Customer Reviews for

We Are Water

Average Rating 4
( 135 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I received this book in exchange for a fair and honest review fr

I received this book in exchange for a fair and honest review from TLC Book Tours, which was fabulous because, I mean, I was able to get a WALLY LAMB book!!!  Score! 

We Are Water by Wally Lamb is an emotional book about what it means to be a family.  It is also a book...
I received this book in exchange for a fair and honest review from TLC Book Tours, which was fabulous because, I mean, I was able to get a WALLY LAMB book!!!  Score! 

We Are Water by Wally Lamb is an emotional book about what it means to be a family.  It is also a book of secrets.

Annie Oh is a famous artist who left her husband, Orion Oh, after over 20 years of marriage in order to marry her lover Vivica.  Annie has some anger that fuels her art, coming from deep seeded secrets that no one knows.

Orion also has some anger.  He’s angry that Annie left him, angry that she is going to remarry in their hometown. . . Then there’s Ariane, the goody goody daughter, and her twin brother Andrew who is born again, and their younger sister Marissa who is the struggling actress.  All three siblings have their own secrets and life struggles to work out.

Annie’s approaching wedding brings the family together, and forces them to be honest with their secrets.

We Are Water by Wally Lamb is a more subtle read.  I enjoyed it, and would recommend it to fans of his novels.  However, I do have to say that She’s Come Undone and I Know This Much Is True were less subtle and really grabbed me.

I had a few issues with pieces of Lamb’s writing.  Sometimes it was fabulous, but I wasn’t a fan of some of the stream of consciousness paragraphs, as well as there being parts of the book with way too much dialogue.

Thanks for reading,

Rebecca @ Love at First Book

posted by RebeccaScaglione on October 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Not his best work (cont)

I have read all of this author's works, this one fell far to short of my expectations. In fact, i have read them all at least twice. Each of this author's prior works have left me with en epiphany unique to each story, with the exception of "A Wishing and a Hoping"' whi...
I have read all of this author's works, this one fell far to short of my expectations. In fact, i have read them all at least twice. Each of this author's prior works have left me with en epiphany unique to each story, with the exception of "A Wishing and a Hoping"' which was just fun all the way around.
Wally Lamb has previously written books that address a wide array of evocative, important issues such as mental illness, abuse, racism, and other issues that, if you had lived during his time references, one could relate and place within one's own life experiences, and he wrote it tight, and he wrote it well; well enough for me to not pick up another book right away but for me to think on and ponder over for time.
He took care with his words.
I miss this in his new book, and i feel that he sold short in this book. Basically, his characters are difficult to follow in this book. Almost all of them have the same voice. I had read that this author took great pride in writing from a woman's perspective in "She's Come Undone". He missed the mark here.
Characters that would have fleshed out well was the KKK man's wife. That chapter was excellent. I could picture that woman spying in a movie theatre, she was authentic. He should have followed that wpman's daughter's story more. She knew the murdered Joe J. It is never followed thru except when she reappears at the end of the story. What a missed opportunity for a story line.
Instead, the book becomes weighted down with excessive and pointless conversations.
How he handles the sexual abuse of a child, how he directs her life thru her sexual experimenting and eventual marriage to a psychologist, has three children, abuses her own child while creating angry art. Then she becomes attracted to the owner of the gallery and marries her.
It is difficult tp like this woman who destroys the life of her family. I empathize with children who are abused and sexually molested. However, she is the first person to abuse her own son. She is redeemed by being at her exhusband's side during something the reader sees coming a mile away but as at other times in this book, the author withholds so much of the parts in the story it feels as though his timing is off.
As noted earlier, it feels as though his heart wasn't in this one.
As if he was so busy being politically correct that he truly sacrifices the story line.
I truly hope his next book is better.
It was interesting, but not enough to make me want to pick it up again..........Caren1977

posted by 9802579 on October 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Not his best work (cont)

    I have read all of this author's works, this one fell far to short of my expectations. In fact, i have read them all at least twice. Each of this author's prior works have left me with en epiphany unique to each story, with the exception of "A Wishing and a Hoping"' which was just fun all the way around.
    Wally Lamb has previously written books that address a wide array of evocative, important issues such as mental illness, abuse, racism, and other issues that, if you had lived during his time references, one could relate and place within one's own life experiences, and he wrote it tight, and he wrote it well; well enough for me to not pick up another book right away but for me to think on and ponder over for time.
    He took care with his words.
    I miss this in his new book, and i feel that he sold short in this book. Basically, his characters are difficult to follow in this book. Almost all of them have the same voice. I had read that this author took great pride in writing from a woman's perspective in "She's Come Undone". He missed the mark here.
    Characters that would have fleshed out well was the KKK man's wife. That chapter was excellent. I could picture that woman spying in a movie theatre, she was authentic. He should have followed that wpman's daughter's story more. She knew the murdered Joe J. It is never followed thru except when she reappears at the end of the story. What a missed opportunity for a story line.
    Instead, the book becomes weighted down with excessive and pointless conversations.
    How he handles the sexual abuse of a child, how he directs her life thru her sexual experimenting and eventual marriage to a psychologist, has three children, abuses her own child while creating angry art. Then she becomes attracted to the owner of the gallery and marries her.
    It is difficult tp like this woman who destroys the life of her family. I empathize with children who are abused and sexually molested. However, she is the first person to abuse her own son. She is redeemed by being at her exhusband's side during something the reader sees coming a mile away but as at other times in this book, the author withholds so much of the parts in the story it feels as though his timing is off.
    As noted earlier, it feels as though his heart wasn't in this one.
    As if he was so busy being politically correct that he truly sacrifices the story line.
    I truly hope his next book is better.
    It was interesting, but not enough to make me want to pick it up again..........Caren1977

    18 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I received this book in exchange for a fair and honest review fr

    I received this book in exchange for a fair and honest review from TLC Book Tours, which was fabulous because, I mean, I was able to get a WALLY LAMB book!!!  Score! 

    We Are Water by Wally Lamb is an emotional book about what it means to be a family.  It is also a book of secrets.

    Annie Oh is a famous artist who left her husband, Orion Oh, after over 20 years of marriage in order to marry her lover Vivica.  Annie has some anger that fuels her art, coming from deep seeded secrets that no one knows.

    Orion also has some anger.  He’s angry that Annie left him, angry that she is going to remarry in their hometown. . . Then there’s Ariane, the goody goody daughter, and her twin brother Andrew who is born again, and their younger sister Marissa who is the struggling actress.  All three siblings have their own secrets and life struggles to work out.

    Annie’s approaching wedding brings the family together, and forces them to be honest with their secrets.

    We Are Water by Wally Lamb is a more subtle read.  I enjoyed it, and would recommend it to fans of his novels.  However, I do have to say that She’s Come Undone and I Know This Much Is True were less subtle and really grabbed me.

    I had a few issues with pieces of Lamb’s writing.  Sometimes it was fabulous, but I wasn’t a fan of some of the stream of consciousness paragraphs, as well as there being parts of the book with way too much dialogue.

    Thanks for reading,

    Rebecca @ Love at First Book

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    He's written the same novel over again

    Am I the only one who finds this novel to be the same one he's written over and over and now again? Big, bad conservatives or religious people (with special hatred doled out personally to Dr. Laura by name), balanced by troubled but oh so noble liberals who eventually triumph over repressive religion, morality and even the codes of law. I hated this novel and will probably not read hiim again. My advice dear readers is unless you are hungry for a good dose of pious liberality countered by bashing of anything and everything that smacks of conservatism, go watch an hour of Duck Dynasty instead!

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is a very difficult review for me to write. I've thought a

    This is a very difficult review for me to write. I've thought about it for a couple of days now and wondered if I'd get it down right for you. I've been an avid fan of Wally Lamb's for many, many years and had such excitement when I learned he had a new book out. I rushed to get a copy. I'm sad to say this one was a disappointment to me in some major ways, although I did grasp the over all story and could appreciate what Mr. Lamb's intention was in telling it. (See Summary above)



    This is first of all a long book that became increasingly a drain to read as I found it less engaging. It was mostly a stream of consciousness novel, and I'm not fond of that writing style (I've never been a James Joyce fan) so the 570 some pages became a torture that I seemed never to make headway on. I began to dread picking the book up. Does this tell you something?



    While I expected it to be a book that was focused more on the story of a lesbian couple, it really wasn't. It's more a story of a wildly dysfunctional and bleeding family told mostly from the perspective of a wildly dysfunctional psychologist father. Which would have been fine if it were interesting...



    While the book is divided into chapters/segments written from the minds and voices of the different characters, it weighed heavily on the view of the father of the family, it seemed to me.

    I found I couldn't feel an affinity with any of these characters. For the most part they were a very whiny and self-serving bunch...self-absorbed in their different psychosis's. It became a downer. It wasn't a pleasant read. While we are given the most minute details of the characters and their personal issues, this was couched in a stream of consciousness that was boring. It clogged things up. There seemed no light at the end of the dark tunnel as life's greatest horror stories were revealed. Just too wordy and dense.



    I was soundly disappointed. Over the course of his career, I've been an avid reader and follower of Wally Lamb. I feel this one falls short of his other writings. It may be a melting pot of his life experiences, and perhaps his informative times with the women prisoners he's encountered. I have no idea. Maybe it was a story just too close for him to write about successfully.



    In wrapping up, again, I found "We Are Water" a struggle to get through. I finished it because it was a Wally Lamb book and I really wanted to push my way through it hoping it would get better. Was the story worth it ultimately? Not in my opinion. Would it have been better in another format/writing style? Perhaps.



    I'm sad to say it was disappointing.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    We are Water

    Fantastic book, just like all Wally Lamb's work. He never disappoints. The trouble is I have to read his books as fast as I can, then there is a terrible let-down when I'm done. I hardly ever read a book twice, but have read most of his again.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    I hesitated to start the book because Ive read all his novels an

    I hesitated to start the book because Ive read all his novels and I knew that once I started to read I would not be able to put it down and then it would end. This story opened my eyes wide to how the actions of others affect our life. All families have secrets and emotional situations that have to be resolved, sometimes hurting others. Now I will have to wait for the next Wally Lamb remarkable story. Loved loved this book!! Read it in two days, even into the wee hours of the morning.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    I am so sorry I bought this book.  It could be a wonderful story

    I am so sorry I bought this book.  It could be a wonderful story, but Mr. Lamb's detailed descriptions of child abuse are uncalled for. What his point in doing this is, I am not sure.  Was I supposed to feel sorry for Kent because he could not control himself?  Get real.  Is he suggesting that people are gay because they were abused as children?  Get educated. I will no longer read his books. I am sorry I spent my hard earned money on this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    Why are some of the reviews "rediculous conversations"

    Why are some of the reviews "rediculous conversations" with jokers who use this as their own personal forum? Makes me think that B&N review guidelines are a joke!
    I DID read the book & agree that it's not my favorite of the author's work. Had to skip the child abuse descriptions. I do like the way the author writes & will read any others he does.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    We Are Water

    I have read all of Wally Lambs books and loved them all. This book was fantastic. I had a very hard time putting it down. I finished it in two days. Im looking foward to the next one he writes!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Why Did It Have To End?

    Oh how I loved this book! I am a huge fan of Wally Lamb's writing. I have read I Know This Much is True and She's Come Undone three times each! We Are Water is my favorite of all....I loved the characters, the story lines, the surprises, the emotions....there was nothing I didn't love about this story! I gasped, I cried, I laughed, I agonized....and I am truly jealous of readers who pick up this book for the first time and start on that first page. Wally Lamb, thank you for sharing your storytelling talent with those of us who yearn for a novel that we can delve into....no one does it as well as you!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    I love Wally Lamb books

    As usual a sensitive, deep, funny book. I laughed ,out loud, and I cried. The way he writes, the way he phrases his words, bring his characters to life in a way that few authors can.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2013

    Wally Lamb does it again! Another book of intrigue and wisdom,al

    Wally Lamb does it again! Another book of intrigue and wisdom,albeit brutally so. Thank you, Mr. Lamb for sharing your deep psychological insight into painfully difficult topics.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2013

    I have read all of Wally Lamb's books and was eager to see this¿

    I have read all of Wally Lamb's books and was eager to see this….but it is by far his worst--too long, too mundane, too predictable, too insipid.
    Without giving away plot, I will say that as a therapist for 40 years, the father was totally unbelievable. The rest of the characters were shallowly developed. I really did not like this book. The sex felt gratuitous and the resolution was way way way too over the top. Sorry--I really wanted to like this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Missing something

    The text is great, but I was under the imprression that this "Vook" would be supplemented with photos and videos, hence the name Vook instead of Nook Book. How will I analyze the correctness of my posture without a visual? I am extremely disappointed and feeling a bit silly for being duped.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is a complex and carefully crafted story about secrets; how

    This is a complex and carefully crafted story about secrets; how the keeping of secrets diminishes us, destroys our ability to fully connect  with the human experience and taints every relationship we have.  By building the story around a family the author fully illustrates the cause and effect on each member and upon the individual's relationships outside of the family.  
    I especially appreciated the device the author used to tell the story from the perspective of each character, speaking in the first person.  I was able to believe that the emotions, actions and reactions were truly owned by that character.
    I read a lot of fiction.  Some, I read, enjoy and mentally discard.  Other work stays with me for years.  This is one I expect to read and read again, gaining something new to cherish each time.  

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    To: Hey ;)

    Hey. Im 14 to. Im a girl. Whats ur email so i can add u? #Single

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Pepole sup

    Yo pepoles are cray-cray!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    mina.bulaya@gmail.com

    First Name: Mina
    Last Name: Bulaya

    Add me! Thx :D

    Ps. Stop with all that 'Great A Free iPad' crap. Seriously it ain't gonna work honey!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Get a pink ipad

    Kiss your hand three times and post this at three others vooks and check under your pillow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    terrible

    I wish i didnt ven have to give it the one star

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7