Customer Reviews for

We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Cannot-put-the-book-down plot. Characters so real their pulse be

Cannot-put-the-book-down plot. Characters so real their pulse became my pulse. 
Writing that drew me into its intricate web one shimmering strand at a time. 

A dazzling exploration using psychology, philosophy, and science to probe
the shadowy workings of the brain, t...
Cannot-put-the-book-down plot. Characters so real their pulse became my pulse. 
Writing that drew me into its intricate web one shimmering strand at a time. 

A dazzling exploration using psychology, philosophy, and science to probe
the shadowy workings of the brain, the nerve-triggered organism of family
 and, ultimately, the mysterious place that connects us all.             

posted by Anonymous on June 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Worst book I have ever completed

Worst book I have ever read. HORRIBLE, BORING, PATHETIC. Sorry I spent the money on it. Who in their right mind would recommend this?

posted by 7898717 on June 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is definitely a quirky book, but I liked it a lot. I though

    This is definitely a quirky book, but I liked it a lot. I though the plot moved smoothly, The characters are all richly drawn. I really recommend this book as an entertaining piece of literature. A nice follow up to the Jane Austen Book Club.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Cannot-put-the-book-down plot. Characters so real their pulse be

    Cannot-put-the-book-down plot. Characters so real their pulse became my pulse. 
    Writing that drew me into its intricate web one shimmering strand at a time. 

    A dazzling exploration using psychology, philosophy, and science to probe
    the shadowy workings of the brain, the nerve-triggered organism of family
     and, ultimately, the mysterious place that connects us all.             

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Recommended

    First if all I liked it. But I am a biologist. But it is a clever twist on the dysfunctional family theme and also a thesis giving more wind to the halting of animal testing especially on primates. It is like an Uncle Tom's Cabin for Primates. There were some preachy parts, yes, but acceptable since Rosemary had to work through all this herself and she did strive to be very transparent. I loved the references to real live case studies on chimps and the synopsis of their research conclusions. But I also loved the quirkiness of the story. I have to think on this one for a few more days before I move on to a new book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Worst book I have ever completed

    Worst book I have ever read. HORRIBLE, BORING, PATHETIC. Sorry I spent the money on it. Who in their right mind would recommend this?

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Awesome

    This book is so different, interesting and insightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2014

    Great novels for me are all about character development and the

    Great novels for me are all about character development and the character development in this story was amazing. It was a very original book to me. It was original in both subject matter and the way the story was told. The main character described it as "starting in the middle". This could have been confusing but it was handled beautifully and totally enhanced the story. I also loved the way the different perspectives were handled. Sometimes the main character would come out and tell you something like, "this is what I didn't tell you" and reveal a part that is important to our understanding of the story but, although noteworthy, would not have been overly important to the character in that moment. Other times you see it in the conversations she has with others. The subject matter explores all of the complexities that subjects like animal treatment have. It is pro-animal, definitely, but it doesn't over-simplify. I was completely taken with the main character. I love the way she describes things, I love her sense of humor and her insights. Without giving anything at all away she did say, "When I run the world, librarians will be exempt from tragedy. Even their smaller sorrows will last for only as long as you can take out a book" and I work in a library and all so...... Thank you to Good Reads for the copy of this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    It Will Stay With You...

    Fowler tells such a believable story about two sisters one human, one chimpanzee raised together since birth that at times I forgot it was fiction. There are images of one heart wrenching segment burned into my mind that I will not soon forget. As a psychology major I had long forgotten reading about this research, then I read it dispassionately at a safe clinical distance. Now, Fowler's book deals with the same subject yet grabbed hold of my emotions and would not let go. So much food for thought here family dysfunction, insecurity, love, ethics, pros/cons of animal research of course, but other questions as well, for example, how can we as adults sort out trauma we experienced as a child? Think about it! Admittedly, some of the philosophical discussion was beyond me, but this book has so much more to offer. Give it a try!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2014

    Did not care for this book..., who in their right mind would sub

    Did not care for this book..., who in their right mind would subject their child to live in this environment

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Boring

    Not my cup of tea

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Esquisitely revealing, beautifully Exquisitely written. Exquisitely written, deeply reflective

    A unique tale of identity and love that will pull on the hearstrings, and leave readers questioning human nature. Easily one of my new favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2014

    I did not enjoy this book at all, it was very gloomy and dark.

    I did not enjoy this book at all, it was very gloomy and dark. At times the novel seemed disjointed and hard to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Loved the monkey girl's story

    A well told story involving some quite complex characters. I loved the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Absolutely riveting. I don't want to say anything about the plot

    Absolutely riveting. I don't want to say anything about the plot because I think it would have been an even more amazing unfolding had I not known anything about it. What I will say is that this is an extraordinary, powerful novel and that Karen Joy Fowler's writing is brilliant. And it isn't just a fictional romp - much of the "science" in this story actually took place. This is subject matter that needs to be read by all. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    We are all completely beside ourselves  Karen Joy Fowler  Trade

    We are all completely beside ourselves 
    Karen Joy Fowler 
    Trade Paperback 
    Publisher: A Marian Wood Book/Putnam 
    Publication Date: May 30, 2013 
    ISBN-13: 978-0399162091 
    320 pages 
    Uncorrected Proof - Advance Reader’s Copy

         Karen Joy Fowler writes some of the oddest fiction I’ve ever read. And when I say odd I mean brilliant in a slanted, quirky way. When she writes a nostalgic scene you will think of your childhood home, your grandparents, and those you loved, laughed, and played with when you were growing up. When she wants you to laugh at yourself or teases your sensibilities you will find the humor hidden in all the little crevices of humanity. When she holds up the mirror of sentiment and emotion you will see yourself in her story.

         We are all completely beside ourselves is a story of love, family, devotion, separation, and the dichotomy of life and the biased memories we make in our own minds concerning our pasts. But more than that it’s a story of social interaction and how we act, react, and interact through emotionally stressful and confusing times.

         One undeserved criticism Fowler sometimes receives is that her characters are unfinished, furtive, and difficult to connect to. Many of her characters are mysteriously, and I think, intentionally, incomplete and here’s why I think it’s the perfect approach to creating a superior character, especially in the emotionally-driven narratives Fowler creates. Humans are enigmatic and unknown even to themselves sometimes. We are flawed, we are duplicitous, and we are opinionated and often change our attitudes. We occasionally don’t know our own minds or the real reasons we say or act the way we do. We are hurtful yet full of kindness. We are truthful but lie to preserve our own slanted images of ourselves and we confuse emotions with obsessions. Karen Joy Fowler’s characters then, mirror the gaps and holes in us all. In essence she writes enormously realistic characters that remind us of our own strengths, failings, assets, and ambiguities. Simply put, she writes convincing characters as compassionate, flawed, emotional human beings.

         This is the second novel by Karen Joy Fowler I’ve reviewed. I gave the first, Sarah Canary, a high overall review rating for originality, style, and content. We are all completely beside ourselves is no less creative than Sarah Canary and is, in my opinion, a superior read well worth the time.

         File with: mysteries, animal rights, emotionally-driven narratives, the human condition, love, loneliness, and social interaction.

    4 ½ out of 5 Stars

    The Alternative 
    Southeast Wisconsin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    The ending is too sweet

    I enjoyed the childhood stories but her college iife--not so much

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Good read

    .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    Wow! What a story!!  I give it 6 stars!

    Wow! What a story!!  I give it 6 stars!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    About:

    From what I could gather, its about 2 sisters in some sort of ivy leauge university expiriment & one turns against the other & theresb inner tourmoil, erc. Apparently its really good.

    0 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    What is this book about?

    Whats the book about? It looks really good.

    0 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2