Customer Reviews for

We Were Liars

Average Rating 4
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Just read this book! I received an advance reader edition of th

Just read this book!

I received an advance reader edition of this book from Random House Children's Publishing and Net Galley for the purpose of providing an honest review.

4.5 Stars

STOP! Quit reading reviews about this book! The only productive thing anyone is go...
Just read this book!

I received an advance reader edition of this book from Random House Children's Publishing and Net Galley for the purpose of providing an honest review.

4.5 Stars

STOP! Quit reading reviews about this book! The only productive thing anyone is going to be able to tell you about this book is that you need to read it. If anyone tries to tell you anything else, do not let them. No good can come from knowing anything about this book. Your friends who wish to tell you about the book are really just ruining it for you.

If you are in public and hear people discussing this book, the best thing to do would be to cover your ears and sing Mary Had a Little Lamb at the top of your lungs so that you cannot hear what is being discussed. One minor flaw in that plan would be that new discussions may start about the crazy person singing nursery rhymes at the top of their lungs in public for no apparent reason. Maybe this is not a good plan.

If you have read the book, zip it. Your friends deserve the same chance that you had. Allow them the privilege of going into this book blindly. I know that we all like to prepare our friends for what is ahead. In this case, don’t do it….you are not helping!

If you feel that you MUST discuss this book, here is what you can do. Buy extra copies of the book and give them to your friends. Wait until your friends have read the book. Then and only then discuss the book (but not in a public area so that we can avoid the whole singing episode previously mentioned). It will be fun. It will be like when you were little and played school…and this time you get to be the teacher because you will be handing out the assignments.

I must say that I did figure out the big twist in the book about half way through but I had to find out that I was right so I kept reading and enjoyed the journey. If I had known that I was right, it seriously would have ruined all of the fun.

Seriously? Can nobody follow directions anymore? Why are you still reading this review? Stop…just stop and go read the book.

posted by Caroles_Random_Life on May 13, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

If I had one word to summarize We Were Liars, I think I'd pick b

If I had one word to summarize We Were Liars, I think I'd pick boring. The whole thing felt rather pointless. The book didn't have much of a plot other than Cadence understanding what happened during Summer Fifteen. So, we trudge through this book (and trudge feels like...
If I had one word to summarize We Were Liars, I think I'd pick boring. The whole thing felt rather pointless. The book didn't have much of a plot other than Cadence understanding what happened during Summer Fifteen. So, we trudge through this book (and trudge feels like the only appropriate word) to find out the big secret and... okay. That's it. Here's the secret and here's the end of the book. It wasn't interesting. I didn't develop any sort of emotional attachment to any of the characters, so by the time the "big revel" happens... I don't care.

The writing was odd and felt disjointed. I didn't care about any of the characters. I certainly didn't understand why they were called Liars. And by the end of the book, I was happier to move on to other books.

It seems there are many mixed reviews (I'm still not sure where the raving reviews come from), I'd vote to skip this one. There's better books to enjoy out there.

You can read all of my reviews on my blog, KDH Reviews.

posted by KDH_Reviews on September 24, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted May 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Just read this book! I received an advance reader edition of th

    Just read this book!

    I received an advance reader edition of this book from Random House Children's Publishing and Net Galley for the purpose of providing an honest review.

    4.5 Stars

    STOP! Quit reading reviews about this book! The only productive thing anyone is going to be able to tell you about this book is that you need to read it. If anyone tries to tell you anything else, do not let them. No good can come from knowing anything about this book. Your friends who wish to tell you about the book are really just ruining it for you.

    If you are in public and hear people discussing this book, the best thing to do would be to cover your ears and sing Mary Had a Little Lamb at the top of your lungs so that you cannot hear what is being discussed. One minor flaw in that plan would be that new discussions may start about the crazy person singing nursery rhymes at the top of their lungs in public for no apparent reason. Maybe this is not a good plan.

    If you have read the book, zip it. Your friends deserve the same chance that you had. Allow them the privilege of going into this book blindly. I know that we all like to prepare our friends for what is ahead. In this case, don’t do it….you are not helping!

    If you feel that you MUST discuss this book, here is what you can do. Buy extra copies of the book and give them to your friends. Wait until your friends have read the book. Then and only then discuss the book (but not in a public area so that we can avoid the whole singing episode previously mentioned). It will be fun. It will be like when you were little and played school…and this time you get to be the teacher because you will be handing out the assignments.

    I must say that I did figure out the big twist in the book about half way through but I had to find out that I was right so I kept reading and enjoyed the journey. If I had known that I was right, it seriously would have ruined all of the fun.

    Seriously? Can nobody follow directions anymore? Why are you still reading this review? Stop…just stop and go read the book.

    41 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Must Read, No Spoilers!

    I am a grown ass woman so I do not throw out the OMG very often. Actually not at all but there you have it... OMFG!! I have no idea as to how to go about this review. Let me collect myself and I'll get back to you! And yes this is absolutely going on my favorite shelf!

    I have had a moment to think about what to say and there just aren't any words that I can come up with that do this book justice. To me it was real and deep, something that the young adult genre lacks a lot of. E. Lockhart has a beautiful, mesmorizing way with words. There were several passages through out this book that I highlighted not only because I wanted to share them with you but because I wanted to be able to look back and read them again and again and expierence the raw emotion that this book brought out of me. I decided that I will not share any of my favorite quotes or passages in this review like I had first intended. I am going to ask that you read this piece of art work for yourself because that is exactly what it is... ART! This is not a book you want to hear all about from someone else. This my fellow readers is a book you want to expierence all your own. And from my own personal experience, let me warn you, get ready for the tears!!

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    I loved this book. This is not the style of book I normally read

    I loved this book. This is not the style of book I normally read, but the cover was pretty and the idea intrigued me, so when I got my hands on an advanced reader's copy, I jumped in. The writing style was perfect, the prose beautiful and simple all at the same time. Very carefully constructed, as you'll see when everything fits together at the end and you find out what happened to Cady.
    I don't ever care about books that are just a story about normal people, particularly normal rich people. But this one gets past all that, and gets into the characters' souls. I don't normally care for a strong romance element; this one was done perfectly.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2014

    Beautiful. Privileged. Damaged. Liars So I'm guessing that you

    Beautiful. Privileged. Damaged. Liars

    So I'm guessing that you have read quite a few reviews of this book now - and most of them don't really tell you much right? Everyone is keeping all hush hush and saying 'just read it!!!'

    I have to be annoying....this review is pretty much more of the same. I'm not going to tell you many things about We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. But PLEASE believe me when I say that it's in YOUR best interests (I'll explain that point in a moment). I WILL NOT SPOIL THIS BOOK FOR YOU! I REFUSE!

    Okay...so let's see what I can say...

    The Sinclairs are a beautiful family. They spend their summers on a beautiful island, in beautiful houses with their beautiful children. Something happens, and everything changes. We don't know what happens, or why everything changes. We spend this book finding out.

    There...I think I did well yes? Honestly, I really do understand why nobody says much about this book. I think you need to go into this knowing as little as possible - here is my proven experience with this....

    I am obviously a book-lover. I blog about books, I read lots of reviews and watch lots of Booktube. I take part in alot of bookish discussions and get involved in the community. Obviously I had heard the hype surrounding We Were Liars (and in all honesty, yes - that is why I picked it up). I had heard about how insane this oh-so-secret ending is, and I was very excited. For this reason, I instantly turned into Hercule Poirot from the moment I opened this book. I was looking for clues to things that hadn't even happened yet, I read WAY too much into things, and concocted a theory that I was convinced was correct. My theory was very shocking, very disturbing - and as it turned out - very wrong. When the truth of We Were Liars is actually revealed, I found it less shocking than the craziness I conjured in my head...and so I was slightly underwhelmed. Don't get me wrong - I was shocked, I wasn't expecting it - but my theory was more intense. The fact that I knew so much about this book going in meant that I actually ruined the experience for myself a little.

    Now, my stepmum Sam is also a keen reader. She doesn't blog, she probably rarely reads reviews. If a book takes her fancy, she just reads it. She purchased We Were Liars on her Kindle because it was on sale. She knew nothing about it, and dived into the unknown. Sam absolutely LOVED this book! She was blown away and had a much better experience than I did.

    So you see - when everyone is frustratingly holding back the dirty details - they are doing you a favour! Just read this....and do so with an open mind :) I didn't enjoy this as much as I was expecting to. I mentioned the ending being a bit underwhelming for me (but that was my own fault so it doesn't count). I also found it a tad on the slow side - but please do stick with it. It's not a long book, and it picks up - you need to read to the end. I can't give this full marks as it didn't blow my mind like I wanted it to, but it was beautifully written, poignant and did touch me deeply, so I'm giving it a good rating :) I did enjoy this book. I'm glad I read it and I do recommend it to anyone who wants to solve a mystery and have their emotions played with.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2014

    I opened the first page of this book with high expectations, and

    I opened the first page of this book with high expectations, and the book proved me wrong with even higher ones. I read it in 24 hours and thought about it all night after finishing it. I still think about it 2 days later, and I am reading it a second time. No questions asked, you HAVE to read this book. It is definitely my new favorite and I obsessed with it. The plot twist is what got me the most. I cried so hard I couldn't continue reading until I stopped. The tears had blurred my vision. I will never stop thinking about Cady, Gat, Mirren, and Johnny. I will always remember the story of the liars. Once you finish this book, everything you see and hear reminds you of them. Please, please, please get a hold of this book. It changes your life in the best way possible!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    If I had one word to summarize We Were Liars, I think I'd pick b

    If I had one word to summarize We Were Liars, I think I'd pick boring. The whole thing felt rather pointless. The book didn't have much of a plot other than Cadence understanding what happened during Summer Fifteen. So, we trudge through this book (and trudge feels like the only appropriate word) to find out the big secret and... okay. That's it. Here's the secret and here's the end of the book. It wasn't interesting. I didn't develop any sort of emotional attachment to any of the characters, so by the time the "big revel" happens... I don't care.

    The writing was odd and felt disjointed. I didn't care about any of the characters. I certainly didn't understand why they were called Liars. And by the end of the book, I was happier to move on to other books.

    It seems there are many mixed reviews (I'm still not sure where the raving reviews come from), I'd vote to skip this one. There's better books to enjoy out there.

    You can read all of my reviews on my blog, KDH Reviews.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    it really is a must read. This book had me in tears and i can't

    it really is a must read. This book had me in tears and i can't say that for most books. Great plot twist. Loved the characters. Overall great book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2014

    Fantastic

    One of the best YA novels published this year. I'm not a fan of the unreliable narrator, but Cady Sinclair is such a strong, vibrant and REAL character, I would forgive her anything.

    A terrific look at an outwardly perfect, inwardly dysfunctional family the stresses they put on their own children and how those children bend and break in response.

    Highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2014

    Read it. Just do it.

    Read it. Just do it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    We were liars

    I want to read this book because it sounds suspensful, and because its popular, but i have no idea what its about. If someone could help me...? Thanks. -bookworm14

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Great read

    Read

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2015

    We Were Liars is one of my favorite books. I can't even begin to

    We Were Liars is one of my favorite books. I can't even begin to describe how it made me feel. It triggered a mixture of emotions in me I didn't even know I had. It didn't help that I loved the characters. They were all a bit pretentious and damaged, but I adored them nevertheless. Another great thing about this book is the way it's written. It's written kind of hazy, or blurry, like something is being kept secret (which there definitely is). But if I have to give advice about this book, it would be to definitely NOT look up spoilers. It ruins it, trust me. It isn't like other books where it's no big deal. Believe me, if you knew spoilers for this book, the whole effect of it would be lost. Go buy this book, now. (Also, never eat anything bigger than your ass, and always be kinder than you have to.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2014

    This book has a compelling story with wonderful characters. I c

    This book has a compelling story with wonderful characters. I could not put it down. I am 74 and I thought it was wonderful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    We were liers

    Great book! Very sad

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Kept waiting for this book to get interesting. I finally gave u

    Kept waiting for this book to get interesting. I finally gave up around page 60 and just skipped to the end. Don't waste your time or money.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2014

    This book was amazing . It was the book of summer . The Liars ar

    This book was amazing . It was the book of summer . The Liars are so well written and I fell in love with their little dynamic . It has THE biggest plot twist; I was not expecting it at all ! If you ever read this book , 

    Don't you dare spoil the ending . Lie .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Great Book!

    I loved the mystique and suspense throughout and the unexpected plot twist! I would definitely recommend reading this. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    It was amazing

    Honestly one of the best books ever. Had everything I look for in books. I highly recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Honestly made you think throughout the entire novel. You experi

    Honestly made you think throughout the entire novel. You experience confusion, understanding, love, sadness, and pity all at the same time. Remarkable story and plot twist. The ending made me want to flip back towards the beginning of the book to read and discover what I missed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Great

    It was a great book with an unexpected ending. Perfect book to sit and relax on the beach with. Brilliantly written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9