Customer Reviews for

We Band of Angels: The Untold Story of American Nurses Trapped on Bataan by the Japanese

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Historical and very compelling rendition of the capture and emprisoning by the Japanese army of American nurses and citizens in the Phillipines during WWII

    This book tells of the bravery and steadfastness of American nurses (the Angels mentioned in the title,) and other American citizens as they were held prisoner in a makeshift camp in Manilla during WWII. Within the camp, the prisoners were made to provide for themselves as to food and other necessities. You will feel desperation for their situation, a thrill of joy as the group is liberated by American forces sent to save them, and pride as you realize the resolve it took for them to survive. A very human side of the war.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2007

    Beautiful

    My sister has been recommending this book to me for a couple years. I decided to go to nursing school a short time ago, and upon finding out this was ABOUT nurses, I immediately felt an obligation to read it. These women are truly amazing, this is what nursing is all about. The love and compassion and fierce loyalty they had for themselves and for their patients, is what I aspire to achieve in the future. This isn't just for history buffs or nurses, I think all women should read this book. It will really make you feel proud of being a woman.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2002

    The Untold Story of Women in WWII

    I was surprised to learn about women in WWII. These women were put through extrodinary conditions I will never face. One nurse became the most decorated woman in the United States military. This is an excellent book for young and old nurses alike. This book shows the nuts and bolts of critical care nursing and what life was like for women in uncharted territories such as being exposed to combat.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2000

    Sister Angels of Battan ---Nephew

    Great Book.If author ever writes a sequel, I would like to contribute. Ressa and Geneva Jenkins (Younger sisters of my mother)were both Angels of Battan. When two navy planes were sent to rescue the nurses, the sisters agreed to go on seperate planes. Ressa escaped to Australia. Geneva was on the plane that suffered damages and waited in the jungle with others. After the plane took off without them, they were captured by the Japanese and taken to Santo Thomas.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2010

    Great history

    I am half through this book. Very good writing. The author holds your attention.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2008

    A Nursing Student

    This book was a wonderful glimpse into a woman's view of the war and the horrors they faced in the Battlefield Hospitals.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2000

    Awesome!

    This books is gripping and hard to put down. Also, it is educational in regards to the true course of World War II in the South Pacific, and the ensuing lack of respect for what the nurses went through there. It is amazing that the military was able to get away with how the nurses were treated after the war. This is a must read book for all nurses. It is inspiring and has helped me put perspective on my career of 23 years. My mother, who is a nurse read it. She remembers being drafted in WW II (although she did not go) was very inspired by this. Her two friends who are of the same age have read it and enjoyed it. It really speaks to many facets of the war and the times. A great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Wonderful true story of American Nurses in WWII in the Phillipines.

    As an R.N., I was humbled by this story. What the nurses and soldiers experienced was gruesome, and life changing. We should be proud of our armed forces around the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2001

    Nursing Pride!!

    I could not put this book down! I cried, I laughed, but mostly it made me very proud of my profession. This book is a MUST for all nurses, student nurses, and future nurses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2000

    These are courageous and brave women!

    Reading this excellently researched book was like meeting old friends. Elizabeth Norman filled in spaces after I interviewed some of these brave nurses for a very moving chapter in my book. Each nurse had a story to tell on her own, yet they banded together to perform as nurses under the most severe hardships. Their stories show that nursing is a calling, not a job. I hope all nurses and nursing students will be able to read this history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2000

    Fantastic

    A wonderful account of the times and trials of these courageous WWII nurses. As an active duty RN for the military, reading about the lives of these women and their time during the war makes reminds me of the reason I chose to serve in the military, especially in a time in which our role is often ambiguous. Every nurse, who either loves nursing or at one point in time loved it, should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2000

    Fascinating story

    This is a truly fascinating bit of American history. Too often the stories of women veterans are left out of the stories we tell about WWII. The author is not particularly literary as a writer, but she does a good enough job with the material. And her subject is amazing. A good book that I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2000

    Very Powerful and Humbling

    This is a must read for all nurses in all walks of life.Should be required reading for all nursing students. This is a must read for those who question how women would hold up in combat and should be required reading in military leadership schools. As an RN and the wife of a career military officer,this book humbled me professionally and made me feel shame for the military system that cast them out when done. 22yrs in service and a promotion in her 40s to Captain!! WOW I want to hear the response of the 1st Lieutenant today who expects that promotion automatically long before 30. Excellent book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2000

    inspiring

    This book makes me proud to be a nurse. The women whose stories are told in this wonderful book should be role models for all of us working in modern well equiped hospital. I will find it very hard to complain about being overworked and under appreciated now. I'm glad I read this book at a time in my own nursing career when I feel burnt out and always tired.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 1999

    A true story that reads like a novel

    I had trouble putting it down, even though I knew how it would end. As a nurse myself, I found this story inspiring and thought provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1