Customer Reviews for

Web of Lies (Elemental Assassin Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 261 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(147)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    She puts the "sass" in assassin

    Gin Blanco is a feisty, fun, and very dangerous woman. This is the 2nd book in the Elemental Assassin series and continues Gin's story, proving retirement isn't as easy as it seems.

    I found this story to be entertaining and hard to put down. So often in action stories, the hero is a tough guy that can kick anyone's butt without so much as a scratch in return. Gin is very real in the sense that even though she's a tough woman, she's also just as vulnerable to danger, heartache, and guilt as any other woman.

    If you're looking for a fast, easy read with a fair amount of excitement and a bit of magic, then I would highly recommend this book and series. However, if you prefer deep thought and technical details, you might want to look elsewhere.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2015

    Note: This review will have some spoilers for those who haven't

    Note: This review will have some spoilers for those who haven't read the first book

    What happens when an assassin retires? They get bored. And what happens when a former assassin gets bored? They find trouble. Or it finds them. At least that's how it worked out for Gin in Web of Lies. Surprised? Me either. What fun would it be if Gin's retirement were quiet and peaceful?

    As soon as I started listening to Web of Lies I started kicking myself for taking so long to pick it up. I read Spider's Bite in September 2013 and didn't pick up Web of Lies until October 2014. Well that was dumb, because Web of Lies was great!

    I just love Gin's personality - she's a smart aleck and likes to pretend she's hard as stone. And, while she can use her elemental stone magic to make her physically HARD AS STONE, she's a softie deep down. And she's still feeling a bit hurt from the events of Spider's Bite. She feels a little bit betrayed, because she feels like maybe she didn't know Fletcher after all. Why does he have the folder about her past and why hadn't he told her he knew that her sister was alive? What does he want her to do with this information?

    Gin's frustration, though, became mine. Ok, you're feeling a bit lost. But golly gee whiz, can you stop moping about the folder Fletcher left you and do something about it? If, like me, you were hoping this book would have a lot to do with the contents of that folder, you're in for a disappointment. For all but maybe the last 10% NO progress is made on that front. Gin just wonders about it the whole book.

    Ultimately that was okay, because Web of Lies had plenty of action to keep me happy. Fletcher's life before Gin and Fin (his son) comes to light and sends Gin down a very different, and yet somehow familiar, path. The good detective Donovan Kane is back for the fun - once again trying to figure out the balance between what's legal and what's right - not to mention how his feelings for Gin factor in. A new potential love interest and big player also shows up - Owen Grayson - and I'm VERY interested. He may just be better for Gin than Donovan. Or he may be trouble - I'm not quite sure.

    For me, the highlight was once again the magic/world that Jennifer Estep has created. It's so intricate and even after leaving it for more than a year, I easily slid back in and had no trouble remembering how things work. In fact, it was so easy to reorient myself, I found myself saying things with the narrator - Lauren Fortgang. I think this was mainly that there was a bit of predictability - not boring in the least, but takes away some of the potential wow factor. It could also be that Lauren's narration is so slow paced. I love her voices for the characters and for me, she's the perfect Gin, so I'll definitely be continuing in audio. She just has slightly longer than I would like pauses - sometimes I would think I accidentally hit pause or something, they would be so long. Not a deal breaker, especially if you can speed up your playback (I can't on my Audible app).

    If you're a fan of action, snarky main characters, and well developed worlds, I recommend this series. I'm eager to see if the next book will dig further into the mystery of Gin's past than Web of Lies did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    I have a feeling with this series its going to be a lot of repet

    I have a feeling with this series its going to be a lot of repetition and that is the only thing that is going to be bringing down the rating on my reviews mostly. Still a very good book. I am excited to get to the third one by just the synopsis alone. But in this one she learns a lot about herself and when push comes to shove she is the only one that can save herself. I am also glad to see Donovan Caine get out of the picture. If he could have just dropped his morals a little bit they could have been good together but he is not what she needs. Glad to see him go, but still unsure about this new Owen guy. I want to know more about Jo-jo and Sophia I want to know why Sophia voice is ruined and what happened there. I know they are both hiding things from Gin whether its a good or bad thing yet I have no clue. I think I will read a couple of other books before starting the third book so that the repeating thing wont bother me so much. Still an interesting plot though other than that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    Awesome.

    Awesome.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Thoroughly enjoyable!

    Review by Zita:
    In Web of Lies, Gin discovers that Fletcher, once known as the assassin called the Tin Man, did some pro bono work, so when Violet Fox shows up at the Pork Pit asking for his help, she gamely steps up to the plate. It seems a dwarf with mining concerns is harassing Violet's grandfather in order to force him to sell him his land. Grandpa Fox is holding his own, but the creeps are threatening Violet now. Gin manages to rescue Violet from a horrific beating and quickly reaches the conclusion that the only way to stop the dwarf is by killing him. Gin learns that the dwarf is in cahoots with Mab Monroe, the elemental who killed her mother and older sister years ago. Mab is the city's head villain and has several of the local cops and politicians on her payroll. Gin promises to help out Violet and Grandpa, despite the clear disapproval of Detective Caine. What happens next will push Gin even further away from Caine and deeper into trouble with Mab and her gang.

    I thoroughly enjoyed Web of Lies and felt that it moved the story and character development along nicely. I felt really sorry for Gin and her issues with Caine, but I think she's just going to have to let that one go. Besides, in this book she meets Owen Grayson, but you'll have to read the book to learn more about him.

    All in all I give this story 4 out of 5 stars, and look forward to reading the next volume in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    An excellent get-away read.

    I can't wait to read the next book in this series. I'm glad there are more books to read and that I have a Nook Color to get them immediately. This series is reminisent of L. Hamilton's earlier work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5