BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Way of the Wolf (Vampire Earth Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I'm an avid reader of everything from highbrow literature to Shakespeare to sci-fi and horror. This is one of the best books I've read in a long time - and I wasn't expecting it. I happened to get a free copy...and am so delighted. I'm now going to buy the rest in the s...
I'm an avid reader of everything from highbrow literature to Shakespeare to sci-fi and horror. This is one of the best books I've read in a long time - and I wasn't expecting it. I happened to get a free copy...and am so delighted. I'm now going to buy the rest in the series. Fantastic post-apocalypse...and vampire theme. If you're looking for a Dracula or Anne Rice bit, you won't find it. But if you're looking for a new way to play with the vampire genre, then welcome aboard. A cross between 1984 and monster horror...very appropriate as a warning of human nature.

posted by Anonymous on January 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Terrible Disappointment

Compared to the hype I have heard about this series it was a disappointing first book. I thought that it jumped strangely during the first few chapters and then never returned to that raid¿you never got to see what happened. The rest of the book was a chronological st...
Compared to the hype I have heard about this series it was a disappointing first book. I thought that it jumped strangely during the first few chapters and then never returned to that raid¿you never got to see what happened. The rest of the book was a chronological story that was well written, but I disliked the way the history was worked in such a disjointed way. I will read part 2 of this series, simply because I have heard what a great book the last one was, but I don¿t think I could get through all the books if they are this poorly written.

posted by Anonymous on June 12, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    A reviewer

    I'm an avid reader of everything from highbrow literature to Shakespeare to sci-fi and horror. This is one of the best books I've read in a long time - and I wasn't expecting it. I happened to get a free copy...and am so delighted. I'm now going to buy the rest in the series. Fantastic post-apocalypse...and vampire theme. If you're looking for a Dracula or Anne Rice bit, you won't find it. But if you're looking for a new way to play with the vampire genre, then welcome aboard. A cross between 1984 and monster horror...very appropriate as a warning of human nature.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not what I thought it was going to be.

    After getting into the first chapter I couldn't put the book down. I have read the Brian Lumley Vampire novels and others as well, but I love the way E.E. Knight weaves in the elements of the story of how the Kurians came about. The post apocalyptic thing did't excite me at first. Then, it tells you how it all came about bit by bit and sucks you in. The Magic of the Lifeweavers creating warriors out of normal humans and changing them forever into 1 of 3 seperate warrior castes is very intriguing and makes the book that much more interesting. It's one of those series that you'll read over and over. I recommend it to anyone with an open mind and a love for fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Way of the Wolf (Vampire Series Earth)

    I just finish this book and well on my way on the second in the series. I was not too sure about reading this series fearing another vampire novel that has Dracula in it. But was I wrong. This is a whole new approach to having vampires on Earth. It is thrilling and easy to get involved with the characters and plot. I encourage anyone who wants to read a good long series to start with this this one. So far...so good.
    Sam

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    Terrible Disappointment

    Compared to the hype I have heard about this series it was a disappointing first book. I thought that it jumped strangely during the first few chapters and then never returned to that raid¿you never got to see what happened. The rest of the book was a chronological story that was well written, but I disliked the way the history was worked in such a disjointed way. I will read part 2 of this series, simply because I have heard what a great book the last one was, but I don¿t think I could get through all the books if they are this poorly written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    Awesome book

    Fully realized characters, tight plot lines, excellant world building and descriptive writing good enough to make me feel I'd been there. Could not reccomend this book more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2003

    Very Impressive New Author

    This was an outstanding read. I was very impressed with this book and the author. It appears that a lot of research has gone into this book. I get tired of the 'same old vampire' books... I thought that everything had been used. I was wrong. 'Way of the Wolf' is very unique. I could not put the book down. At first, I was not impressed with the description on the back flap of the book... but I am glad that I bought it anyway. Now I want to know what will happen next... and can't wait for the next book: 'Choice of the Cat'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Kingdom rp?

    Where?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Gritty and imersive world

    The characters seem real. The bad guys are really bad and the writer avoids cliches of the vampires. It was a page turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    Loved it. I love books with a journey. This has it.

    Loved it. I love books with a journey. This has it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    OMg Om OMH OMG

    I love this book mothertrucker yall suck a big one u no life rejects.ya buddie

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    A good buy.

    A+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Good read

    A mixture of aliens and a SHTF scenario sending us back decades in how to live. Not a bad read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Worth a read

    The format in which this book is done is interesting. I haven't come across this until now. For a good part of the novel, you get what looks like short stories of Valentine's life before the actual plot begins. I understand how some readers thought this wasn't the most perfect way to introduce the story. However I thought it was not only different but a good way to introduce the main character, and his background, with background information about the setting in this way. You follow Valentine throughout his youth, then you follow him through the period on where he first starts training to become a "Wolf" (a special elite unit). It's not until a good later part of the book is where the actual plot begins. I liked this kind of introduction. It made getting to know Valentine easier. It gave Valentine a three dimensional form and it chronicles his development in good detail.

    The setting is also interesting, however it took me a while to finally get the hang of it (without consulting the glossary at the back). The vampires here are ruthless and evil, so you will definitely not find the romantic stereotype anywhere in this book. There's a blend of post apocalyptic characteristics, with dark fantasy, and science fiction elements. So really you have a good mixture of just about everything in here. Personally, I like the dark fantasy and post apocalyptic parts. Earth really is a bleak place to be and the descriptions, and characters enhance the setting.

    Valentine is all right as a character. He does seem like your most awesome hero and at times it could get a little annoying. I wish he could have a bit of a darker edge to him (ie: he could be a jerk once in a while) but he seems to be your average good guy with a troubled past. I suppose that's not too bad although it could be considered cliche and overdone by other readers.

    What I did enjoy most about the novel is the overall plot. The pace was good although certain areas did experience a bit of a bump here and there. However all I will ask is for the author to not do any more romantic scenes and I'm shuddering to think if there will be more romance in the other books to follow. I read a particular romance moment and I just about nearly choked. Really? a man would do what Valentine did?? that's just gross! after having a fit for about a few minutes I resumed with the story (Apologies for not being specific. It is detailed and explicit so I won't go further than that). After finishing the book I still found that particular passage to be still unnerving. That's the only part that I strongly dislike in the book. Seriously, just take the romance out of this. It wasn't necessary and the plot was fine without it!

    This was a nice interesting start to what looks like an action packed series. I'm definitely going to follow this series for sure. If you like dark fantasy with sci fi elements in a post apocalyptic world try this. Plus, the vampires aren't sparkling. You might just like it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Mmmm meh.

    If you want to read a horror story written by Mary Higgins Clark read this series. The series is...(meh shrug) It was Ok. I feel like the main character is just a little too lucky...he just seems to be drifting thru the story saving everyone. Id say the 2nd book in the series the story get a bit better...Sorry I just finished reading this book and yet I don't have anything very memorable to say...it was just that...meh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    Good Book

    If you like futurist and what if books, you would like this one. It tells about the earth in the year of 2060 but stuff happened in 2022 to change the world as we know it. It talks about a guy named David Valentine who wants to helps make the world back to the way it was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    very good

    A very interesting read. I highly recomend it. it is now one of my favorite books and i couldnt put it down i read it all in one sitting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    A change of pace..

    for me. After getting board with the same old fantasy stuff, I thought I would try this series and I am glad that I did. It's very different than the standard vampire stories that I have seen in the movies. It was pretty much non stop action from start to finish. I like the fact of Knight turning an alien invasion into a vampire style story. I am already starting the 2nd book, and looking forward to going through the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What a horrible book

    I really can't believe I made it through the end of the book. First, I liked Knight's new world order and he did a decent enough job of explaining it to keep me interested. Apart from this, the book was just poorly written, confusing, and inconsistent. I have no idea what point of the first section of the book had to do with the rest of the book. The author never came back to it. In fact I think he just completely forgot about the first section because later on in the book something completely different occurred during that same timeline; thus, leading me to believe that this book was not edited.
    The author's vocabulary was also awkward and some of the word's he used were just unnecessary. I think he made very good use of Microsoft Word's Synonym function.
    I expected a lot of action from this book and was disappointed. The main character seemed to get out of trouble fairly easy. The author puts his characters in tough situation and you think a lot is about to go down, but that's so not the case. The characters are able to extract themselves with little to no conflict. And you think to yourself, "That's it"?
    The main character was very bland. I could really care less if he lived or died.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Unique

    I like the way the author takes a unique approach to vampires in the first book of the series. Can't think of much to say except that I like the book and would recommend it to any sci-fi lover.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2006

    Very Good

    I am usually a fantasy lover. Like all of the books I read are fantasy. Once in a while I'll get a Star wars book. But this book is different. I was looking for something other than fantasy at the book store one day and I came across this. Once I read that it takes place in the year 2065 and earth is taken over by aliens I knew this was going to be my kind of book. Try this book. It's only 380 pages. You'll be hooked.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6