Customer Reviews for

We Bought a Zoo: The Amazing True Story of a Young Family, a Broken Down Zoo, and the 200 Wild Animals That Change Their Lives Forever

Average Rating 4
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Umm....debatable

I haven't seen the movie, but I think the book is pretty good. I see that other reviewers say it was confusing, or that the movie made it more understandable--if that's a word--but I think the book is only confusing if you don't know what it's talking about.

I unders...
I haven't seen the movie, but I think the book is pretty good. I see that other reviewers say it was confusing, or that the movie made it more understandable--if that's a word--but I think the book is only confusing if you don't know what it's talking about.

I understood a lot of it, and I was pretty moved by it, but that may be just because I'm an animal lover.

posted by xomehbabyxo on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Poorly written....

Amazing story, but very weakly written...

posted by 6347097 on December 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    In Benjamin Mee’s bestselling memoir, he uproots his famil

    In Benjamin Mee’s bestselling memoir, he uproots his family and moves to England when his brothers join him in his dream business venture that involves buying and restoring a run-down zoo. Benjamin’s inexperience and the death of his wife take a heavy toll on the project, but he keeps moving forward. As he and his crew work on the restoration, bonds are formed, animals escape, and chaos ensues. In the end, the hard work and motivation payed off, and now the Dartmoor Zoological Park is incredibly successful.
    From the start of We Bought A Zoo, it becomes obvious that this is not just a book of animal stories. It is a book of dreams and struggles, family and friends, and learning how to move forward after a tragedy. The themes in this book are quite cliche, but presented in a way that’s hardly cheesy. Follow your dreams, don’t give up when the going gets tough, take something bad and make something good come from it, and work hard for what you want are some of the most prevalent ones.
    My favorite segments of the book were the ones that involved the animals. The stories about them are heartwarming and usually laugh-out-loud funny or even jaw-dropping. I also love the behind the scenes look at how a zoo is run. The stories of Katherine’s cancer and struggles with it add so much emotion to the story. I never thought I could laugh, cry, and be shocked all within the course of reading two pages, but I was on more than one occasion while reading We Bought A Zoo. I would have enjoyed even more animal stories, but there were enough to keep me satisfied. The only major complaint I have is this: I disliked how much time was spent discussing the actual buying process and finances involved with obtaining the zoo. I was looking forward to animals and adventure, but before that, I got a huge dose of money issues and bank terms I don’t even know about yet. However, I still loved the book.
    Definitely read this book if you like going to the zoo. It gives a pretty good depiction about what’s going on behind the scenes and what happens when animals need veterinary care. This is also a great book for animal lovers, as these are some of the most entertaining animal stories I’ve ever read. This would not be a great book for children, as it has some swearing and would probably be hard for them to follow. For everyone else, I would definitely recommend it, even if you’re not that into animals or the zoo. It is filled with human emotion and strong family bonds. If you are an animal lover, I would also highly recommend the works of James Herriot, the country veterinarian.
    Overall, I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    The best book ever

    The book is the coolest I've ever read

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Loved it!

    I had this book sitting in my nook wish list for quite some time and when I learned they were making a movie about it, I decided it was time to finally buy it and read it. I can't believe I waited so long! The book was well-written and humorous. I applaud Ben Mee and his family for taking on a run-down zoo and I enjoyed reading what it took to get it going. I found it very informative, even the boring parts about the money and licensing and such.

    It's an incredible story!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Amazing by movieking

    I saw the movie today and loved it.i even cried.then i read the book and felt the same way but if i did have to say which was better i would say the movie because i am movieking and i felt like i was in the action.you might have a different review but this is one is mine.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Love it

    Love the story

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    great book

    Great book, well written and inspiring story. Makes me want to drop everything to pursue my dreams.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    My Review

    This book is the best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Sad and heartbreaking

    This story brings a warmhearting sense to all readers. When i read it it made me cry of how this zoo was. It was a sad book and if i was tht person i would try my hardest to bring it back up. This story touched my heart and warmed it. All readers should get a nook and read this wonderful coragous determanation themed book. In others words this book was fantastic.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Movie vwas great, i hope the book is!!

    Great movie so i guess the book would be!




    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    The movie....

    Th

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    highly recommended

    I saw the movie first. This book is better than the movie! If you love animals, and people overcoming adversity, then you will love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    we bought a zoo

    Great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Dylan :)

    I saw the movie and Dylan is super hot!!!!!!! The movie's amazing I saw it twice and now I'm reading the book! PS Colin Ford (the guy who playes Dylan) is THE BEST ACTOR EVER!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    To the person who says dylan looks like a girl...

    U must be nlind cuz... uh... hes hot and an amazing actor... matt damon was fantastic!!!!!!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2015

    Cfvngvgvgvgv

    Gbgvgbggvgvgvgvvvtvvtvtvtvvrvtvvtvvvtvtvtvt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2015

    I

    I have the movie and it tots rocks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Love It !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Love the movie. I recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    We bought a zoo

    Best movie ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    LOVE THE BOOK AND MOVIE

    GO BENJAMIN MEE!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    A review

    A beutiful heartwarming story. Great for all ages. LOVE IT! &#9786 I have the movie and the book. Get it. Read it. Love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3