Customer Reviews for

We Need to Talk about Kevin

Average Rating 4
( 230 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding novel..very disturbing

I just finshed this excellent novel and I am overwhelmed. The writing is outstanding, and I have not been able to stop thinking about these characters. Kevin is a sociopath AND he is evil. Mostly, I am struck by Eva's love for Kevin, which is apparent throughout, but ...
I just finshed this excellent novel and I am overwhelmed. The writing is outstanding, and I have not been able to stop thinking about these characters. Kevin is a sociopath AND he is evil. Mostly, I am struck by Eva's love for Kevin, which is apparent throughout, but especially at the end of the story. This novel is thought- provoking, disturbing and frightening. I highly recommend this novel to readers who love to figure out the endings (I did, with the help of wonderfully placed clues) of incredibly well written books. Truly the best novel I've read in a long while!

posted by Anonymous on May 27, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Atrocious!!!!!!

This book was AWFUL. It didn't have to be. It had so much potential with its plot. I liked how the author told the story through Eva's letters to her husband, but her use of language ... my God! I practically needed a dictionary to get through it. People just don't...
This book was AWFUL. It didn't have to be. It had so much potential with its plot. I liked how the author told the story through Eva's letters to her husband, but her use of language ... my God! I practically needed a dictionary to get through it. People just don't speak that way. It made her book incredibly difficult to navigate and care about. It was also horribly predictable. I knew the ending about 1/8 of the way through. I finished the book because I started it, but it took forever to do so, and I am sorry I even picked it up. I can think of five different authors who could have written this same exact story a million times better. What a shame.

posted by 720380 on December 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    Atrocious!!!!!!

    This book was AWFUL. It didn't have to be. It had so much potential with its plot. I liked how the author told the story through Eva's letters to her husband, but her use of language ... my God! I practically needed a dictionary to get through it. People just don't speak that way. It made her book incredibly difficult to navigate and care about. It was also horribly predictable. I knew the ending about 1/8 of the way through. I finished the book because I started it, but it took forever to do so, and I am sorry I even picked it up. I can think of five different authors who could have written this same exact story a million times better. What a shame.

    10 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    I didn't get the allure

    I bought this book because of all these wonderful reviews. However, the book did not live up to its reputation. I found the book to be annoying and hard to get through. Just like another reviewer commented on - the author uses TONS of UNNECESSARY $10 words and not just one at a time. I would not recommend this book anyone, in fact, I've told many people not to bother.

    9 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Terrible waste of language.

    The writer uses language well, in my humble opinion - if only she had used it to tell a story, instead of having the story unfold in letters. No woman in the universe - no matter how austere, educated, narcissistic, etc. - could have penned these letters. It was simply unbelievable that such letters could ever have been written.

    Shriver should simply have told us her story, instead of infusing the book with unrealistic letters from wife to estranged husband. I could not stop rolling my eyes and wondering who on Earth would write like this. Answer: Nobody. Not today, not in 1800, not ever. It was that bad.

    I look forward to the movie in this instance, knowing that Tilda Swinton can save it. I hope they don't have her reading letters for 2 hours though.

    Skip it and hope the film is better.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Tough read

    The author seems to spend more time trying to use big, complicated words instead of telling the story. It is written in letter format. Would have been better to just write a story. Save your money or just see the movie.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Not worth it

    Save yourself the headache and watch the movie.

    Save yourself the $1.05 and skip the movie.

    The book is deliberately pretentious, reflecting the mother's character. The book really isn't worth the read. It's ultimately a regurgitated review of our inability to discuss and deal with mental health issues.

    I also take issue with the weapon of choice. Even though the average gym is smaller than Agincourt, it doesn't seem completely plausible. The character is a psychopath (or whatever), but quivers hold less than magazines.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Anonymous

    I couldnt even finish this book. I only got to page 47 and its just to hard to read. Its hard to understand what is going on and the vocabulary is so complecated and not needed. I also didnt like how the book was told in letter form, it just makes it less realistic and boring. Pass on the book and watch the movie the movie is much better and not boring like the book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    I hated this book. I hated ALL of the characters. The father n

    I hated this book. I hated ALL of the characters. The father needed a good slap. I found him to be pathetic and wishy washy. The mother clearly should not have had not only one child but two. Why did no one take this kid to a doctor? Just one that said he did not show signs of autism. What about mental illness? How about a second opinion? Kevin obviously had some serious problems, of course he would shoot up the school! He was a sociopath.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I would say that it's pretty rare that I don't finish a book tha

    I would say that it's pretty rare that I don't finish a book that I start. Once I start a book, whether it's good or bad, I feel compelled to finish it. Sometimes, though, I find a book that I just cannot get through. Unfortunately, We Need to Talk About Kevin is one of those books. I made it through about 14% of the book (thanks Stanza for allowing me to be weirdly specific with my percentages) and I'm surprised that I was able to make it that far. I feel badly about not finding the strength to finish this book, especially because it's one I really wanted to read.

    The thing that sticks out for me was the writing. Shriver goes overboard with flowery language. While it might have been okay for Shriver to write while thumbing through a thesaurus the entire time, I dislike having to spend so much time looking up words in a dictionary while reading. Don't get me wrong, I love expanding my mind and learning new words, but every third word is ridiculous! In general, this is probably what killed the book for me. It was too much work to get through the book.

    Since I wanted to read this book so much, I am going to watch the movie. I'm keeping my fingers crossed that it isn't as painful as the book.

    Since I didn't finish the book, I don't think it's fair to give it a star rating at all. Other than that, I will say I do not recommend We Need to Talk About Kevin.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Don't buy this copy

    It's only the preview. After purchasing it, it never loaded the rest of the book. Buy the $15 one withe the movie cover on it. Bummer I know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    You'll need something to cleanse your mind and heart after reading this.

    My book club read this and we were all horrified by this book. I stopped reading halfway through because I couldn't handle the evil in this book. Those who finished told me the rest of the book and I was even more disgusted. This is one of the few books I will never finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Ugh. HATED this main character! What a self-centered self-right

    Ugh. HATED this main character! What a self-centered self-righteous person she is. The entire book offering only her perspective is nothing short of tedious , repetitive, and extremely annoying. Effective usage of seldom-heard vocabulary, but there is simply too much of it. Eventually, the vocabulary distracts from the story. Wait, maybe that's a plus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    d only rarely mention their son, Kevin. I am half way through this diatribe and can't wait to finish it. Don't waste your money.

    This book sucks! These stupid letters to her ex ramble like crazy and only rarely mention their son, Kevin. I am half way through this diatribe and can't wait to finish it. Don't waste your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    I did not enjoy this book...

    This story was difficult to read. Mental illness in children is a difficult discussion.

    Some of this book was wandering and I found myself skipping pages.

    This might be good for group discussion but this is not a book that will stay on my bookshelf....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Tedious

    I read a book or more a week. I began this book with high expectations as it is being made into a movie and wanted to read it in its purist sense before the movie modified the storyline. Unfortunately I never made it past the first 50 pages and that was because I forced myself to keep reading hoping it would become less tedious and grab my interest. The first negatives are that it is written in such a small print and add on top of that the fact that it is 400 pages long. Then add that the beginning is written in such a way that it is just a natural way of writing or speaking. It almost seems forced. As though the character writing the letter is trying to sound more educated than even a Harvard Grad (I know I'm married to one). Lastly, it is written in the form of letters from a wife to a husband so it was only one voice, one perspective and it just wasn't one that held any interest for me to continue reading to see where it was going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Difficulty falling asleep?

    The book came very highly recommended so I bought it immediately. The premise of the book was promising. The book is written entirely in the voice of the European born mother in the form of letters to her estranged husband. Character development is completely through the mother's eyes. I had difficulty getting into the book and probably will not finish it. I would have rated the book with no stars if this application would have permitted.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2004

    Not a good read.

    I don't know what it was..I just couldn't get through this book. I tried and I tried and I tried but I couldn't get passed the first 50 pages and I'm not one that gives up on books that easily. The writing didn't hold my interest at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2