Customer Reviews for

We Were Soldiers Once ... and Young: IA Drang - the Battle That Changed the War in Vietnam

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2005

    Go Get It !

    This book was outstanding it took a very large ordeal and shrunk it to the story of the 1st battalion, 7th cavalry. And the personal accounts that these people had in the Ia Drang valley in Vietnam. This was one of the most significant events in America¿s history. There were some 450 men in this battalion; they were immediately surrounded by some 2000 Vietnamese soldiers that would only stop fighting when they were all dead. It told the story of the unselfishness that our American soldiers have for each other; probably one of the most touching events through out the book. These soldiers cared for each other all the way through the battle. I recommend this book to people who like attention grabbing books because this was definitely one of them. Also if you like learning about Americas history this is the book for you it hits many points and makes you question what we did and why did we do it. I personally don¿t like to read but this book was well worth it and I did not want to put it down once I started reading it. So I do highly recommend this to everyone it¿s a great read full of action and now I want to go rent the movie to see all the action that I visualized while reading. So don¿t sit there and read anymore of this and go get the book what are you waiting for? Go get it now¿

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2004

    enter the valley with hal moore and remember forever !

    if you enjoyed the movie, you will be fasinated with this read.i had never seen the movie before reading the book and have to say i was thankful for it.as this personal and heroic story unfolds you become completely captivated with the larger than life characters, who truely are our american heros.i was left with so many vivid accounts and historical facts. i often find myself referencing back to the book to find a piticular paragragh which i cant get out of my thoughts... highly recommended for anyone who is fond of history.after seeing hal moore being interviewed on a news program i had to get his story--- fasinating

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2004

    The best war story I've ever read

    I borrowed the book from a friend more than 10 years ago, watched the movie when it was released, then bought my own hardcover, and surfed the web for all related articles. If that's not an indication of the power of this story, what is? However, it is just now becoming clear that the American government and its military are ready to waste American lives just to experiment on the ways to 'improve' warfare and test it's men and equipment in the guise of freedom and honor. How interesting but at the same time, how sad!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2000

    As real as one can get....outstanding

    As I was reading this book i felt like i was right there in the battle. The real life accounts as told by the soldiers who were there made this a truly remarkable book.I have read about 7 books about vietnam and found this one the best.Very easy to read...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2004

    stunning accounts of bravery and heroism for any history buff

    this was very interesting and took this conflict from a large scale picture to a very personel and brave account.the characters stand out in my mind as vivid as if i was actually there..........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2004

    excellent

    A recounting of a horrific battle. Tells a great story but also exeplifies honor and courage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2003

    The Truth Revealed About Vietnam

    This book is very moving and showes the intensity of many of the battles fought in the Vietnam War. I my self have meet General Hale Moore and his wife. It shows that he is a great man because he is now friends with the general that he fought against during this battle and sent a letter to a fallen vietnamese soldiers wife to pay his condolances to them and that her husband fought well during the battle. All in all this was a very good book and I think that anyone would be happy to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2003

    Riviting journey through the first battle of Nam.

    Who knew how the US really got into the Vietnam War? The book We Were Soldiers Once and Young by Joseph Galloway, through the eyes of Lt. Gen. Harold Moore, explains in great detail the first major battle of the Vietnam War. Lt. Moore had a large military background. He had been in the army since age 18 and fought in Korea. The military picked Lt. Moore to be in charge of their first major operation. They would be going into the Ia Drang valley, known to all military personnel as X-Ray. Lt. Moore was going to lead 300 men into battle, 60 men at a time by helicopter. Outnumbered 3000 to 300 Lt. Moore and his troops came through victorious, but with several casualties. I thought this was a great book because when you were reading you could never tell what was going to happen next. It was written with enough detail to make you feel like you were there. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes to read about war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2003

    Amazing!!!!!!

    I havn,t read the whole thing but it is great. Is a very respectful acount of the battle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2002

    Wow

    Im only on page 130 and this book is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2003

    An excellent book about the courage and bravery displayed by the men who fought together at LZ X-Ray.

    Any historian would love to read this book. The descriptions of battle in Vietnam are so vivid that it is hard to believe the events actually took place. A gripping story of intense combat. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2002

    Best War History Written

    This book should be required reading for all military officers and military historians. Within its pages are vivid descriptions of every aspect on the Battle of LZs X-ray and Albany, including what the men went through, what the people back home went through and what the politicians thought of it all. Each US soldier who lost his life is remembered vividly; no disrespect towards the enemy is paid. Despite being written by two men who survived the battle, it is one of the fairest accounts of a battle researched and written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2002

    LEADERSHIP INSPIRATIONAL

    Excellent reading and very hard to set down. Lt General Hal Moore is the poster boy for what a leader should act and be like. He is the first one in and the last one out. His actions follow his words. The men he commanded respected their leader because they knew that Hal was fighting right beside them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2002

    simulare characteristics of Moore and Custer.

    LACKS in AIRMOBILE , INFANTRY TATICS When no one wrote about them, They wrote their own Books. Both were considered too Flamboyent, by fellow officers. And not well liked. George Armstrong Custer ( His men called him yellow hair ) Commander of the 1st Battalion 7th Cavalry at the battle of the Little Bighorn. The Indians would wipe the 1st Battalion 7th Cavalry out to a man. Starting the Indian wars, The UNITED STATES would unite and almost wipe out all the Indians taking their lands and putting them on Reservations LT. Col. Harold G. Moore ( His men called him yellow hair ) Commander 1st Battalion 7th Cavalry at the battle of Landing Zone X-Ray November the 14,1965 Pleiku Provance of South Vietnam. Moore's men with help from the reinforcement's ( Bco 2/7 ) saves Landing Zone X-RAY. Starting the Vietnam war. Which almost tears the United States apart. Both Battles ( The Little Bighorn ) and ( Landing Zone X-Ray ) were fought by the 1st Battalion 7th Cavalry. On a Sunday, In a Valley, By a River, In tall Grass and near a Large Mountian or Hill top. Both Commanders were told the size of the enemy troops. By their Scouts. But didnt belive them. Scout to Custer 'There is a very very large Indian camp down there.' Custer 'Where I dont see any camp' Intelligence Lieutenant to Moore 'There is the possibiy of a PAVN Regiment near the Chu Pong mountain. Moore that didn't really bother me. Both the Commanders wanted to force the Enemy to stand and fight, As the enemy's tatics were hit and run. Custer in the lead charges into the valley his troops behind, to cut off the Indians, So they couldn't escape on to the plains. Moore in the lead Huey charges in to the Valley his troop behind, He would be the first one on Landing Zone X-Ray, hopeing the North Vietnamese or the Viet Cong wouldn't excape in to the mountians and into Cambodia. Both would get their wish. The Indians and North Vietnamese would send 1,000 or more men out to meet the 1st Battalion 7th Cavalry. The Commanders then realized that the size of the enemy forces was true. their scouts were right They were out numbered. Both battles were defensive. After the initial charge by the 1st Battalion 7th Cavalry They would pull back, Circle the wagons and let the enemy throw them selves at their defense's. Custer didn't have renforcements, It would take weeks to get them, His supplies were miles behind him. The 1st Battalion 7th Cavalry was wiped out to the man. Moore didnt have that problem 'I had something Custer didn't, Reinforcements with in Hours. But Moore forgot to lay on supplies and water for his troops. Moore's Men with the help of the Reinforcements ( Bco 2/7 ) save Landing Zone X-Ray. starting the Vietrnam War. It would almost destroy the United States. Their Troops FOUGHT VALIANTLY. What happend to Moore's H-hour. Moore Get's his H-hour confused with the Attack time in the mission order. H-hour in air assault terms is difined as the time the lead helicopter touches down on the Landing Zone. Moore puts the H-hour at H-1030. He then gets word the Artillary cant fire until H-1017. H-hour get delayed. 1 incremint? ( usually 15 minutes ). So that should make H-hour, H-1045. But Moore ( who is in the lead Huey ) dosent set foot on LZ X-Ray until H-1048, 3 minutes late.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2002

    Military review in leadership

    This book is an outstanding account of a great lesson in leadership. Though this book offers a vivid and genuine portrayal of the certain hell that is ¿close combat¿ with a trained and vigilant enemy, its real values are found in the nuggets of leadership provided throughout by LTG Moore. This book is not necessarily about tactics or the greatness of individuals, it's about the courage of warriors in the face of extreme hardship and about the building of a combat effective team. It is one of the most recommended books for leaders in the United States Army today and appears in nearly every "reading list" published from the Chief of Staff of the Army (CSA) on down the chain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2002

    From Spencer Toews

    An exellent story of the Vietnam war, i've only seen the movie but am looking forward to the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2002

    LACKS in AIRMOBILE , INFANTRY TATICS

    FICTION: Fabarication applies particulary to a false but carefully invented statement or a series of statements, in which some truth is sometimes interwoven, the whole usually intended to deceive. The Greatest Hero 'People everywhere are smitten- With a tale that is written. Once a hero's deeds are known- They're as good as etched in stone. Every word, folks take to heart- And think this makes them very smart. Amazing how the very wise- Never stop to realize- That what they read may not be true. Groo Moral: Even when the words are true the may not speak the truth Groo Crandall 'Moore wanted Aviation present, to be part of his Staff'. Moore, Crandall or his ALO had to coordinate the flight time from Plei Me to X-Ray, flight routes, fire support, resupply, Medevac Huey. Moore couldnt plan the operation with out Crandall present. Leadership Principle 1 Be Technically and Tactically Proficent To know you job thoroughly, you must posses not only specific knowledge of its details but also a broad general knowledge concerning its area of intrest. you should be competent in combat operations and training as well as in the technical and admimistrative aspects of your duties. If you demonstrate deficincies in these functions,your subordinates will lose confidance in you as a leader. Moore under the delusion he come up with new tatic for the 1st lift would doom his men. for the want of a nail, The 2nd Battalion 7th Cavalry. As the Battle of Landing Zone X-Ray would grind up, The Troops, Helicopters and Artillary. Making them unavalible for other units. Leading to the walk to Landing Zone Albany by the 2/7. Keep abreast of current military devolopements. Moore 'I thought up a new technique for the inital lift. There are only two types of Air assaults. The ground Commander ( Moore ) must concider two general types of Airmobile assault when preparing the ground tatical plan. These types of assaults differ primarily in the proximity of the LZ to the assault objective The first and preferred type is the landing of the assault ehelons immediately on, or adjacent to, the objective The secound type of assault involves landing a distance from the objective in a secure LZ, and requires assembly, reorganization, and movement to an attack position prior to the assault on the objective.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2002

    An outstanding book!

    We Were Soldiers Once.... And Young is an outstanding book. It is a gut wrenching account of what war truely is. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a factual account of war and an interest in the life of a soldier.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2002

    The Birth of Air Cav

    This book details not only the battle but the birth of US Army Aviation's Air Cav concept which was crucial in fighting the Viet Nam War. As VietNam Vet and aviation specialist, this book is intriguing and accurate in the account of this horrific battle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2002

    Best Vietnam War Book EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!

    We Were Soldiers Once...And Young was one of the best war books I have ever read. It is jammed packed with action, excellent details, and excerpts from the people that were actually there. This is the book to buy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2