Customer Reviews for

Web of Lies

Average Rating 5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Bestseller Indeed

    Brandilyn Collins is truly an artist in her writing. God has blessed her with the gift to write suspense and she is the top in her game. She is my favorite fiction author of all time and in "web of lies" she has proved me to be right again. This book will have you up til 3:00 in the morning trying to get to the end. It is definitely a page turner and you will not be disappointed when you get to the end. God bless and enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    Wonderful read!

    What a great author. Her books keep your interest and are full of suspense. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2006

    My first taste

    How could I have not ever read a book by Brandilyn Collins????? Her mix of crimes & Christianity totally enthralled me. My only complaint? This was the last book in what appears to be two different series. Ack! Of course I had to run out and get all the books I missed because I loved this one so much! Web of Lies brings together forensic artist Annie Kingston and ¿visionary¿ Chelesa Adams, closing out two different series. The ¿Hidden Faces¿ series which revolves around Annie and the ¿Chelesa Adams¿ series. What an incredible idea! As a reader who devours every book written by an author I like the concept of wrapping up two series with one book is awesome. I tend to fall in love with all the books I read and I always wonder what would happen if characters from different series were able to interact. Annie Kingston has witnessed a shooting in broad daylight. Several hours away God has show Chelsea Adams a horrible vision of a murder about to take place. Bring the two women together and what happens? Layer upon layer of faith and terror as the women race to uncover a murderer who wants to get personal with one of them. What can I say. Web of Lies is a page turner! It¿s well paced, action packed and accurately portrays the challenges of faith I believe someone in that situation might have. Thank you Christian Fiction Blog Tour! I¿ve found yet another new author. Barnes & Nobles also thanks you because I¿ve dropped a few extra bucks there this week buying Ms. Collin¿s other books! If you¿ve read Christian fiction in the past and it left a bad taste in your mouth - check out this ¿Seatbelt Suspense¿. It¿ll totally change your mind!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2006

    Gotta read it!

    What happens when you take the main characters from two separate series and throw them in a book together? A masterfully woven tale that will keep you on the edge of your seat. Brandilyn Collins has taken Chelsea Adams from an earlier series (Eyes of Elisha and it¿s sequel Dread Champion.) and put her into the fourth book in the Hidden Faces series with Annie Kingston. Oh, yes and I would be remiss to not mention the spiders¿ can you say, ¿Give me the creeps¿? This book rocks, just like the rest of her books do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2006

    Hang on Tight!

    What happens when two of Brandilyn Collins' most popular characters meet? Tne suspense kicks into high gear. After forensic artist Annie Kingston witnesses a shooting, she is contacted by Chelsea Adams. Chelsea has had more than her share of headlines and dangerous scrapes because of her visions. Her most recent vision launches the two women into the most terrifying hours of their lives. How is Chelsea's vision connected to the shooting, and how can the two women work against a psychopath who uses some of the most lethal weapons on the planet ... living weapons? The answers will keep you up until you finish the last page. Seatbelt Suspense is more than Brandilyn Collins' slogan ... it is what you experience in Web of Lies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2006

    Brandilyn has done it again!

    Once again Brandilyn Collins has crafted an edge-of-your-seat thriller that warrants her warning, ¿Don¿t forget to breathe.¿ I for one could not put this book down until I¿d read the final word on the final page and tied together every last creepy loose end. Now I will wait breathlessly for the next installment from this topnotch author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2006

    A Creepy-Crawly Spiritual Thriller

    I hate spiders. I know God created them, but they are just downright scary, just like Ms. Collins' book, Web of lies. This is my first Brandilyn Collins book and while I recommend you go back and read all of them like I'm planning to, I had no trouble following the thrilling adventure of Annie Kingston and Chelsea Adams in this book. In the spirit of the CSI television programs and other crime shows, Web of Lies fulfills our craving to follow along on a hunt for a bad guy and see what goes on behind the scenes. I don't know how the character, Annie Kingston, became a forensic artist, but she takes us into the investigation realm and shows us how it's done. Yet, she shows us compassion and feeling too. She truly wants to give the deceased a name and solve the mystery for victims' families. Chelsea, a character who didn't choose her propensity toward receiving visions from God, also shows compassion to victims by never ignoring the truths that could solve the crime, no matter how terrifying. Read this book to be inspired and just plain scared.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2006

    Great writing, wonderfully twisting plot

    I like a good read, the kind of book that will transport you somewhere else and bring you at breakneck speed through a twisting plot. Maybe that¿s why I read Brandilyn Collin¿s Web of Lies in one day, practically one sitting. Collins has a beautiful way with language, even sprinkled on the backdrop of mayhem and scary villains. The plot, where forensic artist Annie Kingston pairs up with vision-seeing Chelsea Adams try to unravel a murder mystery while protecting themselves, is taut and unpredictable. Woven throughout the ¿web of lies¿ is the metaphor and reality of prayer and the hugeness of God¿a much welcomed thread in a suspense thriller. If you¿re looking for a good read (and you have a day to get through it in one sitting!), pick up this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2006

    A surprise alien invasion of my home couldn't pry me out of this book...

    I don't care if Denver is being assualted by a pyroclastic cloud of volcanic ash...I'm READING! BC's latest book is so compelling, NOTHING will tear you away from one of the most compelling, tension-building plots yet. BC's characters come to life in amazing ways Annie and her self doubt both on a professional and personal level, Chealsea and her fearful resignation to pursue horrific visions, and Dave's determination to care for Annie despite her fears. The masterful language thrusts you into Grove Landing to the point you can see the movie playing out in your head. Worst of all, you will feel the spiders with their thread-like legs creeping all over your body. Be sure to look between your sheets before heading to bed... Don't let the collision of two series deter you from reading, BC doesn't spoil previous plots. Web of Lies stands on its own. A MUST read for all chiller/suspense fans or those who dare!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2006

    DON'T READ TOO FAST!

    Eight legged creepy crawlies. A homicidal maniac who watches your every move. Sound like fun? In Brandilyn Collins's, Web of Lies, the reader is taken on a ride of high velocity in page after page of suspense. Two of Brandilyn's prior heroines are brought together in a horrifying murder. One of them sees a murder in a vision, while the other sees a murder life-startling and face-to-face. Are these murders related, or is this just a means of bringing these two women together? When the murderer hits close to home, these two women must rely on the power of prayer, and each other. I found myself having too slow down while reading this book. The action happens so quickly, that I often read too fast to see what would happen next. I recommend you take a chunk of time, your favorite chair and a stout heart. This book is a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    Brandilyn Collins Weaves a Wonderful Web

    In ¿Web of Lies¿ Brandilyn Collins has spun a tale of unequaled suspense and drama. For the first time I could not guess the identity of the villain as I stayed awake at night reading, unable to put the book down. It is amazing how the author brings together 2 heroines, from 2 different series, written in both first and third person and never misses a beat. It is a story of trust and obedience under the most difficult of circumstances, while also being a great tale. I enjoyed every minute of it, and in fact turned around and read it again a week later and enjoyed it just as much even though I already knew the outcome. I definitely recommend this book, however be warned, it may be best to start it on Friday night so you don¿t have to get up in the morning for work, because you may be up all night!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    Fasten your seatbelts.............web of lies is here!

    Brandilyn Collins never ceases to amaze me with her writing. You feel you know the characters personally and Web of Lies continues that. If this is your first Brandilyn Collins book or you are a faithful follower this book is for you! It wont give away any thing from her previous books so you can read this one and still enjoy the others afterward. Dont miss this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2006

    Open the cover...if you dare!

    Author Brandilyn Collins has done it again. She's woven a riveting tale where, of course, spiders figure prominently. If you get the creepy-crawlies, read this book anyway. As a reader, I loved how Brandilyn brought Annie Kingston and Chelsea Adams together in one story. I enjoyed seeing Annie through Chelsea's eyes, where in the first three books we only see Annie's view of herself. Brandilyn also kept me questioning the possibilities that a suspense reader loves to guess at--Who's causing the trouble? Why? How? What's next? While the noose got tighter and tighter around Annie, my nails got shorter and shorter. I prided myself on guessing one of the story lines, but only one. The others snuck up on me. I can say this much: Never assume everything is as it seems. Never think you have it figured out. It's quite a tangled web. As a writer, I feel like I'm going to B.C. Writers' University whenever I read one of her books. The first time, I read for fun. Then I let the book sit a while, and go back with pencil and paper and outline the book (as much as my distractable mind will allow I don't do longhand for very long). I figure somehow, her techniques will start sinking into this writer's subconscious and I'll start using them too, in my own way. Brandilyn makes the rollercoaster ride of her book seem like an effortless trip. But rollercoasters are designed very carefully, and that's why hers holds up so well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2006

    Seatbelt Suspense at its finest

    What do spiders, forensics, and visions from God have in common? Brandilyn Collins weaves a thrilling web of ¿Seatbelt Suspense¿ in her newest novel Web of Lies, due out February 1, 2006. For fans of her two suspense series, the first featuring Chelsea Adams in Eyes of Elisha and Dread Champion, and the Hidden Faces series starring Annie Kingston in Brink of Death, Stain of Guilt, and Dead of Night, Collins¿s new book, Web of Lies, is the perfect melding of Chelsea¿s visions from God and Annie¿s talent as a forensic artist. The story begins when Annie Kingston witnesses a shooting at a convenience store and must draw a composite sketch of the subject. Before she begins, Chelsea Adams contacts her with news that she¿s had another frightening vision. Together Chelsea and Annie race the clock, facing both subterfuge from within and a sinister enemy from without. With God¿s help, can they beat the killer at his own game? Collins seems to know there is a certain ¿creep factor¿ inspired in most people by the thought of a room full of spiders, and she spins a gripping tale full of twists and turns. Combining her two lead characters by having them meet and share their God-given gifts is a great way to wrap up both series¿or to begin a new series. I look forward to her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2005

    Truth Caught in a Web of Lies

    This is the first Brandilyn Collins book I¿ve read, but it won¿t be my last. Web of Lies is the fourth book in the Hidden Faces Series. However, I didn¿t feel like I missed any of the characterization by hopping in so late. The author brings back a character, Chelsea Adams, from a previous series, which added an interesting dimension to the story. The story is fast-paced and intense. . .especially for someone who does NOT like spiders in any shape or form. As the title implies, there are lots of spiders in this book! Between Chelsea¿s visions and Annie¿s witnessing a murder in broad daylight, the reader is caught up into the action immediately, wondering how they can possibly connect. As Annie and Chelsea work to uncover the truth, they have to pull back the sticky strands of lies that have been spun to deceive and entrap them¿all leading up to a very satisfying surprise ending. This is an excellent read for any lover of suspense. . .and Truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1