Customer Reviews for

We Are Their Heaven: Why the Dead Never Leave Us

Average Rating 3.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I loved it!

I thought it was riveting. I was sad when it was over because I wanted to hear more of her stories. I now watch the TV series "Medium" which is loosely based on the authors life.

posted by Seattle_Tara on March 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste your money

I was thrilled to get this book because of the dust jacket bragging of her discussing signs. Yes, this book discusses signs but the only signs discussed are those relevant to Allison Dubois and no one else. Signs from loved ones are extremely personal and they are...
I was thrilled to get this book because of the dust jacket bragging of her discussing signs. Yes, this book discusses signs but the only signs discussed are those relevant to Allison Dubois and no one else. Signs from loved ones are extremely personal and they are not interchangeable amongst the living. The further I got into the book the more obvious it became that this was not a book to help other people but to show how 'wonderful' is Allison Dubois and her life. She makes several self-congratulatory remarks and on several occsions likes to throw in the reader's face that she is wealthy and we aren't. Before anyone tries to throw out that my posting is about sour grapes, I can say I've read many books by other psychics and mediums and love them. This is a book that was poorly written and I was wondering thru the entire book, 'Didn't an editor read this before sending it to press?' Again, don't waste your money unless you just have to have this book.

posted by Anonymous on May 3, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2007

    Don't waste your money

    I was thrilled to get this book because of the dust jacket bragging of her discussing signs. Yes, this book discusses signs but the only signs discussed are those relevant to Allison Dubois and no one else. Signs from loved ones are extremely personal and they are not interchangeable amongst the living. The further I got into the book the more obvious it became that this was not a book to help other people but to show how 'wonderful' is Allison Dubois and her life. She makes several self-congratulatory remarks and on several occsions likes to throw in the reader's face that she is wealthy and we aren't. Before anyone tries to throw out that my posting is about sour grapes, I can say I've read many books by other psychics and mediums and love them. This is a book that was poorly written and I was wondering thru the entire book, 'Didn't an editor read this before sending it to press?' Again, don't waste your money unless you just have to have this book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    Heartwarming Comforting

    Mrs Dubois's books are a great comfort to any one who is dealing with the death of a loved one. She helps lessen the pain and embrace the feeling that your loved one is still with you, unseen, but not unfelt. I received much comfort from reading this book following the death of my mother. It helped me tremendously.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    I loved it!

    I thought it was riveting. I was sad when it was over because I wanted to hear more of her stories. I now watch the TV series "Medium" which is loosely based on the authors life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2007

    FABULOUS!

    Having lost a husband in his early 30's, and having an experience where I felt and saw his presence after his death I was looking for a sign that I was OK! Allison gave me that! Her book was very moving I felt deeply for so many of her subjects especially the 9-11 survivors who had lost family members. I hope to meet her one day.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Gift to Many

    Allison's story is a gift to a wide audience; that is, to all of us who have loved and lost someone. Actually, her gift of mediumship and experience with its application allows us to know that our loved ones are not lost, nor are we without them. Rather, they continue to be near us with love and help, so much more than we realize. They need us too, because, as my husband assured me, "love transcends death." My own experience with his continuing love and visits affirms Allison's message, and it is a most comforting one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    Interesting but could use more substance

    I enjoyed listening to these CDs but I ended up wanting more substance, more of an understanding of the process. But, it is a good start on the study of this issue

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    I found this very interesting

    I enjoyed listening to this book. I did not realize that the author is the same person that the TV program "Medium" is based on.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    Fascinating!

    I saw Allison DuBois on Oprah the other day. What a wonderful woman she is. I thoroughly enjoyed We Are Their Heaven, and I also liked her first book, Don't Kiss Them Goodbye. I have always been curious about the 'other side,' and can now say I have a better understanding about this topic. Being a Christian, I really believe her ability is not a random thing but is a gift from God. I'm sure she must know this herself. I also find it interesting how she gets involved to help solve crimes, clearly using her gift to help others. That too she discusses in the book. Being a big fan of the TV show Medium, I especially enjoyed chapter three (Medium). If you like the show and find the whole topic interesting as I do, I think you will enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2007

    amazing

    I have listened to both her books, and I love them both. She answers many questions about the afterlife. Having lost many loved ones, this book was particularly helpful. it has several touching cases to relate to . Alison is amazing. I am thankful for her wisdom and compassion with the dead and the living that are left behind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2007

    Good reading.

    I saw her on Oprah the other day and I have always like the show the Medium so I could not help but to buy the book. It gives you perspective from various readings done as well as her own personal encounter. I found some comfort in reading this book. A variety of information about mediums and their challenges.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    it wonte

    it not leting me donload

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2