Customer Reviews for

We the Children (Benjamin Pratt and the Keepers of the School Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great book

This book is awesome! My kids love it

posted by 13221618 on May 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hi There

I haven't read this book yet. But I'm wondering if I should get it. It looks like a good book and I've read Andrew Clements' other well known books like Frindle and Trouble Maker.

P.S. click yes if you want me to buy this book, click no if you want me not to buy this b...
I haven't read this book yet. But I'm wondering if I should get it. It looks like a good book and I've read Andrew Clements' other well known books like Frindle and Trouble Maker.

P.S. click yes if you want me to buy this book, click no if you want me not to buy this book

posted by Anonymous on October 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 5 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Hi There

    I haven't read this book yet. But I'm wondering if I should get it. It looks like a good book and I've read Andrew Clements' other well known books like Frindle and Trouble Maker.

    P.S. click yes if you want me to buy this book, click no if you want me not to buy this book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    It's an ok book

    My son and I read this book. As a parent, even, I found it slow reading and not very interesting. And my son felt the same.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    A Good Mystery Book!

    Benjamin Pratt has enough to deal with since his parents are separated and on the verge of divorce. Ben is in between his parents' living spaces at this point, so he has not given much thought to his school being torn down to make way for a multi-million dollar amusement park. That is, until Mr. Keane, the old janitor, presses a large gold coin into Ben's hand and leaves him with some words of advice. The coin's inscription reads: "First and always, my school belongs to the children. DEFEND IT. Duncan Oakes, 1783." Mr. Keane's behavior seemed irrational, and his death set off even more suspicious clues. Within a matter of minutes, Benjamin Pratt was thrown into a battle--to defend Oakes School and all the kids in it! Along with his best friend, Jill, the two young investigators begin to unravel the school's past, as well as its future.
    This book provides mystery and leaves the reader wanting to grab the second book in the six-book series. Young readers should not have a problem with the text, as it is a quick, engaging read. The illustrations throughout the book also provide readers with additional insight. If your looking for a simple chapter book that contains interesting characters, a mysterious storyline, and an intriguing foundation for future reading--then Andrew Clements' Benjamin Pratt & The Keepers of the School" is for you. By reading this book, children may realize that no matter how big a battle is and how small they are, they can still make a difference!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Warm friendship, nautical clues and two middle school amateur sleuths - a fun read. Ends too quickly, almost abruptly!

    The first book in the Benjamin Pratt and the Keepers of the School series, We the Children, introduces us to a pair of amateur middle school sleuths. When Roger Keane, the custodian of their middle school, needs help, Benjamin Pratt (Ben) steps in. His reward of sorts is a mysterious gold coin which is given after Ben promises to keep a secret and defend the school. The coin and the promise open Ben's eyes to mysterious and curious things at the Captain Duncan Oakes School.

    The building had been a school since 1783, a gift from the eccentric and wealthy shipping Captain Duncan Oakes who has helped defend the coast from the British during the Revolutionary War. Captain Oakes, like many eccentric millionaries, had an unusual stipulation in his donation and thousands of children have benefited from his foresight and generosity. But the current town council and a real estate conglomerate have a deal that would transfer school from its current the grounds and relocate the school inland. Instead, on the current grounds would be a large amusement center, a profit center that would bring in tourism to the sleepy New England town.

    While Ben hadn't cared about the chnge, his new awareness of the sale and Captain Oakes has changed all that. Ben and his friend Jill have taken it upon themselves to stop the sale, if they can. The mysterious gold coin and Ben's love for sailing have led them to find nautical clues hidden in the school grounds. Clues to the help that Captain Oakes set aside for just such future threats to the school.

    Ben and Jill are quick and funny on their own but the warmth of their friendship and their sleuthing skills make this an unusually fun adventure. The only drawback to We the Children is that the book ends with much of the mystery unresolved -- and we must rely on the next book to find out how the adventure progresses.

    Ages 9 to 12.
    ISBN-10: 1416939075 - Hardcover $14.99
    Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers; Reprint edition (April 19, 2011), 176 pages.
    Review copy provided by the publisher.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    We Need More

    Benjamin Pratt is a boy with a problem.Well actually, with a couple of problems. His parents are recently separated and he lives with either parent on alternate weeks. Also, the janitor at his school has recently turned up dead after giving Ben an ancient gold coin with an inscription and having extracted a promise from Ben that he would fight to save the school from being torn down by rich developers. This is a great beginning, but it is only a beginning and we are left wanting a lot more in this first installment of The Keepers of the School. The characters are interesting. Ben is a boy with a good sense of values and discipline, who is set in believable situations. We are left wanting more, which I suppose is the purpose of having a series of books. I can't help but think that we could have been given more in this first installment. It feels a bit thin

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 5 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1