Customer Reviews for

We Die Alone: A WWII Epic of Escape and Endurance

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Gripping!

This true story is an inspirational example of human courage and mans compassion to reach out and help one another at all costs. This is truly an extaordinary heroic tale that will grip everyone who reads it!

posted by Anonymous on January 21, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommed.

I don't usually read this type of book but it was an amazing read--well written and the fact that it actually happened grabs your heart.

posted by 6191829 on February 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2002

    Gripping!

    This true story is an inspirational example of human courage and mans compassion to reach out and help one another at all costs. This is truly an extaordinary heroic tale that will grip everyone who reads it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2000

    Amazing Story

    I am not a voracious reader by any stretch of the imagination but this story had me locked in for two days. 'We Die Alone' is an incredible story of determination and courage set against the imposing danger of the Arctic elements and Nazi-occupied Norway. The story is incredible and the idea that it is a true story makes it amazing.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2000

    A Great Adventure

    We Die Alone, captures Jan Baalsrud's amazing struggle for life. Trying to survive, Jan, a spy for the allied forces in WWII, makes an attempt to cross the Norweigen border into Sweeden in order to save his life, and evade the Nazi forces that are on his tail. Inorder to make it, he must first be able to mannage the journey in the cold arctic climate.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2001

    A PAGE-TURNER

    I could not put this book down once I picked it up. I read it cover-to-cover in one sitting. But an even better edge-of-your-seat page-turner is Dorit Whiteman's recent book, Escape Via Siberia, which also tells an against-all-odds WW II survival story but provides richer historical context.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Impressive!

    This is one of those books that shows us just how amazing some of those in the World War 2 generation were. Half of what this guy went through would kill most people today!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Higly recommend

    Being of Norwegian heritage may have influenced my rating a tad but even without this "connection" to the subjects in the story, it is still a gripping account of survival and compassion for fellow humans during a time of suspicion and uncertainty. It was, for me, one of those "hard to put down" books. It's an amzing account of the will to live.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2003

    This book got me reading Howarth's stuff!!

    I'm serious this was amazing. It is somethin else for someone to tell a story when they knew the person. Outstanding.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2000

    northern cali raver

    this is an excellent book . it makes you want to read it more and more

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Good book

    I have to say it was worth the money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    A truly Epic "Epic of survival"

    Wonderful book, puts you into the smuggling of an injured soldier. The feats of human strength by the people is amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Josh

    Walks in

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1