Customer Reviews for

Weapons of Choice (Axis of Time Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Imaginative storyline and entertaining read

A terrific read. Birmingham effortlessly weaves a compelling yarn around an absolutely incredulous scenario. The collision of 1940s culture with 21st century soldiering makes for gripping reading. I'm not a huge fan of alternate history and it may jar with purist fans o...
A terrific read. Birmingham effortlessly weaves a compelling yarn around an absolutely incredulous scenario. The collision of 1940s culture with 21st century soldiering makes for gripping reading. I'm not a huge fan of alternate history and it may jar with purist fans of the genre. I normally read non-fiction, particularly military history. But I couldn't put it down. Read it in a day. A real page turner. It's well worth a look.

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Interesting sci-fi, flawed history

This book is a moderately good read, considering it combines silly sci-fi, incredible coincidences, and flawed US military history. The future task force's only Japanese ship just happens to land in the middle of Task Forces 16/17, close enough for the middle-of-the-nig...
This book is a moderately good read, considering it combines silly sci-fi, incredible coincidences, and flawed US military history. The future task force's only Japanese ship just happens to land in the middle of Task Forces 16/17, close enough for the middle-of-the-night watch to see the Japanese flag? Yeah, sure. Too bad the two forces in reality sailed ten miles apart. Birmingham also makes a big deal of how 'crippled' the US Fleet becomes after this friendly-fire collision, but in reality the losses were little more that which happened actually at Midway and Guadacanal. Six to ten cruise missiles through Japanese carrier flight decks and the Pacific War would have been over, because the Japanese didn't have another large carrier scheduled to launch until 1944, by which time the US would have launched about 15. Instead, the future fleet attacks 1920-era Japanese battleships and POW camps. Again, in reality the carrier USS Saratoga arrived in Hawaii with 107 aircraft on June 8th, and hundreds of other aircraft arrived just before or after the battle of Midway. Birmingham also displays his lack of understanding of all things military by describing a 'twin-barreled 50mm chain gun', when in reality a 30mm gatling is the size of a Volkswagen by itself (I used to work on such). However, the social commentary is mildly interesting, especially the commando-type exploits of the female reporter. Maybe reporters got tired of being beheaded by assorted crazies by 2021.

posted by Anonymous on December 3, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Treat this book as Sci-Fi and not a Techno Thriller

    All in all a good book after you get by the improbable circumstances that set the stage for the story. The resulting reactions by historical figures and the impact on where we might find ourselves today are fascinating.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2005

    Imaginative storyline and entertaining read

    A terrific read. Birmingham effortlessly weaves a compelling yarn around an absolutely incredulous scenario. The collision of 1940s culture with 21st century soldiering makes for gripping reading. I'm not a huge fan of alternate history and it may jar with purist fans of the genre. I normally read non-fiction, particularly military history. But I couldn't put it down. Read it in a day. A real page turner. It's well worth a look.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Great read

    This book hits the ground running and does not stop to take a breath! The SF mix with WWII is innovative and engrossing! It's one that you will not put down. Enjoy it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Read it Enjoy it

    A very different look at history with some damn fine characters, very well done.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2005

    Interesting sci-fi, flawed history

    This book is a moderately good read, considering it combines silly sci-fi, incredible coincidences, and flawed US military history. The future task force's only Japanese ship just happens to land in the middle of Task Forces 16/17, close enough for the middle-of-the-night watch to see the Japanese flag? Yeah, sure. Too bad the two forces in reality sailed ten miles apart. Birmingham also makes a big deal of how 'crippled' the US Fleet becomes after this friendly-fire collision, but in reality the losses were little more that which happened actually at Midway and Guadacanal. Six to ten cruise missiles through Japanese carrier flight decks and the Pacific War would have been over, because the Japanese didn't have another large carrier scheduled to launch until 1944, by which time the US would have launched about 15. Instead, the future fleet attacks 1920-era Japanese battleships and POW camps. Again, in reality the carrier USS Saratoga arrived in Hawaii with 107 aircraft on June 8th, and hundreds of other aircraft arrived just before or after the battle of Midway. Birmingham also displays his lack of understanding of all things military by describing a 'twin-barreled 50mm chain gun', when in reality a 30mm gatling is the size of a Volkswagen by itself (I used to work on such). However, the social commentary is mildly interesting, especially the commando-type exploits of the female reporter. Maybe reporters got tired of being beheaded by assorted crazies by 2021.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    bad choice for alternate history

    I picked this book up in the store to see what it's worth. And I must say that there must certainly be better authors with better books to publish than this. Being a fan of alternate history, to say the least, I must confess this book is a major disapointment. I find these rave reviews it is getting over rated, but perhaps because I desire a good alternate history based on history and human nature rather than the Politically Correct. It is one of the breed I have come to despise, a Politically Correct Sci-Fi a Star Trek set in the past devoid of reality and any real historical foundation. I put it back on the shelf rather than buy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2014

    Jordan

    *Waits.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2014

    Comander Dawson to Hunter

    I will attack you on DEC. 13. I recomend you have your troops ready. ~Comander Dawson
    US WWII res 1 to 9

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2014

    RJ

    Is totally confused. "Wheres Hunter?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2014

    Sinon

    She shrugged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2014

    Hunter

    Waits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Nicely done

    In his "Destroyerman" series, Taylor Anderson sends a WW 2 ship into a pre-technological world, with interesting results. Here, Birmingham takes the opposite tack: how a multi-national naval flotilla from the near future would affect the outcome of WW 2 if it somehow was moved back to just before the Battle of Midway?
    More than just the differences in technology, Birmingham deftly handles how a fully integrated naval force, with African-American, female and gay officers would encounter the all-white prejudiced Americans of the early 1940's. Besides, the battle scenes are top-notch!
    I look forward to the next volumes in the series. Fans of alternative history will like this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent! Highly Recommend!

    Fast paced sea battles fought with conventional and super weapons. A lot of social problems and a lot of action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Recommended reading.

    Very interesting book. On par with Harry Turtledove. Have to believe that the future of warfare meeting with the past was really great. I liked this book and it's following two others. The characters are written with great enthusiasm. How the future turns out??? You will just have to read the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Boooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!

    Boooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    crapp

    bad

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2005

    An entertaining read

    Weapons of Choice is an interesting and fairly well written entry into the alternate history genre. Birmingham displays a very believable knowledge of historical chacters and events. While in thematic terms it is not significantly different from The Guns of the South or Stirling's Nantucket books, it still makes for an interesting story for those of us who wish that 'The Final Countdown' had gone slightly differnet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2005

    recommened

    Good World War 2 book, with tiwist. Shocking how people changed from 1942 to today. Has some down time tough, not a bad read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2005

    What about book #2?

    The first edition of this trilogy was fantastic and flowed extremely well. I can't wait for the second book. I heard rumors that it was supposed to be published in April, but I haven't been able to find any news on it. Does anyone know when it's supposed to be released?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2005

    Frustrating!

    A terrific read. I really think it's very clever the way the author meshed old and new in a believable way; especially the characters from the past. He took the story a whole layer deeper by not only drawing a comparison between technologies but culture and attitudes as well. The frustration is waiting for the next book which is way off in April!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4