Customer Reviews for

The Wayfarer Redemption (Wayfarer Redemption Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Must read.

    This is my favorite series out of probably 50 or so that I have read. I love the first book more after I have read the second, and I love the first and second more after having read the third. The last three books could be cut from the series for all I care, the first three books are fantastic.

    An aspect I enjoy about Douglas's writing is that it's smooth reading. You don't have to drudge through what seems like useless overly complicated details about things that only pertain to a side plot of a miscellaneous character's cousin's girlfriend and said girlfriend's genealogy. There is nothing tedious about Douglas's writing, and in fact, you will be hard pressed to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    One of my favorite fantasy books

    The first three books of this series are on my list of "must read" recommendations for people who are getting into fantasy (the last three books are incredibly disappointing, but that's a story for another review). They are lengthy, and you develop relationships with the characters. Arguably, I probably have a bias toward this series because it was the first book my now-husband loaned me to read before we started dating. It was an early book by Douglass, and is great in that respect because she had less pressure from editors and publishers to get the product out, and focused more on character development and weaving the storylines. I would also say that for those who have read other fantasy series, such as the Wheel of Time series, or Song of Ice and Fire, this series may be a disappointment. It is clearly a novice author who has yet to master the intricacies of creating elaborate worlds and races. Her descriptions are less flavorful than others in the genre, and sometimes the books come across as lackluster in regards to really bring you "into" the world. I know that the second or third time I read the series, it didn't hold the magic I remembered because I had "graduated" to much more elaborate authors and series.
    Overall, it's a beautiful story, and has all the elements one would expect to find in a fantasy series. Love, war, monsters, a vast and foreign landscape, and the lead characters maintain an element of intrigue long into the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Easily a favorite

    This is by far one of my favorite fantasy novels. The general concept is nothing new but it is well written and easy to get lost in. Faraday is also an all time favarite character, especially if you put in the time for the whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Awesome!

    I am an avid sci-fi/fantasy book reader and I can say this book is definately one of the best! Easy to follow, but not lacking in plot interest. It draws you in immidiately and keeps you there. One of those books you "cant put down". There are many characters to identify with and sub plots to figure out. I look forward to the whole series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic

    I've never posted/commented on any of the books I've read. I felt the need to write something for this one. Though I like many different types of books the fantasy genre is my favorite and this series is the best I've read. I traveled through all of these stories quickly and hungrily. The characters, the world, the tensions, the interactions and the romances are woven together into a welcomed variation from the tried and true "classic" fantasy landscape. I love my Tolkien and Martin but this series remains the most memorable and fulfilling for me. I don't like reading books, much less a compilation of books, twice. This is the first series that I have read more than once. The first time was 10-11 years ago. Last week I bought Wayfarer Redemption and have had such a good time that I'm starting book 4 today. I highly recommend these books to any fantasy fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    Very good!

    I have to say I picked it up on a whim and fell in love with the story. Sara Douglass has written a story that can pull the reader in instantly. I haven't read a book this good for awhile, and I am a proclaimed bibliophile. The only other author that I have ready who can pull off dividing the characters and keep the reader up to pace on the events of both characters so smoothly is Terry Brooks in his Shannara series. She does an amazing job of keeping the story smooth and seamless as she details what happens to Faraday and Axis while they are seperated from eachother.
    I do reccommend reading the entire series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it from the first page!

    Ok, I was hooked from the first chapter! I couldnt put it down once I started. It is well written and a great story. I love how the plot unfolds, and the story gets more intricate as you go. It is a Great Book to read and once you read this one I recommend reading the rest of the series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    Great Books, def worth while.

    I picked up this book at a store because I liked the cover... started to read it and never finished. However, one night I picked it up and started over and I was hooked.I am now almost done with the fifth book and cant wait to see what happens. It is a truly enjoyable book because it develops characters and then further shows their development to where you change your opinion. I love when an author is able to personally connect you with their characters, as i was with Faraday, and their sorrow, their happiness becomes your own. At points I was mad, or cried or was happy and I think that takes a truly great author to evoke those feelings in a reader. The fantasy aspect is also great. It takes you into a completely different world. She explains everything so well that when she says a location or anything, you know exacltly what she is talking about. I also really enjoy that after the first three books, the fourth is changed and it is a new era and a new struggle with redemption and forgivness! I have had many sleepless nights becuase of this series and am not complaining one bit!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2006

    A well-written start

    They say never judge a book by it's cover, but I love Luis Royo paintings and when I recognized his style on the cover of this book, I simply had to get it. The description on the back of the book confused me (I mean, gah, look at all the strange names!) but once I began to read the tale, I fell in love with it. I disliked Faraday a trifle, though she was a neat character and gets better within the rest of the series. A great start to a wonderful fantasy series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2006

    read it 5 times!

    my first Sara Douglass book was 'Hades' Daughter' and i read the whole Troy Game series (as far as it had been published) and thought that it was impossible for her to have come up with something better, so i was a little skeptical but hopeful when starting this book (i'm a cynic i've found that most authors have only one truly incredible series, the rest are just good.) but this book so far outshone the Troy Game series that i honestly did read it 5 times in the course of one week, and i'm still not sick of it. it features Faraday, the heroine who starts out kind of half weak/half spunky, and you don't really know what kind of woman she'll turn out to be, only that she truly, helplessly loves Axis but is betrothed to his half-brother Borneheld. she sets out on a journey of her own, though, in company of the mysterious Sentinels, to become Tree Friend and bring the Prophecy to fruition. Axis is a perfect heartthrob of a hero. Golden, witty, strong, compassionate, he is immediately pegged as the center of the prophecy, and the only hope of salvation for the world. he faces many obstacles, though, including his own narrow-mindedness concerning his rivalry with his brother Borneheld. Borneheld isn't really the 'bad guy' of the story he's just a nuisance. he wants Faraday, and indeed is betrothed to her, but he knows that Axis wants her too (which probably contributes to his own desire) and starts to suspect that she might want his golden, semi-angelic star of a brother instead of himself. his character does not invite sympathy, however he is coarse, rude, prejudiced, and utterly determined to subjugate everyone in his way. introduced also is my personal favorite character, Azhure. Azhure was abandoned by her mother and abused by her father, and wants only to help the banished Icarii and Avar, but they have difficulty accepting human help. when two Avar are captured, it's Azhure who, alone of her whole town, tries to help them by bringing food and water and cleaning the cell, even though she's beaten for it by her father. Axis' arrival precipitates action on her part, and unexpected violence on the behalf of the Avar comes out. despite the fact that it was done to help them, the Avar have difficulty accepting her violence, but because she obviously can't return to the human settlement, she's going to have to try to fit in with the tribes anyway. Ogden and Veremund, two Sentinels disguised as priests of the Seneschal, add plenty of comic effect, though many of the other characters are quite witty as well. in short, this was a delight to read, and is highly reccommended to anyone and everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2005

    exelent

    what an imagination! animals,humans,and the story itself is difrent with its creativety and power of interest :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2004

    Truly awesome

    The whole series is one that you won't put down! Douglass definitely knows how to write.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2004

    Extremely good story!

    I have read this book, Enchanter, and StarMan about 3 times each. Sara Douglass put SO much thought and planning into this book and it just kept me rivited to the pages. She gave such a great explanation of everything in Tencendor - sometimes writers have something in their mind, a world that they can see, but they don't explain it well so the reader only gets a glimps of that world. But I was just overwhelmed by her talent. I recommend this to any fantasy reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2004

    An Excellent Book!

    I normally don't buy books out of the random authors that I like but this cover caught me for some reason. To me, if I buy a book, it better be worth it and this was very well worth it! I loved every word and though it took me longer than usual to read, I loved it and its so beautifully written. I recently started the second and I recommend that too. She is now one of my favorite authors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2004

    Really Really Good

    I truly enjoyed this book. When I first read the back, I didn't think I would like it, but it really is a fantastic book. I suggest this book for those who like a riddle. I would not suggest this book for anyone under the age of 13, as it implies some sexual scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2003

    Best Book Ever

    As you can see bellow im a fantasy/game nut + a complete bookworm. Therefore Ive read tons of books and can compare them all w/ this 1 book. This incredable book is so great,I would rather have the series then a trillion $'s or anything else. This book is the best ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2003

    Just finished it, and can't wait to read the next one.

    This was an amazing book, unlike any other fantasy book I've read (and I've read quite a few). I can't wait to get the second one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2003

    One take you out of your seat book

    I have had a lot of fun reading this book, sara does a wonderful job of taking you from this world to the workd of the book! Its an amazing book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2003

    INCREDIBLE!!!

    Sara Douglas demonstrates her talent for writing in this wonderful trilogy. The characters are developed well, and the plot keeps you guessing. This is a suspenceful and thoroughly enjoyable novel. You will not be disapointed with the magical and thought-provoking world Douglas creates. You must read this book at some point in your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2003

    the book that was a great buy

    omg it was a great book i picked it just for a read for english never thought i would ike it. but i love it. i had to buy the two other books and i can't wait to just sit down and read it. it's so great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4