Customer Reviews for

We Shall See God: Charles Spurgeon's Classic Devotional Thoughts on Heaven

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Longing for Heaven

    It wasn't for nothing that Charles Spurgeon was called "the prince of preachers." In "We Shall See God" by Randy Alcorn, you can get a taste of Spurgeon's eloquence, and of Heaven's majesty. We Shall See God is a collection of Spurgeon's sermons about Heaven. Randy Alcorn has done a masterful job of culling through the prince's sermons to pull out excerpts that talk about the beauty of Heaven and the horrors of Hell. Randy's comments following each passage from Spurgeon are wonderfully presented. He doesn't "talk over" Spurgeon, nor does he simply rehash what Spurgeon already said. He eloquently amplifies or briefly explains. This book is designed to be used as a 50-day devotional reading. But I'll be honest with you: I couldn't put it down! I was so enthralled by Spurgeon's description of Heaven, that I couldn't wait to read more. And now I can't wait to tell others more about Heaven. Lately there have been so many authors and blogger hypothesizing about Heaven and Hell and the after-life. But Spurgeon doesn't give us his opinion, he gives us biblical insight. And wouldn't you much rather hear what the Creator of Heaven has to say about it, than what any mere mortal has to say? I highly recommend this book to you. You will not only look forward to Heaven even more, but you will enjoy your brief journey on this Earth even more too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    We Shall See God: Charles Spurgeon's Classic Devotional Thoughts on Heaven by Randy Alcorn

    Randy Alcorn in We Shall See God collects fifty experts from Charles Spurgeon's sermons on the topic of heaven. Alcorn has selected from Spurgeon's vast treasury of sermons excerpts that show Spurgeon's thoughts on heaven and the importance of Jesus in a theology of the afterlife. After every two to five page Spurgeon excerpt, Alcorn provides commentary on Spurgeon's thoughts and helps provide linkages to the modern day. Alcorn for his modern reader additionally edited each section to meet modern conventional grammar, often resulting in rearranging large paragraphs into smaller chunks. Alcorn along with the excerpts provides biographical information on Spurgeon for readers unfamiliar with his life and ministry.
    For the purposes of this review, I want to focus primarily on Spurgeon's thoughts. Though Alcorn's commentary is helpful and helps readers get to the point of sermons written in the language of the 19th century. Spurgeon overall paints a picture of heaven that is exciting, better than one can expect and adventurist. Spurgeon chaffs at those who view heaven as a boring uninteresting existence that humans would not want to spend an eternity in. Instead heaven is a place of rest and sabbath where believers will finally know Jesus in a personal manner. The saved will live in heaven as kings, redeemed by the work of Christ. In heaven there will be no place for sin, but there will be room for laughter and joy. Spurgeon believed that believers would retain their personal identities and friendships, deeper than we could have in the old earth, in the restored creation. This is a devotional book and the cheery and exciting picture that Spurgeon paints of heaven is highly encouraging. On a side note there have been a lot of discussion about heaven and what does it mean to be an Universalist. Spurgeon makes clear that he believes that he believes that there will be more in heaven than those that are lost to hell, an existence without God. Alcorn states his belief that Spurgeon is not an Universalist in anyway, as Jesus is the key to salvation. But it does lead to questions about what does it mean to be an Universalist and the importance to provide each other grace in this debate. In my opinion, we are currently experiencing an vigorous theological debate amongst believers about heaven. In short, it's nice to see where we have been already to help us determine where we are going.

    Review Copy Provided by Tyndale House Publishers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Great book to turn your focus Heavenward!!

    Randy Alcorn has compiled 50 days of readings of Charles Spurgeon's sermons on Heaven. The book begins with an introduction on the life of Charles Spurgeon giving you a glimpse into the life of a man who had crowds of thousands listening to his sermons. Each daily reading has an excerpt from one of Spurgeon's sermons on heaven and then some thoughts by Randy Alcorn. Some edits have been made to the sermons only to help clarify the english language that has changed in the past 150 years. Randy Alcorn explains all the changes that have been made in his introduction to this book. We Shall See God has been an interesting read. I was excited to read this book since I had never read any of Spurgeon's writings before. Randy Alcorn has done a great job compiling and editing the readings for this book, and I thoroughly enjoyed having my focus directed heavenward. I don't think that we mediate enough on all that God has prepared for us in His dwelling place called Heaven. It is too easy to focus on this world and the temporal instead of the eternal. "In Heaven we'll at last be freed of self-righteousness and self-deceit. We'll no longer question God's goodness; we'll see it, savor it, enjoy it, and declare it to our companions. Surely we will wonder how we ever could have doubted his goodness. One look at the scarred hands of our Savior will suffice, for then our faith will be sight--we shall see God." (pg. 23) If you want to focus on the eternal rather then the temporal life, I would definitely recommend this book. **Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Great devotional

    In We Shall See God Randy Alcorn scoured the sermons of Charles Spurgeon's and compiled his thoughts on Heaven in a devotional format. (Heaven, which according to Randy Alcorn should be capitalized because it is a real place and a proper noun. :-)


    From the publisher:
    No author in history has more material in print than Charles Spurgeon. During his lifetime, Spurgeon and his writings affected the world far and wide. Today, nearly 120 years after his death, countless people continue to have a passion for this London preacher, and more and more discover him every day. Some of Spurgeon's most powerful sermons were those that he preached on the topic of Heaven. Up until now, however, very few of these sermons have been accessible to a mass audience. In what is sure to become an instant classic, best-selling author Randy Alcorn has compiled the most profound spiritual insights on the topic of eternity from these sermons and arranged them into an easily-accessible, highly inspirational devotional format complete with his own comments and devotional thoughts. Whether you are familiar with the works of Charles Spurgeon or not, you are in for a treat, as Alcorn invites you to sit at the feet of the Prince of Preachers and discover timeless pearls of wisdom from one of the greatest theological minds of all time.
    Format:


    The book is divided into fifty day. Each day begins with details on the sermon from which the day's reading comes, the circumstances surrounding the sermon or the life of Spurgeon at the time and a corresponding verse. Following that is the sermon excerpt and then comments from Randy Alcorn. Each day varies in length but averages 4 pages.


    My thoughts:


    At first, I was hesitant to "like" the fact that Alcorn was making comments on Spurgeon. In fact, I had a prejudice against these comments. After all, in his introduction he said "I resisted this [the publisher's desire for him to add additional content], primarily because I thought it presumptuous to coauthor a book with a man who not only towers over me but could not be reached for permission!" However, as I started reading the devotional I realized the great value in his comments. There were times where Spurgeon's sermon excerpt swirled in my head never landing in that place of understanding. For this reason, I was grateful for the thoughtful and clarifying commentary that Alcorn added.


    I like this book. I highly recommend it.

    I received this book free from Tyndale in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Highly Recommended Devotional - timeless

    This is a wonderful devotional book that you may want to get a couple extra copies of. It is a collection of fifty sermons by Charles Spurgeon, all on eternity and heaven, compiled by best selling author, Randy Alcorn.

    I really like the layout of We Shall See God. Each devotional tells the title of Charles Spurgeon's sermon it came from, along with the date he preached it and what number sermon it was. Some of the devotionals include where he preached it. It includes several pages of his sermon, then followed thoughts from Randy Alcorn.

    At the end of We Shall See God Randy Alcorn writes about Spurgeon's life and I was quite touched by this man. Spurgeon was sick most of his life, dying at the age of 57. Alcorn quotes Spurgeon:

    "I am afraid that all the grace I have got of my comfortable and easy times and happy hours might almost lie on a penny. But the good I have received from my sorrows and pains and griefs is altogether incalculable . . . Affliction is the best bit of furniture in my house. It is the best book in a minister's library."

    This would also make a great gift, especially for those who have recently lost a loved one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    A Glimpse of Heaven

    We Shall See God - Charles Spurgeon's classic devotional thoughts on Heaven is a must have for the Spurgeon fan!

    One of history's most revered preachers, Spurgeon has more material in print today that any other author in history. Many of his sermons have been published in various forms for us to enjoy today. Heaven was one of his favorite topics for preaching and many of those sermons weren't available until this book.

    Retrieving 50 sermons from the archives of history, Randy Alcorn has provided a great service in collecting and publishing some of Spurgeon's most passionate sermons. Reading this classic collection, I was reminded of Spurgeon's life mission, as he clearly stated:" I have no purpose to serve except to make the Scripture as plain to you as possible." His passion and his gift for clarity are prominently displayed in these sermons.

    I would wholeheartedly recommend this book to young (teens) and old alike. All who choose to read will be impacted by the words of perhaps the world's second greatest preacher (behind Paul).

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through their bloggers review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Great Devotional Alcorn

    "We shall see God" written by Randy Alcorn and Charles Spurgeons is a devotional on Heaven. The devotional is broken up into fifty days, with small readings. I would say on an average it took me about 10minutes to read the devotional and reflect on the ideas of Heaven that were presented. Randy Alcorn took classic sermons from Charles Spurgeon, London preacher, and compiled them into a devotional.

    This devotional is inspiring and makes me excited about Heaven, but also makes me sad for those who are not going to be in Heaven. This devotional is very thought provoking, while I am no where near completing this devotional, I am enjoying my readings. The devotional is challenging, uplifting and insightful.

    I encourage those who are seeking to find answers about Heaven, to read this thought provoking book. This book was provided courtesy of Tyndale Publishing Company. These are my own thoughts. They did not pay me for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1