, but a collection of thoughts about the masculine identity of today. The book gives you the option to see a different perspective in some things, knowledge that cannot be easily found today. Let's admit it, there is a way of giving information and the other person to get it and there is a way of giving information and the other person to ignore it. Deida does the first thing. I have enjoyed the reading of the book very much. I gave the book to a person which fits the description of a narcissist personality with dissociative disorder and commented what The Super Goddamnit wrote. I suggest going for the Audio series because it looks that Deida explains things much better there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    Can't stop talking about it

    Any man alive will benefit from this read. Why? I am 44 and read lots of self improvement books. At 26 until now have found the bible without compare! It has everything a real man could need yet the bible can be conise. The way of the superior man puts some every day flesh to the way princples in the bible for men can be handled. A CAVEAT Bible belivers, there are a few attitudes in the book that are not in harmony with the requirements of God as noted in the Bible. Side step those and reap a happier relationship with your wife, children and others. It will help you be a more complete insightful man as to his core design in the design. Enjoy. We as men have to apply it to reap the rewards. Keep at it you'll get better at noticing the details behind the everyday events like the examples he gives and managing yourself in them. The fact that I would even write a review for something outside the Bible is extrordinary! If you could only see and hear my enthusiasm!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is definitely a must-read book. Deida stresses the importance of the polarity between masculine and feminine roles in love and relationships. Reading this book is like getting advice from a good friend. I bought this book two weeks ago, and I have already read it twice. Now I'm going to go purchase some more of his work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    Noncastrated Man

    This is a valuable, insightful book into how the noncastrated man can relate to women. Instead of the macho male or spineless whimp, Deida gives us a new model to live by. His belief that women will only respect us if we put our life's purpose first really resonated with me. Now every time I see a man criticize or loose patience with his woman, I think, 'he's not a superior man.' One thing lacking in this book is deep spiritual insight. It's full of practical tips and tools, but it lacks insight into the truly superior nature of our being: the soul. Afterall, the subtitle is 'A Spiritual Guide to Mastering . . .' I wanted more than gathering in the woods with other men and singing and dancing. I want to know the way of the 'Superior and Spiritual Man.' A good complement to this book, which offers insights into being both a superior man and a spiritual man is 'This Side of the Gate' by John P. Johnston. It's the first spiritual book that speaks to the 'superior man.' I like the idea that we can be spiritual without giving up our masculinity. Afterall, how can we be superior men if we have no concept of the soul?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2006

    The REAL deal!

    Ever wonder what your woman, your boss, the world, wants from you? A clear, concise answer is offered here. To effectively deal with life, we must understand our daily challenges. Deida illuminates possibility within all areas of life in this incredible work. 'Way of the Superior Man' is to the true man as 'Brief History of Time' is to unitarian physics. Short, to the point, and very deep. Nothing short of greatness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2006

    Best book on relationships EVER written

    This was the best book I have ever read on relationships. It turned my life around and taught me how women think. Truly inspired by God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2006

    Awesome Book!

    This is one of the best books I have ever read that explains many of the differences between men and women. Its a close look at masculine and feminine differences and how you can be more attractive to the opposite sex. I recommend this book to anyone who is in a relationship and wants to stay in one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2