Customer Reviews for

We Are All Welcome Here

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great for Book Club Discussion

"We are all Welcome Here"¿ created many mixed emotions for me. One minute I was thoroughly enjoying it, the next found it a bit gloomy. One thing is for sure, this novel would be great for a book club discussion. There are many topics to discuss based on the lives of th...
"We are all Welcome Here"¿ created many mixed emotions for me. One minute I was thoroughly enjoying it, the next found it a bit gloomy. One thing is for sure, this novel would be great for a book club discussion. There are many topics to discuss based on the lives of the four main characters and there are several things I learned about being and caring for a person that is also handicapped. The ending was a bit "cheesy", however, I do believe that even if in some small way, this book will impact me. 3 1/2 Stars

posted by VirtuousWomanKF on January 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Boring

Boring and a waste of time. The ending was totally ridiculous.

posted by Anonymous on May 24, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Great for Book Club Discussion

    "We are all Welcome Here"¿ created many mixed emotions for me. One minute I was thoroughly enjoying it, the next found it a bit gloomy. One thing is for sure, this novel would be great for a book club discussion. There are many topics to discuss based on the lives of the four main characters and there are several things I learned about being and caring for a person that is also handicapped. The ending was a bit "cheesy", however, I do believe that even if in some small way, this book will impact me. 3 1/2 Stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2007

    Boring

    Boring and a waste of time. The ending was totally ridiculous.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Markaiz

    He whimpered and ntinued licking bhis wings, although they werent thawing out. ~Markaiz

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Darkstar

    "Hmmm...I don't know of anything to help that...but maybe you can try Frostheart...she's in the med den I think. (Third result)"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Loved this story!

    Great characters, great story! This story put a big smile on my face! I hated that it had to end! This is the second book I have read by this author and both were excellent. This story is about friendship, family, honor and doing the right thing. You won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    pricey

    I have bought several of her books and they were all very good. I just think if a book is going to cost well over $10, then i should get more. Most of her books were less than 200 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2010

    Historical fiction based on a true story

    The author reads her story with the most amazing voices. I loved listening to the different characters. The story unravels in a way that draws you in and keeps you thinking about the characters while away from the CD player. I bought this audio CD because it was only $2 on clearance and I needed something for the 3-hour drive back home. What a treat this story was to my day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    One of Berg's Best

    I enjoy reading Elizabeth Berg when I am in the mood for something light, yet heartfelt. This is one of her best novels. It has more substance to it & a heavier subject matter than most of her novels, yet it retains Berg's best writing qualities - identifying with characters, illustrating emotions and capturing the nuances of relationships. I listened to this on audio, which Berg read & each character had their own identifying voice, and I recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    We Are all Welcome Here

    I loved this book. Although fictionalized, the author got the idea from a fan who contacted her and asked that she write a book about her mother who contracted polio as a young woman and actually gave birth while in an iron lung. Her husband left her, and she raises her daughter by herself. In the book, she has the help of her African American friend and housekeeper. It's awe-inspiring, and very well written. I higly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Quick Read For A Good Cry!

    I'm usually pretty tough, but this book had me sobbing! Read it in a day. I just couldn't put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A Delightful Story - A New Favorite

    This was my first Elizabeth Berg novel - I'm now a huge fan and eager to read her other books. The story is fresh and original and a delight to read. This is one of those books that causes me to miss the characters at the end of the book because I've become so caught up in their story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2008

    touched my heart

    This was the first book by elizabeth Berg that I've ever read and I liked it so much that I went out and bought 3 more of her books immediately! I could'nt put the book down.It was thought provoking and heartwarming at the same time. I learned some things that surprised me about polio and about elvis presley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    Page Turner

    Cute story. An easy & entertaining read. I was impressed that it is a novel based on a real person and her real life experiences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2007

    Beautiful Story

    This book touched my heart!! Many real truths here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    The rating says it all

    Okay story that was realy slow to develop. Interesting characters and relationships between those characters. The story of a young girl and her disabled mother was interesting, but the sub plot involving the Mother's black caretaker at a pivotal time in the civil rights movement had intriguing potetial that was never developed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2006

    Boring waste of time

    I've read other titles by Elizabeth Berg which I've enjoyed. I think the author was working too hard to satisfy the desire of a person who wanted her heroic mother's story told. The plot was weak, the ending rushed and unrealistic and, because it was so boring, it took me much longer to read than the average 187 page book would have. I kept putting it down to do something else much less tiresome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2006

    One of her best !!

    I have never read a book by Elizabeth Berg before but something about this title drew me in and I am glad I picked it up. I loved it. I started it on a Monday and finished it today. I fell in love with all of the characters especially Diana and her mom because they were people I could relate to and someday love to meet. One of Berg's best, IMHO !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2006

    Loved it!

    Elizabeth Berg never lets me down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2006

    a must read

    I am half way thru and love this book. You can just see and feel the characters. Will read others by Berg.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2006

    Amazing Writer = Amazing Book

    I adore Elizabeth Berg!! This book was so wonderful, I couldn't put it down. She has a way of really bringing the characters to life, and making it impossible to put down. You want to gooble it up in one sitting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3