Customer Reviews for

Web of Lies (Elemental Assassin Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 259 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(147)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 260 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    OMG!!! I Cannot Get enough Gin & the Pork pit!!!!

    What can I say - Get it get it get it... well I can say... get them ALL!!!! This series is just great!!!!! I am on pins and needles waiting for the next!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Web of Lies is a must read for this summer. It's the second in Jennifer's Elemental Assassin series.

    Gin Blanco formerly the acclaimed assassin known only as "The Spider" is enjoying her retirement, running The Pork Pit, trying to stay in sight of Donovan Caine and out of trouble. The problem is, trouble seems to find and follow her no matter what and it could be deadly.
    Web of Lies is the second in Jennifer's Elemental Assassin series. Gin's had a lot on her mind since we last saw her, still reeling from the death of her adoptive father and mentor and still trying to find out who killed her blood family all those years ago. In this episode of the life and times of Gin Blanco she finds herself up close and personal with two of Mab Monroe's thugs and they can mean only trouble at the least and her death at the most as she gets involved in two separate battles.
    Jennifer continues her excellent series with Web of Lies where she lets her readers re-connect with all the characters that we've come to know and love or love to hate in the first novel Spider's Bite. This plot is just as unique as the first as she takes her audience on a wild ride of adventure and terror. She does so with her imaginative, colorful narrative where even though this is an urban fantasy read she makes her readers believe her and what her characters do. Let's talk about her characters, especially Gin who is an enigma herself, very complex, confusing and yet very believable, she's also flawed which gives her more character in my eyes. Her co-starring cast is a small number of Gin's friends and enemies and the story wouldn't be complete without them. And then there's the cast of many of her supporting characters who make the tale more interesting and entertaining. And entertain us is exactly what Ms. Estep does. This is definitely not a romance, but there is a love story from hell going on here with Gin and her pseudo beau detective Donovan Caine. It's doomed from the start, but the romantics of us can't help but hope. Donovan is such an engrossing character that she could easily build a storyline just on him and his complexity. Her love/sex scenes are very physical and descriptive.
    So my friends Run, do not walk to your nearest bookseller and pick up, if you haven't read it Spider's Bite first and if you have Web of Lies. You will not be sorry. This is a first rate new urban fantasy series by the author of the Big Time series.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Omg, Gin is awesome. From her kick butt attitude to the silverstone knife sheathed in the small of her back, gin just REEKS cool and collected. One of the best assasian books i have read so far. A++++++++++++++++!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Amazing!

    I have absolutely LOVED this series and have a hard time putting the book down. This one could have done with less recapping but if you have read the first one you are ok. There's enough recapping in this for you to understand what happened. I'm not on the third one and hate it when I have to stop reading. Gin is awesome!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    A MUST READ

    Great story and Great characters. Love the sassy, kick ass woman. Gotta love a woman that can take care of herself. Love the auther and her writing and will read anything that she brings out. The whole series is good, and the reading just flows for a quick finish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    She puts the "sass" in assassin

    Gin Blanco is a feisty, fun, and very dangerous woman. This is the 2nd book in the Elemental Assassin series and continues Gin's story, proving retirement isn't as easy as it seems.

    I found this story to be entertaining and hard to put down. So often in action stories, the hero is a tough guy that can kick anyone's butt without so much as a scratch in return. Gin is very real in the sense that even though she's a tough woman, she's also just as vulnerable to danger, heartache, and guilt as any other woman.

    If you're looking for a fast, easy read with a fair amount of excitement and a bit of magic, then I would highly recommend this book and series. However, if you prefer deep thought and technical details, you might want to look elsewhere.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Truly awesome!

    Gin is back! I unfortunately had to wait a few days (and a few books) before I finally got my hands on Web of Lies. But I gotta say, it was defiantly worth the wait! I seriously thought that with the ending of Spider's Bite, Gin's retirement would be boring, and she'd be out of action. But, Jennifer didn't disappoint! Gin was as badass, funny and dirty as before, and I loved her more for it.

    When she takes a job pro bono protecting a young college student and her grandfather from a crazy-Texas-obsessed coal miner, danger is lurking just around the corner. On top of this, Detective Donovan Caine is once again meddling in Gin's affairs, but this time, he's devoted to his 'don't-fall-for-the-assassin' mentality. Hello, irony! Gin makes it clear that she does-and gets-what she wants, and this mentality could be very bad to our dedicated cop.
    I can't wait for the next chapter in the Elemental Assassin series!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolute Unequivocal Entertainment

    I strongly recommend you read the previous books in the series (Spider's Bite and check out three free short stories on the author's site under "excerpts & More": "Spider's Bargain" a prequel to Spider's Bite; "Web of Death" takes place after the events of Spider's Bite but before the beginning of Web of Lies; and "Web of Deceit" which takes place when Gin is a teenager. It's told from the point of view of Fletcher Lane, Gin's assassin mentor, and focuses on Gin's first solo job as the assassin ) prior to reading this installment.

    This was a fantastic read that just seemed to fly by. Retired assassin Gin has finally found a good way to put her deadly talents to good use; killing for the poor and downtrodden......

    This was one of my most anticipated May releases and I wasn't disappointed. The story hit the ground running and never slowed down! The exciting action, spectacular magic and twisted hilarious humor just kept my attention completely glued to each page. Gin is the kind of heroine I love to read about, tough, smart and a force to be reckoned with.

    The author did a fantastic job of incorporating all the secondary characters and including a hottie who just makes you say Donovan Caine who? This installment was just about flawless and I can't wait to see what mischief Owen Grayson stirs up for Gin in the future.

    I highly recommend this book to fellow dark urban fantasy readers and I can't for the next book in the series Venom due out 9/28/10.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I'll start this review by saying that I am not an audiobook love

    I'll start this review by saying that I am not an audiobook lover. I purchased book one (Spider's Bite) in this series as an audiobook and somehow fell in love. I'm almost certain it's how well the narrator channels the characters, I'm enjoying everything about it. I'll be purchasing the rest of the series in audiobook format as long as Lauren Fortgang is the narrator.

    Gin Blanco returns in book two of the Elemental Assassin series, Web of Lies. Retired, she no longer is killing people for money, and is instead running the Pork Pit, a BBQ restaurant that her former handler owned. I wasn't sure what to expect this time around since book one left off where she went on vacation and was giving up her life of being an assassin. Though I should have known not to worry since trouble seems to follow Gin.

    Two would be robbers attempt to steal the cash from her register one night and foolishly take one of her customers hostage. After that matter is resolved Gin is approached by a college girl that has someone attempting to kill her. Toss in some prostitutes, a new sexy love interest, and some crazy people with strong powers and you have a story that kept me wondering what the heck would happen next. I highly recommend this series if you're a fan of Urban Fantasy with a strong female main character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2014

    Suspend disbelief, Silly concept...Stupid execution.

    The writer's talents are wasted on this unbelievable silly series existing in a world of Vampires, Giants, Dwarfs and "elemental" magic. Silly, Silly, Silly as the protagonist might say.

    Author knows nothing about firearms and makes wrong assumptions about "reliability" having the main character uses knives as the weapon of choice for assassination. Many characters are endowed with "Elemental" magic, which adds nothing to the story works against credibility.

    The author loves to reference "Irony", but I would hope that she would look up the definition of the word, as she obviously does not know what it means.

    If the author would do some research on her topic, and abandoned the silly affectations, she could probably write a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Rey

    Post

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    Awesome.

    Awesome.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Thoroughly enjoyable!

    Review by Zita:
    In Web of Lies, Gin discovers that Fletcher, once known as the assassin called the Tin Man, did some pro bono work, so when Violet Fox shows up at the Pork Pit asking for his help, she gamely steps up to the plate. It seems a dwarf with mining concerns is harassing Violet's grandfather in order to force him to sell him his land. Grandpa Fox is holding his own, but the creeps are threatening Violet now. Gin manages to rescue Violet from a horrific beating and quickly reaches the conclusion that the only way to stop the dwarf is by killing him. Gin learns that the dwarf is in cahoots with Mab Monroe, the elemental who killed her mother and older sister years ago. Mab is the city's head villain and has several of the local cops and politicians on her payroll. Gin promises to help out Violet and Grandpa, despite the clear disapproval of Detective Caine. What happens next will push Gin even further away from Caine and deeper into trouble with Mab and her gang.

    I thoroughly enjoyed Web of Lies and felt that it moved the story and character development along nicely. I felt really sorry for Gin and her issues with Caine, but I think she's just going to have to let that one go. Besides, in this book she meets Owen Grayson, but you'll have to read the book to learn more about him.

    All in all I give this story 4 out of 5 stars, and look forward to reading the next volume in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    An excellent get-away read.

    I can't wait to read the next book in this series. I'm glad there are more books to read and that I have a Nook Color to get them immediately. This series is reminisent of L. Hamilton's earlier work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Strong WOMEN! GO GIN!!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book, The first book was a little slow for me, but It caught up with me and took me away. I will continue reading the series. Gin is a strong women that goes after what she wants and she never plays the timid, she smart, sexy, strong and bold. I love the way she goes after what she wants.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Second Book to the Series!

    Oh, this is going to be a hard review for me to write. Why? Because I want to say so much but I can't or I'll spoil parts of this book. It's one of those you just want to talk about because of what happens. Rest assured, I will not spoil anything for you. There might be a small spoiler for the last book, but I'll even try to keep those to a minimum.

    As you know, at the end of the first book, Gin is looking forward to retirement. She is haunted by the file Fletcher has left her and she is bored, even though she loves to cook and has made her life as the Pork Pit's owner. Events happen in her life, as Gin's life will never be static and she gets thrown into one problem after another. At first, I'd say that everything she had to deal with would be too much for one book, but even those things that don't fit neatly together seem to fit enough in the end you aren't left feeling as though it didn't get enough attention. Gin is still her feisty self and still has the same attitude about life in general. There are also some hot scenes as there were in the first book. All of this action, sex, and mystery as there was in the first one with just enough surprise thrown in the end makes this book a great second book in the series. This book can also be read as a stand-alone because she provides enough background to have the book make sense. It is also not a cliff-hanger, but provides you with enough mystery that you are going to clamor for the 3rd book shortly after you read this one.

    I recommend this book and this series highly. I gave this book 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 260 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13