Customer Reviews for

We Were Here

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Melanie Foust for TeensReadToo.com

    After what he's done, Miguel is sentenced to a year in a group home, as well as an assignment to write in a journal in order to allow the counselors to have a look into his mind. Miguel sees being sent away from his home as a good thing. His mother can't even look at him anymore.

    After a short time in juvi, he's sent to a group home, and there he meets Mong, a teen who no one messes with. After a few weeks, Rondell, a guy who was Miguel's roommate during juvi, moves in. Rondell can't read, but he won't admit it.

    Time passes, then Mong invites Miguel to break out and head to Mexico for a new life. Rondell asks to come along. They break out together. An Asian, half-Mexican, and African-American teen head out to Mexico, and the journey will change Miguel forever.

    Although WE WERE HERE takes a while to get into, the story is important and powerful. All three teens must deal with the inner demons that haunt them, and they do so in drastically different ways. Miguel's viewpoint is gritty and real. He doesn't gloss over unpleasant details. Once you're drawn into this novel, though, its characters and their actions are memorable ones that won't be quickly forgotten.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    Excellent Book

    I loved this book. This book is written in something close to journal form, with Miguel having to fill in a journal as part of his court mandated punishment for the crime he comitted. We don't find out the exact nature of his crime until the end of the book, which I really liked, because it allowed me to really get to know Miguel without having a preconcieved notion about him related to his crime.


    Miguel is a great character. He find himself a criminal, one who's actions, albiet accidental, have left him an outcast from his family and in a group home for troubled boys. Even there he doesn't fit in. He just reads books, and tries to keep to himself and finish his time. When Mong, a fellow group homer who Miguel has a negative relationship to asks him to break out with him, Miguel agrees, taking his roommate Rondell with him. The trio, each vastly different from eachother, form an unlikely bond as they try to make it down the coast to Mexico.


    Throughout their trip they encounter alot of obstacles. How to get food, how to deal with people prejudices and even how to deal with death. By the time they reach Mexico, they realize that it may not be the right path and have to decide what is the best course.


    I really liked this book because it didn't shy away from some really tough issues. It had damaged characters, one with a serious illness, one suffering from the long term effects of his mothers drug use, and one trying to come to grips with a horrific accident. This book never asks us to pity them though, it simply shows us who they are as they try to navigate a world in which they don't quite fit in. I thought every character was well written and in the end I was really proud of the progress they made and the way they turned out. Overall, great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    I was almost in that situation

    I took some money from a store a couple of times with weapons and got caught pulling gun but was tackled before i did i spent a long time in a group home so i just want to say its so not realistic to escape theres a gaurd around you everyminute. It seems like this book to me is encouraging doing stupid things and going to group homes. Take it from an experianced survivor its nothing to be proud of its not fun it ruins your chance for a job and it kills you everytime you think about it. You have to be a fool to think it would be an amazing time like they describe the first part when they rais money for a trip thats such bull its not even funny. Pluss the escaping scene is completely immature. You cant escape theres camaras 24-7 gaurds with rifles shotguns pistols and tazers and tranq guns. Tall barbed wire fences and dogs so if you think you can get past that they even have 20 foot walls surounding the whole prison and homes. Imposible a friend an i planned but never took action i was there for 7 years. Its not cool im 22 now and got out when i was19. How fun do you think its been. I work as a mechanic my girlfriend took my son i cant go to school i live in my grandfathers basement. My life changed forever because i was stupid and thought i needed to do it. Life isnt like movies and books. Books and movies try and sugar coat things but if you do this in real life the world will chew yiu up and spit you out like a flavorless piece of gum. This book was refered to me by my counselor yea thanks im so going to listen to her again. She said i could relate to the main character bull why because this is a load of crap. Btw my name is Jess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    We Were Here

    We Were Here is a really deppreising book. Not that it's bad but the topics in this book can be touchey for a lot of peaple. For example just so you are pepared they talk about siucide and discuss topics like homlessness, and shooting peaple. This book made me cry. It was astonishing. It takes plave in a modern day teen's jurnail beacuse when the main charictar (Megiul) was sent to juvi the judge asked him to keep a jurnal so the conseler could see what he was thinking at the group hime he resides. When he goes to juvi in the very beiging he meets who seems to be stupid in the beiging. (You'll see!) Which becomes kinda like meguil's 'Brother from another mother', Rondell.(not in the beiging, you'll see yet agian!) . Soon he leveas and goes to the group home and leveas Rondell as well and meets Mong, A crazy teen who watches rap videos alone on the TV all day. Then councifentally, Rondell shows up at the 'lighthouse' (the group home Meguil and Mong are in.) Together they diside to sneak out in the middle of night to make there way to mexico. A MUST READ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2013

            ¿We Were Here¿ by Matt de la Pena was a very good book.

            “We Were Here” by Matt de la Pena was a very good book. It is the second one that I have read written by him, the first was “Ball Don’t Lie”. This book is my favorite out of the two. In this book, the main character Miguel is a very idolizing teen. He faces troubles and hardships that a lot of teens go through today. He was not the kid who marveled in the riches and had designer clothes, he was the kid who had it tough and did not always think about the consequences of his actions. As I read most of the book a saying would come into my mind, “They’re not a bad person, they have just made bad choices.” That really relates to this book because he had made a bad choice and it ended in a lot of trouble, hurting him and his family.

             Miguel had been caught stealing a bike and the judge gave him a sentence, to pay for the crime he had committed. He was sent to a group home where other boys had been for their own reasons and sentences. Having this happen, had changed him. “Man, I started to feel really bad about myself and where I was in life or something.” (de la Pena, pg. 43) Miguel knew that if he kept making these choices, it would never get better. He realized how many things he had taken for granted, like the way his mother would listen to music with him at night. Not only did he feel bad about taking things for granted, but he felt bad knowing that he had broken his mother’s heart and feels that guilt every day. He always has the feeling in him that no one wants him anymore, no one cares. As he was there, the biggest decision of his life came along. Leaving for Mexico.

             I liked this book because it is very realistic and easy for many teens to relate to, even some adults. The main character goes through having to make hard choices and decisions for himself, all with living with the consequence of one mistake. He started off not caring about what happened to him, but then realized what he was actually doing to himself and others. Aside from the emotional relations, there are many teens who are living similar lives as Miguel today. Matt de la Pena is a great author who makes modern teen stories that can actually be related to and happen all the time. Not the usual, nerdy girl gets the popular guy material, and I thank him for that. I would recommend this book to teens between the ages of 14-17 because there is some mature language but it would be easier for children between these ages to understand the theme of the book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Great

    Great book. I had to read this for summer reading and I have to say this is the only book i've enjoyed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Man, this is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Very real

    I thought this was a great book. Left me in tears. I was not disappointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    Amazing!

    This book is amazing. I really felt like i was reading te diary of an escaped group-home teenager. Really felt what the felt and got pulled in to the book bevause i couldn't wait for what was next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    well what can i say?

    just another regular biok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    An Amazing Book...

    I recently finished this book, this summer and it was GREAT! Miguel tells his story in a way thats so raw and truthful you can't help but feel like you're on the journey with him! It has a small similarity to "Small Steps" by: Louis Sachar. It's exciting, thrilling, and will have a reader deep into the storyline. You become emotionally attached to the charactes because they're realistic and it's like you're apart of the story! You'll cheer on Miguel, Mong, and Rondell as they discover themselves, come to copes with their future, and realize what they mean to eachother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    An Eye-opener

    This book is a great read for teens. As a 15 year old boy, I absolutly enjoyed this book. It really shows you how tough life can be, but keeps fun and exciting throughout. It was one of the few books where i actually laughed out loud, and also thought about it long afterwards. A great read that plays on many emotions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2