Customer Reviews for

We Beat the Street: How a Friendship Pact Led to Success

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Awesome

    I love this book ! GREAT READ FOR MIDDLE SCHOOL STUDENTS! Very inspiring !

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Wow What a Story! My 11-yr-old Couldn't Put It Down!

    I found this book looking for something interesting/appropriate for my 11 yr-old (6th grade) boy for a school assignment to read a biography and do a presentation on the person. He ended up doing it on all three doctors.

    I read the book before I gave it to him, and was inspired. I especially liked the format - stories and then comments by the now-grown-doctors about the incidents they were relating. From the moment he picked up the book, my son was interested. He read it in about 2 days (not his usual pattern, especially for a school project).

    Not only was the story interesting and inspiring, it challenges the reader to think of his or her own character and his or her own choices. Some of the more difficult part for me was trying to give my son -- a middle-class white suburban kid -- a sense of what the intercity is like and how enticing the world of gangs, guns, and drugs can look to kids who can't see and weren't told about any other options.

    I know the story of The Three Doctors has been widely shared in the black, especially intercity, community, but this is a story for EVERY KID of every color, class or creed.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    A life changing story

    This is a book for all of you caught up with the streets

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    the story was great i recommand for children ages 10-15 to read this book.they will gain alot of expericence from it.

    We Beat the Street is about three friends growing up the ghetto who want to become doctors. They go to the same school and they share the same interests. They get in trouble a lot but that does not stop them. Sampson for instance is arrested for having stolen property, Rameek throws a student ot the ground and gives him a concussion, and George is well, err generally good. my classmates and i enjoyed reading this book.AUGUSTINE S 10

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    we beat the streets

    We beat the streets was one of my favorite books. Like i really loved it because they kept it real in the book. They talked about how life was growning up on the streets, they even talked about how even if u are on the streets you can still become succesful if u work hard!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Wonderful

    Im reading this in my class and its very good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    It was good because it was suspensful and a nice story and I lik

    It was good because it was suspensful and a nice story and I like the guys

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Great!

    Im reading this book in school and so far, i LOVE IT!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Anonymous

    Realy good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    We beat the Street

    I like the book because it is a life lesson.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Great book

    This was a really great book to read. I reccomend it to anyone that is looking for an exccelent read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    This book was Great!

    This book is a very inspiring story about 3 kids who were nobodies and became something. It made beleive if you put the effort into something you will achevie. I reccomend this book to everybody!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    The Best Book ever

    This book is about three boys who grew up in a very poor neighborhood. They all find each other in high school and form a friendship pact. They all move on to become doctors. My favorite character was all the boys because they were always determined to follow their dream. I liked this book because it showed me that you can do anything you want to do with hard work. You should read this book because it teaches young rweaders to folow their dreams wwith lots of hard work and support.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2010

    What I think of this book is that this book was interesting... From the part when Sampson hurt his foot in the beginnig to where they graduated and became doctors at the end... you should get this book

    What I recommened to people is to really get to understand this book and to make sure that people have a good time reading this book as my classmates and I have done. When you get to understand this book you will start to have a fun time reading this book. It starts pretty good with some sequences going on and when u get a little more in to it, then you will start to really enjoy this book. Get out and buy this book. Have Fun

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Inspiring!!!

    I am Daniesha Carr a student from Hewitt Trussville High School. This book was very inspiring to me. It showed how no matter what your circumstances are, you can achieve all of your dreams, goals, or desires if you try you hardest and give it your all. It also gives the stories of their circumstances in a poverty stricken community surrounded with violence and drugs. It also gives a plethora of examples and cases when all of their dreams, and hard work put toward those dreams could have been ruined. These young men could have fallen into the statistics of their community, but they made a pact and did their best, although slipping a few times, to withstand temptations and to pursue their main goal no matter what anyone said or did.

    Overall I enjoyed this novel. It was very intriguing. Even though I can not relate to the struggles of the three young men, the book is written in a context where it is not hard to connect and understand the characters story. One thing I that made me a little iffy about the novel is that all the criminal acts the boys committed, they always seemed to either get a lighter sentence, or get no punishments at all. Someone or thing was truly on their side.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    This book is really great and it will catch the readers attention.

    I love this book because there are several things you can learn from it. It is a true story that will help motivate readers into following their dreams and believe that it will come true if you just work on it. It is written by the three friends, doctors Sampson Davis, George Jenkins, Rameck Hunt. They wrote something from their experience in each chapter on what made up their minds to want to become doctors. They didn¿t think they could do it because first of all they were black and they also lack money. They lived in a place where selling drugs is the only way to earn money. They also had to learn that staying in the streets could either kill or sent them to jail for the rest of their life the hard way. Everyday they had to struggle against peer pressure, gang violence, and rampant drug use. Then one day while trying to skip class to shoot hoops the boys found themselves listening to a special presentation about the Seton Hall University Pre-Medical/ Pre-Dental Plus program. For the first time ever, the three friends believed that they might really have an opportunity to make their dreams come true. They made a pack to stay together if they get accepted for the scholarship. For those who love true stories and are eager to learn new things like I do, I recommend you read this book. I think this is a book for teenagers to help them decide what they are going to do with their life and how to do it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    We

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!! Highly Recommended - you must check it out!! Highly Recommended - you must check it out!! Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    It is an excellent book for the students to read about and learn from it, specially for the youth people who are struggling to reach their goal,reading this book will change your life and you will learn anything is possible in life if you put your mind to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Meh

    It was an okay book but to me it was a waste of time in my life but i would recommend it to a person that likes reading

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Typical

    This story sucks! Just another group trying to be the next Dr? Dre!!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3