Customer Reviews for

Way the Crow Flies

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I really liked this book

This book was really fun to read. I loved the single line references to songs and TV from the 60's. The book had the ability to take me back to my childhood and still be completely intrigued by the story. Then, when the story jumped forward in time, I was still unabl...
This book was really fun to read. I loved the single line references to songs and TV from the 60's. The book had the ability to take me back to my childhood and still be completely intrigued by the story. Then, when the story jumped forward in time, I was still unable to solve the mystery and was completely surprised at the endng. It was an enjoyable read and a good story.

posted by Michelle_TMT on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disturbing

I think just like with graphic music, books should be held to the same standard. I read the back cover of the book and nowhere in the explaination did it say it was going to be about child abuse. I started the book and warmed up to the time period and the characters. ...
I think just like with graphic music, books should be held to the same standard. I read the back cover of the book and nowhere in the explaination did it say it was going to be about child abuse. I started the book and warmed up to the time period and the characters. When the whole child abuse piece surfaced, I started to skim the book because of the highly disturbing narrative. I was so deeply bothered by some of the chapters that I had to skip them. I think that if this is the main premisis of the book, put it on the back cover. Let the reader know that it contains disturing and graphic information.

posted by Anonymous on March 28, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2008

    Great Book!

    I truly enjoyed this book and couldn't wait to read it. It had so many details that I believe were pertinent to developing the characters. I think the author did a geat job of bringing the reader into the setting. The symbolism in the story was evident during the Easter holiday and the situation which arose. The message related in the story of who is really watching and protecting our children hits home. As a society we focus on the global and forget the factors of at home protection. The author truly thought out all the elements of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2008

    Outstanding! Can't Put it Down!

    I truly enjoyed this book. I couldn't put it down. I also read 'Fall On Your Knees' but I liked this book much more as I could relate to the characters more.I grew up in the 1960's & I think the author captured the innocence of the time perfectly. I felt like I was drawn back into my childhood. I think it was excellent & I can hardly wait until Anne-Marie McDonald writes another book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2007

    Too many boring details

    I bought this book because it had a Today show book club sticker on it so I thought it was probably going to be pretty good. I gave it fifty pages and NOTHING happened. I was so sick of reading all of the descriptions I would fall asleep. I still have no idea what this book is even about but I am not willing to give it any more chances. If you have a lot of patience and time to waste then give it a try.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2005

    Touching, interesting worth every page...

    I loved this book, It took a bit of time to get into but once i did i couldn't put it down. I was constantly trying to find time to finish it. Towards the end i thought that i was going to be truly dissapointed with the ending but Ms MacDonald came thru and delievered one exceptional piece of literature. This book made me an instant fan of this author. I can't wait to read Fall on Your Knees.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2005

    I wanted to love it....

    As an Air Force brat, much of this book rang true to me. I think the author did a good job of capturing the tight, insular quality of a military family, as well as the politics of a typical military post where people come and go like seasons. However, while much of the book was touching and well-written, I began to feel like it was dragging on and on. So much could have been eliminated without losing the essential quality of the narrative. MacDonald tried, admirably, to tackle a complex web of themes, but I think the plot took too long to unfold. I found myself skimming the last chapters of the book, ready to be done with it. For me, the sign of a great book is that you never want it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2005

    Disappointing

    This book started out to be very promising but I completely lost interest before I read 100 pages. Too contrived and forced feeling

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2004

    Edting needed here!

    While the story was compelling and the writing good, I longed for editing of this overlong novel. Midway through, I began to skim rather than read, in order to discover the resolution of the plot. The book compares with those of Donna Tartt in length and complexity, but is not nearly so well managed as Tartt's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2004

    The Crow Doesn't Fly in a Straight Line

    I rarely abandon a book once I start it, but this one proved the exception. I found it tedious and way too detailed in every aspect. I think the author could have cut out half the book and still told the tale.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2004

    How can reading get any better?!

    Like 'Fall on Your Knees', this book pulls you expertly in, wraps itself around you and never lets go. It's a compulsive read. Every sentence is perfect to the storyline. Her characterizations and descriptions delight and encompass all 5 senses. Ann-Marie MacDonald is a genius!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2004

    outstanding

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. I could not put the book down, and it was a 700+ page book. I love the way Anne write's, the book had a mixture of sadness along with humour. Her writing puts you into the characters shoes. It was great, I would highly recommend it to anyone. I hope she comes out with another book soon, I will grab it up!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2004

    Not for the Faint of Heart

    Unlike MacDonald's previous work (Fall on Your Knees), this novel reels you in and lets you get very comfortable, then breaks your heart several times over. Jack, Mimi, Mike and Madeline are a family you've probably met, and you will not forget them anytime soon. MacDonald is a very talented writer, though not a speedy or easy read. So if you are looking for a fluffy little confection a al 'The DaVinci Code,' keep looking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2004

    A Taste of Excellence

    'The Way the Crow Flies' sets a new standard for good writing. Intelligent, well read women will love this book. I had never heard of Ann-Marie MacDonald before buying this book. I had the most enjoyable vacation reading the story about Madeline. The characters were well developed, and the use of figurative and picturesque language took me to the setting allowing me to feel personally involved. For someone looking to be spoon-fed a shallow book-this will definitely not do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2004

    It is almost 5 star worthy

    This book tells a marvelous tale of murder, secrecy, and of families torn apart by it all. I loved the author's prose and I had to keep on reading because I was so engaged. I didn't give it 5 stars because I felt that Madeline's same-sex relationship tale was unnecessary to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2004

    Blah blah blah blah.

    Bad. Nothing like the first novel (Fall to Your Knees) which is actually one of my favorite books. While the characters are developed and the dialog is inviting, the constant talk of military issues bored me silly. There were parts I wanted to skip - and I never skip parts. I contemplated not finishing this, though I did. I recommend Fall to Your Knees.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    Way too long

    I had high hopes for this book as I had read a steller review. If I hadn't started the book on a long drive to So. California I would have abandoned it by page 100. It starts so incredibly slow. The center of the book, however, is great. When the author focuses on Madeleine as a school girl and her father trying to be a good soldier the story flies by. The last 150 pages are slow as well with too much detail on Madeleine's later-in-life love interests. I hung in there to find out 'who dunnit'. Lose about 250 pages and you have a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2003

    A Good Second Novel

    Although ambitious, the book is slow reading and often the story line is lost in description. The Cold War and arms and space race discussions get tiresome, and though they solidify Jack's character, they weigh the book down and often become the central theme. The author who obviously has definite views on the aforementioned subjects, should have written a separate book discussing these. I do not think it compares in any way to Fall On Your Knees. It is ambitious and somewhat entertaining, and I would recommed it. However, some people may give up before it is over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2003

    This is a treasure!

    This truly is one of the best books I have ever read. The plot is real and engaging and the reader treasures this family from the beginning. Having grown up during this period of time (1960's) I could relate totally. Rush out and buy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2003

    Strong Cold War tale

    RCAF officer Jack McCarthy, his wife Mimi, and their two children twelve years old Mike and eight-year old daughter Madeleine have been stationed in West Germany for years. However, in 1962 Jack is been reassigned to the Centralia Air Force Base in Ontario. The family quickly adjusts and is happy to be home. <P>Jack is assigned the job of safeguarding a Soviet defector until the scientist can be smuggled into the U. S. to work on the space program. However the ethical Jack is shocked tothe core when he learns that his ward is a former Nazi who used slaves to work on the Nazi rocket program. While Jack¿s morality is tested on a global scale, fourth grade school teacher Mr. March molests students in his class including Madeleine. Soon one of them is murdered. Twenty years later Madeline remains haunted by the homicide and seeks the truth, but uncovers more that she wanted when she realizes the duplicity of her hero, her father. <P>The fascinating story line starts very slow as Ann-Marie MacDonald paints the scenario of a military post during the height of the Cold War. As the tale takes off it turns darker raping innocence by betraying values. Globally it is America sheltering Nazi war criminals to work on the space program; with family it is secrets that Madeleine and Jack ironically keep from one another that when revealed undermines their relationship. The climax is incredible, as the audience will stop to reconsider all that previously past is not what it seems. This historical novel is great work by a multitalented superstar. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3