Customer Reviews for

We Band of Angels: The Untold Story of the American Women Trapped on Bataan

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended

Very moving book. I am embarrassed that my knowledge of WWII history was so lacking. I had no idea about what happened in the Philippines at that time.

posted by mtmNE on April 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Get a free ipad

Kiss ur hand post this in three different books and look under your pillow

posted by Anonymous on March 7, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Very moving book. I am embarrassed that my knowledge of WWII history was so lacking. I had no idea about what happened in the Philippines at that time.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    Excellent Book

    Not only does this book tell you what the nurses endured during their time as prisoners of war but it shows you that being a prisoner of war affects you for the rest of your life. The Japanese starved their prisoners and this temporary malnutrition had a lifelong affect, making it virtually impossible to completely forget their years of imprisonment. These ladies were amazing - nursing other prisoners while they, themselves, were suffering from beri beri, dysentary, malaria, and other horrible diseases.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    So good I'm reading it for the second time

    I can rate this book while still reading because this will be the second time I've read it. If you're a nurse or have served in the military this is a must read. When the Japanese invaded the Philippines during WWII ninety-nine American army and navy nurses without any combat training found themselves suddenly behind enemy lines. They spent months working under appalling conditions in hidden field hospitals in the jungles of Bataan, moving frequently to stay ahead of Japanese. Eventually an evacuation was executed. However, when these nurses learned that only they were to be evacuated while the injured men in their care were to be left behind with only a handful of medics to see to the most basic care the vast majority of them refused to get on the ships and stayed behind to continue caring for their patients; over seventy of these nurses voluntarily remained on Bataan. After some months they and their patients were captured and became part of the infamous Bataan Death March. The nurses survived the Death March and endured three years of captivity in a POW camp. We Band of Angels is a story of dedication, compassion, and courage. This is a part of our history that has received too little attention, give these women and nurses the recognition and honor they deserve and read their story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Get a free ipad

    Kiss ur hand post this in three different books and look under your pillow

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Excellent tale of courage, cooperation and resiliency.

    One of the main characters grew up in my town and yet many people knew nothing of her. We Band of Angels became a "One Book, One Community" selection for Bridgewater, MA. The book is so well written and shows the amazing strength of these WWII women. The author, Elizabeth Norman, spoke to the townspeople and added other interesting facts to what we had already learned.
    Anyone who has some knowledge of WWII or had a relative serve, should read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    A great read!

    A must read for anyone interested in WW2 history in the Pacific or in the history of Women on the front lines

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Wow

    As a nurse i was honored to read about the true heros of my profession. I met on veterans day 2012 Mrs Diane Carlson Evens,RN, and heard of her life as a nurse in Veitnam and her life following the war. I learned of her fight to get, not only her and her contemporaries recognized for there service to our country, but also all women who had been in war. She is the founder and Chair of the Vietnam Women's Memorial. Talking with her light in me a passion to find out and learn about these women and to bring voice to there stories. I found this book very informative and truly a blessing to read. These women were angels, then and today. Nurses in war are Angels for in that moment they are a little peace of heaven because of there dedication amd love for there patents. Thank you for righting this book to set the story streaght.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2015

    fascinating!

    I've just started reading it but loving it. I am a nurse and my grandmother was a nurse at Pearl Harbor after the bombing so this was the closest I may come to her story. It is written well with many details unique to these women there and as always the inspiration of how the human spirit rises above and survives unbelievable atrocities.

    I will probably recommend it for my bookclub as well as it brings up so many issues in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Interesting history of the Nurses in WWII

    This was an interesting read regarding the nurses who were held as POWs in WWII. A must read for those that are interested in real life stories of WWII POWs, especially the nurses that were involved and their hardships they underwent as POWs.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    A mst read for all students of WWII or Womens Studies

    Elizabeth Norman has crafted a highly readable, very enlightening book on the little know plight of the U.S. Army and Navy Nurses trapped in the Philippines for the duration of WWII. The courage, dedication and fortitude of these women should stand as and example to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Highly recommended A must read...too bad our governmen didn't give them their just rewards....

    An incrredible story of World War Ii in the Phillipines before the Phillipines,Bataan and Corregidor fell, and the suffering these nurses endured and the prisoners they cared for....Truly INSPIRING !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1