BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Wayside School Is Falling Down

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    Good Read

    Another good summer reading choice that was engaging and stimulating for my 10 year old son.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    Simply Amazing! Best part of my childhood!

    Simply Amazing!

    Best part of my childhood!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Querky, funny book for kids to read

    I bought this series for my daughters. They love the stories. They are so silly that it's entertaining reading for the kids. I would suggest it for kids of all ages who are reading, especially if you are encouraging them to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    I wish I could give it 10 stars

    I'm twenty now and a junior in college and I still remember reading this book when I was in elementary school. This book has stayed with me ever since then and I still go back every now and then to read it. The wayside school series is absolutely hilarious. It's definitely a must read for children and I think adults can enjoy it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    This is the best book ever!

    Wayside School is an awesome series. It will make you fall out of your chair. I thought that Ron, Mac, Kathy, Ms. Mush, Ms. Jewls and Alison were really funny. I liked the small little stories. The short stories were really cool because they were always about something different. The characters made the book more spicy and wacky. I loved this book and hope to read more of them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2007

    The Great Story!

    Wow! You should really read Wayside School Is Falling Down by Louis Sachar! It`s so good it will pop you right off the toilet. Well,it`s about some kids that thought they had a nice teacher named Mrs. Jewels. They were wrong! You should really read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2006

    Best of the Three

    I have read this series of books for several years and I never tire of them. Wayside School is Falling Down is my favorite of the three. The antics of the characters, especially Mac, Miss Mush, Paul, and Kathy are just hilarious. The short chapters make an easy and fast daily read. There are Accelerated Reading tests for them,too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    Wacky Wayside Returns

    I read Wayside School Is Falling Down by Louis Sachar. The story is taking place at Wayside School most likely during the 1990¿s. I¿ve learned of Louis, a yard teacher or the equivalent of a monitor, Mrs. Jewls, a teacher on the 30th floor of the school, Mark Miller, a boy who¿s real name is Benjamin Nushmutt, and Bebe Gunn, a not so great student. Each chapter is about another person or event. Then I learned of Leslie and Paul¿s Tug-of-war on Leslie¿s pigtails, literally. Then Sharie brought in a hobo off the streets for show and tell. They asked him a lot of questions and yet another sock story occurred. Stories of other people have occurred but I included the more important characters. But an important chapter was called ¿A Bad Case of The Sillies¿. That storyline goes for about 3-4 chapters and is extremely descriptive about Allison getting taught by Ms. Zarves, the teacher that doesn¿t exist. My first impression of the book was that it was extremely easy to read. I think the book is quite childish but I enjoyed it because its easy and fun to read. It explains with detail each character very well and fully. He always makes sure you can see a clear picture of the character, for example he described the hobo as tall and with old ripped clothing, and shaggy-like hair. My final thoughts on the book were that it was all right. It just got confusing when he talked about all the characters and such. I wouldn¿t have each chapter on a different character. I would recommend this book to people who are looking for pointless book to read. The plot is always changing. For example, who in our world would bring a hobo for show and tell? Another great example is, that Allison got freaked out and she went to the 19th floor (it doesn¿t exist) and got taught by Ms. Zarves (she doesn¿t exist). Sure it is funny and wacky but overall I think this book should be read strictly for free reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2005

    FUNNY,FUNNY,FUNNY!

    This book was the funniest book I EVER read! It was a hilarious mix of comedy and just plain freaky-ness! I love it sooooo much! I think that any kid from grades 3 to 5 would like it. I recommend this book VERY,VERY,VERY STRONGLY! It's the perfect book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2005

    A hilarious comedy for elementry kids

    How would you feel if you were in a weird class but in an even weirder school? Oops! I forgot to mention the school is 30 stories high with one room on every floor. Well the school is Wayside School and this book is Wayside School is Falling Down. It has 30 stories that are all around Wayside School! One story is about a girl named Jenny who was late for school because she wouldn¿t eat her prune juice. You don¿t know that until the end because the story was backwards. You have to read the story backwards paragraph by paragraph and then it would make sense. I recommend this book for someone who likes a good laugh and if you are in 2nd, 3rd, or 4th grade.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2004

    Wayside School Is Falling Down

    I just finished a great book by Louis Sacher about a completely unorganized school run by a crazy principle. He installed elevators in the school since there are 30 classrooms one classroom being on each floor and only one stairway. The principle was really dumb when he designed 1 to only go up and the 2nd to only go down. Mrs. Jewls is the teacher on the thirtieth floor, and she teaches twenty nine students. She is very crazy because she throws a brand new computer out the window. There is a yard teacher who is very nice but later in the book Louis is very clean and doesn't really let the children play what games they want to play. ' Read this book to find out what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2004

    Wayside school is falling down by Katie P

    Wayside school is wacky .This is a very funny book. It's about Mrs.Jewls class, thereis Allison who got stuck on the 19th floor .Also Jason , Rondi , Benjamin , and more .If you like funny stories , you'll like this book .Louise Sachar is a awesome author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2004

    Way SideSchool is Falling Down

    The book starts where a deleriver man has a package for Mrs.Jewls.This book takesyou on a fun ride through the lives of the stundents and there teacher Mrs.Jewls.The story takes place in Way Side School it tells about the childern and what they do at school.Like one girl brings a hobo to school for show and tell.He talks about why he doesn't believe in socks.One boy can't decied on what kind ofv tattoo to get.The class tells him to get all different ones but in the end her gets a potato onhis ankel.The book is really fun and as soon as you start reading you can't stop it's so funny.although it bounes around a lot it stilla good book.It has a surprising ending and it's really funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2004

    SIMPLY AND ODDLY BEAUTIFUL

    i read 'theres a boy in the girls bathroom' in grade 4 and stole it from the library it was so good. i read 'sideways stories' and 'wayside school' as well at the time, and 1 week ago (and 10 years later) i found them again and bought them. nowadays i enjoy robert l. stevenson and jack kerouac, but any louis sachar book would make it onto the deserted island with me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2004

    wayside school was awesome

    My fourth grade teacher read my class wayside school books seven years ago and I still remember it as one of the best children's novels. Every kid should read it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2003

    Best book I've read all year.

    I am 12 years old. This is the best book I have read all year. It immediatly caught my attention, and I never turned away from it. This book shows humor, adventure, and teaches lessons in every story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2003

    A book to remember.

    My 3rd grade teacher read Wayside School is Falling Down in class. I loved it then and I love it now. Almost 14 years later it still intrigues me and never fails to catch my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2003

    Great, Funny Stories

    This is such a funny book. It is about kids in Mrs.Jewl's class. It's almost like a biography. The grade level is 4.1 . So it's perfect if your 9 through eleven.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2003

    This is an awesome awesome book

    ths book is awesome especailly, when the teacher drops the computer from the 30th floor. I would recommed this book to my friends Dalianny, Denise, Dianna,and Esther.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2002

    Wayside School Is Falling Down

    "Watch Closely,"says Mrs. Jewels. "You can learn much faster using a computer instead of paper, and a pencil." She pushes the computer out the window. The children watch it fall down the thirty floors, and smash into the sidewalk. "See?" said Mrs. Jewels. "Thats gravity! I've been trying to teach gravity to you all, but the computer taught you all a lot quicker." This is the way things happen at Wayside School. Theres 29 kids in Mrs. Jewels class, and this book tells about all of them. There is Todd, who gets in trouble everyday.... until he gets a magic dog; Paul, whose life is saved by Leslies' pigtails; Ron, who dares to try the cafeteria's Mushroom Surprise- and all of the others who help turn a day at Wayside School, into one crazy adventure after another. But, after the things that happen in Sideways stories from Wayside School, what would you expect?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2