Customer Reviews for

We Were the Mulvaneys

Average Rating 3.5
( 156 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful, poignant, insightful

This is a compelling yet completely heartbreaking novel. In We Were the Mulvaneys, Oates creates an idyllic family with a peaceful, happy life, and depicts the family members¿ simultaneous demises after Marianne, their daughter, is raped at a party after prom. As the Mu...
This is a compelling yet completely heartbreaking novel. In We Were the Mulvaneys, Oates creates an idyllic family with a peaceful, happy life, and depicts the family members¿ simultaneous demises after Marianne, their daughter, is raped at a party after prom. As the Mulvaneys fall from their previous social standing and each undergo personal struggles involving recovery and justice, Oates touches on all aspects of family issues. From alcoholism, to violence, depression, anxiety, and separation, she leaves absolutely nothing out. The effect is a book that will ¿Break your heart, heal it, then break it again,¿ as a reviewer from the Los Angeles Times Book Review put it. Though it¿s not a book to read on a sunny day when you¿re in a good mood, We Were the Mulvaneys is honest, insightful, and powerful. It will make you think about the connections between family members in ways you never have before.

posted by ar_t on December 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

happy, sad, good? bad?

i had to read We Were the Mulvaneys for school , and i must admit i found it hard to read. The beginning of the book, though a little too off topic at times, i found very interesting and i fell in love with not exacty a particular character, but how they all interact wi...
i had to read We Were the Mulvaneys for school , and i must admit i found it hard to read. The beginning of the book, though a little too off topic at times, i found very interesting and i fell in love with not exacty a particular character, but how they all interact with each other. The second half of the book got a little boring, but seeing the characters who seem indistrucable crumble, and the ones who seem to be weak break free of your judgments inspired me. While reading this book i felt many emotions, and it even made me cry. seeing how one person can effect the lives of so many others and watching characters struggle to grow, to become who they are in the end, was amazing. i think the books end was much to sudden, and worked out a little to well, and didnt even really tie up all loose ends. Sometimes characters especially Marianne we hard to relate to, but somehow it kept me into the bok. the book did NOT make me want never put it down, its deffintinly the type of pook you need a break from, but overall, i think it was worthwhile because the lessons in the book and the charactrs in the book have seemed to wedged themselves into my heart, and i dont think ill soon forget them.

posted by CourtRose on November 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    Wonderful, poignant, insightful

    This is a compelling yet completely heartbreaking novel. In We Were the Mulvaneys, Oates creates an idyllic family with a peaceful, happy life, and depicts the family members¿ simultaneous demises after Marianne, their daughter, is raped at a party after prom. As the Mulvaneys fall from their previous social standing and each undergo personal struggles involving recovery and justice, Oates touches on all aspects of family issues. From alcoholism, to violence, depression, anxiety, and separation, she leaves absolutely nothing out. The effect is a book that will ¿Break your heart, heal it, then break it again,¿ as a reviewer from the Los Angeles Times Book Review put it. Though it¿s not a book to read on a sunny day when you¿re in a good mood, We Were the Mulvaneys is honest, insightful, and powerful. It will make you think about the connections between family members in ways you never have before.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    happy, sad, good? bad?

    i had to read We Were the Mulvaneys for school , and i must admit i found it hard to read. The beginning of the book, though a little too off topic at times, i found very interesting and i fell in love with not exacty a particular character, but how they all interact with each other. The second half of the book got a little boring, but seeing the characters who seem indistrucable crumble, and the ones who seem to be weak break free of your judgments inspired me. While reading this book i felt many emotions, and it even made me cry. seeing how one person can effect the lives of so many others and watching characters struggle to grow, to become who they are in the end, was amazing. i think the books end was much to sudden, and worked out a little to well, and didnt even really tie up all loose ends. Sometimes characters especially Marianne we hard to relate to, but somehow it kept me into the bok. the book did NOT make me want never put it down, its deffintinly the type of pook you need a break from, but overall, i think it was worthwhile because the lessons in the book and the charactrs in the book have seemed to wedged themselves into my heart, and i dont think ill soon forget them.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2006

    i can't get it out of my head

    This book is my favorite. Not only is it written by the amazing Joyce Carol Oates, but because it is a story that haunts me everyday. I recommend this book to everyone. We Were the Mulvaneys is phychologically deep and timeless. It has definetly left a mark on my heart.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    Amy, a 16 year old who loves to read!

    In We Were the Mulvaneys, Oates makes you as the reader feel as if you are part of the Mulvaney family. When the family is broken apart you feel broken along with them. This book will keep you turning the pages for hours.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2003

    We were the Mulvaneys, remember us?

    'We were the Mulvaneys, remember us?' Thats how the story started, and thats exactly what caught me because no, I did not know them, but simply by asking, it made me think that they were supposedly well-known. I read this book when I was 15, and again now, 2 years later, and am also doing a research paper on Joyce Carol Oates and actually set up an interview with her, since she's only half an hour away in Princeton. WE WERE THE MULVANEYS was one of the best books I've ever read. The characters were so vivid and so many experiences were displayed so that the reader knew each character well, as if known personally, so that when the downfall of the Mulvaney family- a prosperous, popular family- occurs, it leaves the reader so moved and upset. And that is what great writing is.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2003

    Phenomenal

    My mother and I are both avid readers- we're having a hard time finding anything else even remotely interesting after reading 'We Were the Mulvaneys.' It keeps you thinking for months...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    We Were the Mulvaneys

    Oates¿s artistic, descriptive writing style allows the reader to feel the settings involved in the story. A truly wonderful book that makes the reader sense they are actually involved in the emotional tragedies and triumphs of the story. This is an empathetic story which makes one envision the Mulvaneys as their own neighbors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2004

    Awesome!

    This book keeps you enthralled from beginning to end. Oates is a great author and I can't wait to read more of her books. This book has amazing characters and is really touching.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2003

    Fantastic, Heartbreaking Story

    I love this Oates novel because it tells a story that is relatable - something that some of Oate's novels don't possess. I believe Oates to be a gifted writer, and even though I may not enjoy each of her storylines, I read them, appreciating her ability to manipulate the written word.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2003

    A Fantastic Narrative

    I had a few problems with Judd as the narrator...there are times when the story is just begging to be told from the viewpoint of Corinne, of Patrick, and even of Marianne (especially when she visits Patrick in Ithaca) but my criticisms are few. This book is powerful in ways that many books are not but should strive to be. This family that has hidden the cracks in its exterior for so long and lived an idyllic existence in 'paradise' is forced to come face to face with a forced reality that rips to shreds everything that they were. All of this is done with a reality that is chilling and engrossing all at once.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2003

    A Family Changed Forever

    Sometimes when a woman is raped everything around her changes, including her family. This is what exactly happened to the fictional Mulvaney family in 'We Were The Mulvaneys.' Author Joyce Carol Oates takes you into the world of the once close-knit Mulvaney clan through the voice of younger brother Judd Mulvaney. Told in a clearly written and mature voice, you feel the pain Judds' family goes through when they all learn his older sister, Marianne, is raped. From then on, you notice the family drift apart to spiral out of control. For the three weeks I read, 'We Were The Mulvaneys,' I could not put this book down. I was gripped to the very end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2002

    compelling

    I was so affected by this novel, that I felt emotionally drained when I finished. I couldn't begin another book for awhile, because I was so overcome with emotion reading this one. Not a book to be read when one wants a light, easy read. This is, in my opinion, a masterpiece.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2014

    Great book!

    I started this book last night. Hard to put down. I like this author and it is probably her best. I almost feel like I am part of the Mulvaney family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2013

    If you like Wally Lamb.....

    This reminded me of a Wally Lamb book. Well written but too wordy and a little slow at times. Worth a read though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    A Story that's real.

    This is the first book i have read by JCO and i enjoyed it. It was a very believabke and real story - a situatuon i could imagine any family experiening. The way she writes is very interesting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Engrossing - have handkerchief ready...

    This is well-written and engrossing BUT do not expect a light, entertaining read. I found in impossible to not bond with this family!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Very Depressing

    The story is just so incredibly depressing. It drags along breaking down this poor girl (the main character) and never really building her back up. It destroys her entire family and gives them no real opportunity for redemention. It is an incredibly cynical look at family ties.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    great characters

    the ups and downs of the Mulvaney's were intriguing. this story just carried me along to the end in no time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    Wonderfully Written Story

    This is a wonderfully written story with great character development. It follows the Mulvaney family through good times and bad and somehow endears each one of them to the reader. It's a compelling read from the first page to the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not impressed.

    This was an Oprah's Book Club choice. This was featured in a summer read section of a magazine. I had it, so I read it. For all the hype, I was disappointed. I didn't particularly enjoy the plot, the characters, the twists. The mother particularly annoyed me, and I didn't feel she was a good woman or was undeserving of the bad luck that seemed to surround her. I was relieved when it was over, if only so that characters Patrick and Marianne would be able to move on with their lives, and me onto a better book. I would not pick up another book by this author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8